Apple & Cranberry Holiday Pie - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

How did it get this late in the year guys?


I don’t know, but I’m guessing those of you celebrating a holiday tomorrow and probably even many of you that aren’t, are busy doing lots of baking now that the holiday season is in full swing. This year has been quite a whirlwind for me but I’m really enjoying that things seem to be settling down a little bit for the end of it.


I don’t typically bake that many pies throughout the year but I think there’s some unspoken law that says when the holidays roll around at least one or two pies are mandatory. Oh, and also when planning the dessert menu for Thanksgiving or Christmas a pie or two is almost always on the top of the list as nonnegotiable.


So as strange as it is after so many years of baking for a blog, I’ve never used fresh cranberries before. Mostly it’s because when I started blogging in Chile I didn’t have them available to me, but it’s also because I generally prefer craisins for using in recipes just because they are sweet and taste good on their own so it’s a bit easier to get the right balance of sweet and tart.


Some of my family prefer their pie on the sweeter side rather than tart so I will note that using craisins in place of the fresh cranberries is totally an option (but about half the amount), especially if you aren’t a big fan of the tartness in your pie. It really will just depend on your personal preference. Another thing I like to do when making fruit pies like this is to precook the filling before assembling the final pie for baking. I know many recipes will call for simply adding the fruit into the crust fresh, but I just feel like you get a better finished product and can have a little more control over it when you start with partially cooked fruit.


Alright, so I hope your baking is going well and I’d love to know what you think if you decide to try this. Be sure to let me know in the comments what you think and if you share a picture on your socials be sure to tag me so I can share it!

XOXO

Gringalicious-border.png

Recipe available upon request to the first Steemian friend who says today's words : "Apple of my pie!"

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Oh, and don't forget to follow me on all your favorite social media channels!

Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Instagram

Want some other recipes to try? Here's my most recent food posts!

1.Cinnamon Churro Chips + Salted Hot Chocolate Sauce

  1. Fluffy Eggnog Pancakes with Homemade Eggnog - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

  2. Andes Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

  3. Creamy Roasted Chestnut & Potato Soup (Vegan) - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

  4. Cute Pumpkin Spice Mini-Loaf Cakes - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

  5. Nutella OVERLOAD Cheesecake Chocolate Cake - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

  6. Beer Cheddar Pumpkin Gnocchi - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

  7. Oreo Brownie Cheesecake Bars!

  8. Nutella S'cream Filled Chocolate Skeleton Cakes (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Ghostly Mocha Mint Chocolate Chip Cupcakes (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

Sort:  

I adore the little hearts on the crust! Beautiful!!

Thank you so much for your words @mamaloves!

Yummilicious as always!! I bet the cranberries add that perfect little bit of tart to offset some of the sweet

Fantabulous photography, just splendid! I love the backgrounds!!

Wow @gringalicious, Looks Delicious. You cant be just posting them and tempting all steemitians. We need a treat of pies from you:). Well Thanks for sharing my friend.

You're so welcome @jatinhota ! Thanks for reading!

Welcome mate.

Loading...

This really reminds me of the pie my granny makes!

I am so glad you liked it @yummyrum and that it gave you good memories. Thanks again!

What a beautiful pie @gringalicious! Your family is lucky to have you around. Hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving !

You as well @jeffjagoe! Thanks for reading!

To my amazement always coming up with ways of placing a smile on my face. I have always loved apple and cranberrys. Cranberrys have a nutritional value for many people. Young lady keep up the great work because I'm always intrigued and looking forward to your next post hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving

So sorry it took me 5 days to get back to you on this comment @mannyfig1956. Thanks so much for the continued and constant support!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67441.24
ETH 3492.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81