The BEST Chewy Gingerbread Cookies! - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

Chewy Ginger Molasses Cookies (8).jpg

Happy Thanksgiving to all my friends celebrating it!

Chewy Ginger Molasses Cookies (2).jpg

I thought I'd just pop in from celebrating the day with my family to share one of our favorite holiday dessert recipes and one of the sweets that I've personally been baking today!

These are simple and fairly ordinary little cookies, but isn’t that what we all love about the holidays, the simple pleasures and traditions? That’s why I’m posting these, because even with the crazy amount of new desserts I try on an almost daily basis, my brothers still ask me to make these every year. They are just the best of their kind. With one bite you’ll be completely satisfied with these chewy perfections.

Chewy Ginger Molasses Cookies (3).jpg

The key to these cookies being their best you guys, is not to over-bake them. You have to pull them as soon as the edges start to darken and when the middle is still soft. I mean, if you like a cakier texture then by all means, let them go longer. If you want to do them right though, leave them soft because thats how they’re at their best. When they cool, the texture is so….I can’t even think how to describe it. They are just a soft, chewy bite of yum!

Clearly I think you should make these and I think you should make them soon. So go heat up the oven, crank up the Christmas music, and put some glasses of milk in the freezer!

Chewy Ginger Molasses Cookies (4).jpg

I have some cinnamon and spice haters in my family so I won’t say everyone will love these, but I will say that anyone who likes gingerbread will fall in love with them. I bet Santa would really appreciate them also………it really is too bad they’ll never last long enough for him to try them.

Chewy Ginger Molasses Cookies (5).jpg

Holiday Cookie Week #3: Chewy Ginger Molasses Cookies


Prep Time: 20 minutes
Cook Time: 20 minutes
Total Time: 40 minutes
Yield: 24 cookies (about)

Christmas time just wouldn't be the same without some homemade ginger cookies. These are so soft and chewy that you'll be sure to add them to your annual traditions.

Ingredients

1/4 cup room temperature coconut oil
1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons full-fat coconut milk (*see note)
2/3 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon cloves
1 1/2 teaspoons ginger
3 tablespoons molasses
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 - 1 cup more sugar (for rolling cookies in)

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350ºF (180ºC). Beat coconut oil, coconut milk, and sugar together until creamed. Mix in molasses until combined then add salt, vanilla, soda, and spices. Add in flour and mix only just until combined, trying not to over-mix.
Roll dough into 1 inch balls. Fill a shallow bowl with sugar and dip each ball until coated on all sides then place them, at least 1-inch apart, on a parchment lined baking tray.
Bake for 8 to 10 minutes or until very lightly browned on edges. Remove from oven and cool completely before serving.
Store in an air-tight container for up to 1 week.

Notes

For the coconut milk in this recipe it's best to use the thickest part of the cream that separates from the milk in a can of coconut milk. Otherwise you can also purchase canned coconut cream on it's own to use.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Copycat "Reese's" Peanut Butter Cup Candies
  2. Chocolate Treat Recipe Ideas - Throwback Roundup
  3. Whipped Vanilla Marshmallow Milkshakes
  4. Soft Pumpkin Spice Chocolate Chip Cookies
  5. Zucchini Ribbons Salad + Lemon Vinaigrette

Also, I've been starting to vlog in case you missed it.
  1. Travelicious: Disneyland at Halloween Time 2018 + 77,000 Steem Power reached
  2. Silverwood Theme Park Rollercoaster On Rides POV (Front Seat)
  3. Montana Travels Glacier National Park
  4. Vlog #4 Grocery Shopping with Gringalicious at Trader Joe's
  5. Hiking to Snow Creek Falls + I Hit 17k Followers!
  6. Vlog #3: Looking for a New Gym + Meet My Baby

Chewy Ginger Molasses Cookies..jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Greetings, gringaliceous

Great recipe for cookies. As soon as I saw her, I thought of Christmas. I think it would look great after the Christmas dinner.

Thank you and good evening!

Very modest and simple looking cookies, but I'm sure they are amazingly delicious.

Wow, I like to take cookies

Shared on twitter promoting good quality content on #Steemit.

Thanks again for sharing some great photos and bringing great content to the #Steem Blockchain.

Always a pleasure to share your recipes on twitter for my followers to see.

Keep up the great work.

Stephen

#Promo-Steem #steemtalent #JoinSteemit

The BEST Chewy Gingerbread Cookies! - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT #steem #steemtalent #JoinSteemit #steemit

#food #life #health #blog #blogger #photography #foodphotography #photographer

https://twitter.com/StephenPKendal/status/1065653955370385408

20181122_171451.jpg

Hi gringalicious!
Wow your cookies look delicious!
Fantastic, extremely professional photography.

Upvoted and resteemed...
Happy Thanksgiving to you :D

That's awesome. Love the outline and pictures too. These are great for Thanksgiving as well.

Oh lord i love a good gingerbread cookie 😭 🍪 i need to start making your recipes when i get home after Thanksgiving.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Delicius,😍😍😍

Hi, @gringalicious!

You just got a 0.03% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Perfect thing to prepare for thanks giving have a lovely day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54391.40
ETH 2283.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29