Chocolate Cookie Dough Pretzel Cup Candy - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

Chocolate Covered Caramel Cookie Dough Pretzel Cups-3.jpg

Do you guys know what’s better than cookie dough……………?

If you’re thinking “Um, NOTHING, duh!”, well, that’s completely right, but cookie dough covered in chocolate is also the right answer! True stuff.

Chocolate Covered Caramel Cookie Dough Pretzel Cups- vegan.jpg

Growing up in my house would not have been the same without Mom’s amazing chocolate chip cookies. Of course, the excitement we’d have when we heard the mixer going wasn’t as much about the cookies as it was about getting to be her poison-checkers. We were all privileged enough to know that the dough is where it’s at. I’d take the dough over the cookies every time. I’m obsessed!

Chocolate Covered Caramel Cookie Dough Pretzel Cups-1.jpg

So these cookie dough bites, I created them as an alternate flavor to go with my homemade Reese’s eggs and almond joys that I always make for Easter and they are so happening again and again from now on. To clear up any confusion on the caramel part, you mix it into the dough. I happened to have some extra caramel on my hands the day I was making them so I used it as my liquid in the dough.

Chocolate Covered Caramel Cookie Dough Pretzel Cups-1-2.jpg

So I made them in two different sizes because I couldn’t decide which one I liked better, one in a mini cupcake pan that gives them a more rounded look and the other in regular cupcake size liners to give them a frilled edge like Reese’s cups. Also, I think the pretzels add the perfect salty crunch to balance them out but I’d say they’re an optional thing because not everyone in my gang was as into them being on top of these. You can decide what you think.

Chocolate Covered Caramel Cookie Dough Pretzel Cups-4.jpg

Hope you have a great weekend peeps!

Chocolate Covered Caramel Cookie Dough Pretzel Cups


Are you a major fan of all things cookie dough? Great! Then these candies are just for you!
Prep Time 30 minutes
Chilling Time 1 hour
Servings 24 candies

Ingredients


2 tablespoons coconut oil softened
2 tablespoons full-fat coconut milk
1 cup powdered sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup dairy free caramel ice cream topping/sauce or you can make it. I used the butterscotch caramel in my butterbeer recipe
2 - 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 cup dairy free mini semi-sweet chocolate chips or finely chopped chocolate
1 - 1 1/2 cups dairy free semi-sweet chocolate
1 tablespoon coconut oil
about 24 snack pretzels for topping

Instructions


Beat coconut oil, coconut milk, and sugar together until combined. Add caramel, salt, and vanilla and mix well.
Add 2 cups of flour fold in just until smooth (depending on the thickness of the caramel you used you may need to add a bit more flour until the dough isn't sticky). Mix in chocolate chips and divide the dough into balls about 2 tablespoons each.
For the shapes I used two different methods, a 24-count mini cupcake pan for the smooth edges or some regular size silicone cupcake molds (paper liners in a cupcake pan would work) to get the frilled edge like Reeses cups. Press dough balls into your chosen mold and place in the fridge to chill for at least 1 hour.
Melt chocolate and oil in a double boiler and remove dough from fridge. Loosen each piece from mold and dip in chocolate, For the minis, place them on a parchment lined plate or tray and for the frilled edge, place them back in silicone/paper-lined cupcake molds. Top the wet chocolate with a pretzel and place trays back in fridge.
Allow chocoalte to harden for at least 15 minutes before devouring!

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Copycat "Reese's" Peanut Butter Cup Candies
  2. Chocolate Treat Recipe Ideas - Throwback Roundup
  3. Whipped Vanilla Marshmallow Milkshakes
  4. Soft Pumpkin Spice Chocolate Chip Cookies
  5. Zucchini Ribbons Salad + Lemon Vinaigrette

Also, I've been starting to vlog in case you missed it.
  1. Travelicious: Disneyland at Halloween Time 2018 + 77,000 Steem Power reached
  2. Silverwood Theme Park Rollercoaster On Rides POV (Front Seat)
  3. Montana Travels Glacier National Park
  4. Vlog #4 Grocery Shopping with Gringalicious at Trader Joe's
  5. Hiking to Snow Creek Falls + I Hit 17k Followers!
  6. Vlog #3: Looking for a New Gym + Meet My Baby

Chocolate Covered Caramel Cookie Dough Pretzel Cups-5.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56400.87
ETH 2980.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19