SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry 1 – A Sweetgum Riot – original photosteemCreated with Sketch.

A riot of color, that is! Sweetgum trees here in Oregon’s Willamette Valley are so colorful every autumn. Our fall season lasts a long time. It's one of my favorite things about living here. Lots of people don't like sweetgum trees because of the spiky seed balls that they drop, but I think they are a fine trade for all that color!

xtsuDSC03968-11d399.jpg

Camera: Sony DSC-RX-10
Lens: 9-73mm f/2.8 @ 59mm
Shutter Speed: 1/640 sec
Aperture: f/4
ISO: 125


Here's another Haphazard Homestead nature photo you might enjoy: Reading the Landscape - Pennyroyal Wetlands


Haphazard Homestead -
foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land

Sort:  

Love these trees! And the spikey balls because my cousins and I used them to throw at each other every Thanksgiving Dinner. Probably good that we grew out of that lol.

Probably so, lol. My great aunts used them to make Christmas tree centerpieces - all spray-painted white. My granddad used to swear at them - because he had to rake them all up. Enjoy your autumn!

That's a really good idea! I have used pine cones before but those sweetgum balls would be fun too!

I'd like to see a picture of your sweetgum ball Christmas tree on Steemit this season! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61168.42
ETH 2363.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58