National Nutella Day Chocolate Mousse Moose Cake - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

It’s National Nutella Day!

Chocolate Nutella Mousse Moose Cake (2).jpg

I think we can all agree that there are some pretty laughable “holidays” these days but this is one I’m pretty okay with. Yep, I can definitely jump on board this bandwagon because, I mean, NUTELLA!

Chocolate Nutella Mousse Moose Cake (4).jpg

Usually I wouldn’t start off the week with something this decadent, but with Valentine’s Day coming up and this being Nutella Day, well I just couldn’t resist. This is a cake that I had the idea for months ago when we moved back here to Northern Idaho from Chile. It’s been a long time coming I’d say, because I got this adorable little moose cookie cutter and have still yet to use it for a recipe until today. When I bought it I knew immediately I’d have to make something sweet with chocolate mousse and my little moose cutter. I guess I have a thing for ironic humor.

Chocolate Nutella Mousse Moose Cake (3).jpg

Ok, am I the only one that thought ‘mousse’ was spelled the same as ‘moose’ as a kid? I actually thought the dessert had something to do with a moose, you know, because it’s brown and I knew there was an ice cream flavor called moose tracks, so why not? But apparently it got it’s name from the French and it actually means “froth”. Hmph, and here I’ve been mentally limiting those French to toast, fries, and baguettes all my life.

Chocolate Nutella Mousse Moose Cake (5).jpg

But honestly, the name is of little importance when compared to how amazing the dessert itself is. Can we have a round of applause for the creator of the wonderful fluffiness that we all enjoy today (and that we can add Nutella to it!)???

Chocolate Nutella Mousse Moose Cake (6).jpg

So tell me, do you have any fun plans for Valentine’s Day? I’ll probably do a whole lot of the same things I do every other day. To be completely transparent, if you’d have told me at the age of, say 16, that I’d be here at 21 without a Valentine, I’d have been like “Oh, heavens NO, kill me now!” Haha, and now that I’ve lived through a few more V-days (some with and some without a date), I’m pretty fine simply embracing my independence right now. Um, girls, let me tell you, there are a much worse things than being a free woman at this age, just saying. Own it.

Chocolate Nutella Mousse Moose Cake (7).jpg

Eh hem, yeah so now that I’ve updated my relationship status for the world, let me tell you about this recipe. It’s pretty drastically opposite from the one I posted last Friday in terms of ingredients. This one definitely needs more than 4. I really try not to procrastinate things but if I ever do find myself doing it, it’s more likely than not, over writing out a recipe. At the end of the day it’s always so worth it of course, as is this cake!

Chocolate Nutella Mousse Moose Cake (8).jpg

Oh, and please don’t let the ingredient list intimidate you because this cake is not that difficult. I’d say one of the most important tips I can give is to make sure to plan ahead of when you need to serve it because, since it’s filled with mousse, you’ll need plenty of time to chill it. Other than that it’s a pretty basic cake recipe so if you’re familiar with baking cakes you’re good to go.

Chocolate Nutella Mousse Moose Cake (9).jpg

Here’s the breakdown, you’ve got a rich extra dark chocolate cake, filled with fluffy nutella mousse, covered in chocolate fudge frosting, and topped with cute little moose cookies, hazelnuts, and some hazelnut truffles for good measure! I might just have to make this as a wedding cake for someone, any takers?

Chocolate Nutella Mousse Moose Cake (10).jpg

Chocolate Nutella Mousse Moose Cake


Prep Time: 45 minutes
Cook Time: 45 minutes
Total Time: 4 hours
Yield: 1 cake (about 16 servings)

Layers of dark chocolate cake, light Nutella mousse, rich fudge frosting, and buttery shortbread cookies come together into this lovely and fun cake that's perfect for any event.

Ingredients

Dark Chocolate Cake:


1 cup (2 sticks) butter, melted
2 1/4 cups sugar
4 eggs
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1/2 cup strong black coffee
1 1/4 cups buttermilk (or sour cream)
2 1/2 cups flour
4 ounces unsweetened baking chocolate, melted

Shortbread Cookies:


1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
1/3 cup powdered sugar
1 cup + 2 tablespoons flour (plus more for work surface)
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Nutella Mousse:


1 cup nutella (chocolate hazelnut spread)
2 cups heavy whipping cream
1/4 cup granular sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Chocolate Fudge Frosting:


1/2 cup butter, softened
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2/3 cup cocoa powder
1/2 cup half and half
1/8 teaspoon salt
3 cups powdered sugar

Optional Toppings:
6 - 8 chocolate hazelnut truffles
1/2 cup chopped roasted hazelnuts

Instructions

Shortbread Cookies:


Beat together the butter and powdered sugar in a medium mixing bowl until creamed. Add the salt, vanilla, and flour and mix until it forms into a thick cookie dough. Wrap the bowl in plastic wrap while you prepare the cake batter and come back to it once you've put the cakes in the oven.
Also note that you'll have some extra cookies leftover (makes about 12) but that's never a problem in my opinion ;).

Dark Chocolate Cake:


Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 C) and grease 3, 9-inch (or 8 inch) round cake pan with oil and then flour them well. Whisk together butter and sugar until creamed then beat in eggs well. Add soda, salt, baking powder, vanilla, and cocoa and stir until smooth. Stir in the coffee and buttermilk, followed by flour, then stir in melted chocolate until batter is smooth.
Divide batter among the prepared pan and place in oven. Bake for 30 - 35 minutes until toothpick comes out clean (ovens may vary so if it's not quite done give it a bit longer). Remove from oven and allow to cool for about 15 minutes then loosen edges with knife and remove cakes from the pans by inverting them over large plates. Once you've taken them all out, cover them with plastic wrap to seal then place in the freezer for a minimum of 30 minutes.

