Super Soft Cinnamon Swirl Cookies - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography5 years ago

Swirly Brown Sugar Cinnamon Roll Cookies-4.jpg

Is there anything better than a big doughy cinnamon roll?

Swirly Brown Sugar Cinnamon Roll Cookies-1.jpg

It’s hard to say, but at the moment I’m failing to think of anything. The problem with cinnamon rolls is that they require a bit of planning ahead and sometimes you just haven’t done that when a craving hits.

Like those moments when you just have to have a cinnamon roll immediately or you may die. Does that happen to you too? Well, you see, that’s what I’m here for, to solve these urgent problems in life. Does that mean that I plan to save the world one cookie at a time? Maybe it does. Don’t judge. It’s a perfectly good plan, even if it’s a bit ambitious.

Swirly Brown Sugar Cinnamon Roll Cookies-3.jpg

Some days I have the hardest time deciding what to make and it’s usually not from lack of inspiration. It’s more common for me to have too many ideas than not enough and, being the indecisive person that I am, making a decision is just beyond my ability on occasion. When that happens I resort to cookies. When in doubt, make chocolate chip cookies. I’m thinking of making that my motto because it always applies.

Swirly Brown Sugar Cinnamon Roll Cookies-5.jpg

So I was all set to make some chocolate chip cookies on said day, but then I remembered that I have never shared one of my family’s favorite cookies with you and I switched gears. I’m really not sure why I’ve never blogged these before. I guess they are one of those recipes that I always think I’ve already shared because they’re a staple in my house.

They’re as simple as any other cookie but with the all the benefits of supplying a fix for even the most extensive cinnamon roll addiction. I’m not saying that there isn’t a time and place for cinnamon rolls (which reminds me that I really need to make them soon), but for the rest of the time these cookies have got you covered.

Swirly Brown Sugar Cinnamon Roll Cookies-6.jpg

Swirly Brown Sugar Cinnamon Roll Cookies


Ever wondered what a cinnamon roll would taste like if it were a cookie? Well, now you can find out!
Prep Time 25 minutes
Cook Time 25 minutes
Total Time 50 minutes
Servings 30 cookies (about)

Ingredients


Cookies:
3/4 cup 1 1/2 sticks Miyoko's "butter" or any dairy free butter, cut into pieces
3 tablespoons coconut cream *see note
3 tablespoons applesauce or pumpkin puree
1 cup brown sugar packed
1/2 cup organic granulated sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
extra cinnamon

Glaze:
2 - 3 tablespoons almond milk
1 cup powdered sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
pinch of salt
Get Ingredients Powered by Chicory

Instructions


Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F (180 C). Cream butter and sugars together in bowl of stand mixer (or with hand mixer). Scrape sides of bowl and add coconut cream and applesauce; beat until well combined. Add vanilla, soda, and salt. Add flour one cup at a time and beat after each addition but just until combined. (If you are using a hand mixer you may have to hand stir the last cup of flour into the dough.)
Divide dough into halves and roll one half out on a lightly floured surface into a rectangle roughly 1/4 inch thick. Sprinkle very generously with cinnamon and spread to cover every spot. Roll dough up longways into a large snake shape and use a sharp knife to slice cookies of your desired size. Place each cookie flat on a baking sheet lined with parchment or silpads, about 2 inches apart.
Bake for 8 - 10 minutes until edges start to turn golden brown (or right before for doughy cookies). Remove from oven and cool for about 5 minutes before moving to cooling rack.
Whisk milk and powdered sugar in a small bowl until smooth then add salt and vanilla and drizzle over cooled cookies.

Recipe Notes


If you have trouble finding coconut cream at your local grocery store it's completely fine to use full-fat coconut milk and scrape the cream off of the top. Just be sure that it's cold enough to separate.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Homemade Chocolate Peppermint Pattie Candies
  2. Roasted Veggie Power Bowls + Tahini Sauce
  3. Roasted Butternut Squash, Quinoa, & Lentil Burritos
  4. Super Soft & Chocolate-y Cookies
  5. Chocolate Cookie Dough Pretzel Cup Candy
  6. The BEST Chewy Gingerbread Cookies!
  7. Copycat "Reese's" Peanut Butter Cup Candies

Also, I've been starting to vlog in case you missed it.
  1. Travelicious: Disneyland at Halloween Time 2018 + 77,000 Steem Power reached
  2. Silverwood Theme Park Rollercoaster On Rides POV (Front Seat)
  3. Montana Travels Glacier National Park
  4. Vlog #4 Grocery Shopping with Gringalicious at Trader Joe's
  5. Hiking to Snow Creek Falls + I Hit 17k Followers!
  6. Vlog #3: Looking for a New Gym + Meet My Baby

Swirly Brown Sugar Cinnamon Roll Cookies-2.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Merry Christmas!

Iımmmm...

Haha, happy holidays!

nice shots..its been a while i been on steemit and coming on now to see your posts make me happpy

That's so great to hear. You've made my day!

Ohmygooooodnesss 😋

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha, so glad you like them!

Oh, I’d be crazy to not

Posted using Partiko iOS

That looks really delicious.

I'm so glad you like it!

Hi, @gringalicious!

You just got a 0.04% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Oh my! 😍 I want this!! I want to eat that now 🤤

Haha, I'm so glad you like it!

Congratulations @gringalicious! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Wow looking so epic great recipes on your blog always :D

It's so sweet to hear that. You're such a kind friend. Have a Merry Christmas!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89