Baking the Shortbread Cookies:


Now time for finishing the shortbread, remove the dough from fridge and roll it out on a lightly floured surface until it's roughly 1/2 inch thick. Use yourmoose cookie cutter to cut shapes (by the way, any shape will work instead. Hearts would be cute.). Place the cookies on a parchment lined baking sheet (Important: be sure to bake some of them facing the opposite direction so that you'll have cookies to face each other for your toppers) and bake in oven for 8 - 12 minutes until the edges start to brown. Remove and cool.Set aside until you finish the fudge frosting.

Nutella Mousse:


Beat the heavy whipping cream in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with whisk attachment until it starts to form stiff peaks, about 3 minutes. Turn speed to low and slowly pour in the sugar and vanilla then increase speed and beat until fluffy, about 1 more minute. Scrape the nutella into the bowl and use a large spatula to fold it together with the whipped cream until evenly combined into a light mousse. Scrape into a seperate bowl and cover bowl then chill until ready to assemble the cake.

Chocolate Fudge Frosting:


In the same mixing bowl, beat the butter and one cup of powdered sugar on low until combined, repeat with the remaining 2 cups then add the remaining ingredients. Beat on high until light and fluffy.

Assembly:


Before assembling cake, fit a pastry bag with a small round tip and fill with a small amount of the chocolate frosting. Pipe onto at least 2 of the cooled shortbread cookies to form an edge, then fill in the lines.
Remove cakes from freezer and if needed, trim to level with a serrated edge knife. Now fit your pastry bag with a large round tip and pipe an edge of frosting around the cake to form a border for the mousse. Scoop about 1/2 cup of the nutella mousse into center of cake and spread in an even layer.
Repeat last step for the next to layers of cake, then spread the remaining fudge frosting around the outside of the cake in a smooth coating. If desired, sprinkle hazelnuts along the top and bottom edges and place truffles along the top edge. Top the cake with 2 of your frosted moose cookies (use toothpicks to prop them up if needed)

Notes

You can purchase a moose cookie cutter online.

Chocolate Nutella Mousse Moose Cake (11).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast-4.jpg

For more great food ideas, please do not forget to look at my other recent food posts

  1. Chocolate Minty Swirl Brownies with a Secre
  2. 4-Ingredient Peanut Butter Chocolate Cereal Bars
  3. Floral White Vanilla Birthday Cake
  4. Spicy Cajun Shrimp Crunchy Tacos
  5. Easy Vanilla Marshmallow Milkshakes
  6. Gringalicious Snapshot Sundays + Saying Goodbye to January
  7. Pistachio+Kale Pesto Feta Pita Pizzas
  8. Triple Chocolate Chip Cake Ball Truffles
  9. Dairy Queen Cake Batter Blizzard Copycat
  10. Braised Slow-Cooker Pork Roast + Rainbow Root Veggies

Chocolate Nutella Mousse Moose Cake (12).jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

I’m going nuts now for nuettala

thanks @cookit, I appreciate it

Finally, a mouse cake with a moose, I LOVE IT!!!

always so supportive, thanks so much @noboxes

I want to eat the Moose - LOL!!!!

thanks so much for your continued support @freerunner

Hey @freerunner,

I love chocolate so much and these are recipes are so yummy:(. I am totally sure that i will make this recipe because i just love Chocolate:).

It seems to taste delicious I personally love the taste of chocolate a lot
I wish you good night

Insanely gorgeous food photos, awesome job as always

Hey @mamaloves, you are always such a huge encouragement to me, thanks for always being there

Gorgeous cake Gringa. Nutella is big all over the world. Here in Ecuador it's sold in every super market. So I'm still in the Gallapagos. Honestly I can't wait to get the hell out of here! I've seen everyting on this Island, spent so much time outside I've been sun burnt to a crisp and have had all sorts of adventure and more. Now it's like....watching my Steemit page slowly dwindle in earnings, votes, and replies as I'm totally handi-capped by the internet. It's like are you kidding me, a world class place like the Galapagos has the worst internet on the planet. I literally watched the clock as your page loaded......four and half minutes! I'm not even sure you'll get this message. If this place was run by a more modern country, it sure would have many upgrades especially the internet being one.

I'd never come back here again. Just on principle that it's like 50/50 odds I can even open my email. It's really been upsetting. Today there was no internet at all between 10am and 4 pm! But I just want to get this note out to you while the wifi is somewhat functional as I certainly haven't forgotten about you and really appreciate your support with my posts.....all posted by steem-auto! lol

You're doing grate, post after post. Top quality food as always. I love chocolate and I love cake. Yours looks incredible! Miss communicating with you and leaving my super comments! :) I'm looking forward to moving on from here Thursday and getting back in touch with my favorite people here on steemit, you certainly being one. Wishing you and your family the very best. Steem on! -Dan

Hey Dan, good to hear from you. So you get out there on Thursday, where to next?

My aunt came home from hospital yesterday, beautiful day.

Bummer about the slow internet. My aunt and uncle live on the side of a mountain here in North Idaho, about 45 minutes North of where I live and they have horrific internet. I had to stay with them for while when we came back to the states and I was in a foul mood everyday because of the incredibly slow internet

Tell me about it. The frustration of having lousy internet has put me in a foul mood. Then I go hang out with the sea lions and I feel better lol! Wow, your aunt was in the hospital for a while. I hope she has good insurance I know in the states a bill like that can ruin someone financially. Such a shame that's how things are back home. But glad she is doing better.

Well, if I wasn't blogging away, I'd probably be on my way to Peru straight from here. But I'm gonna park my rear in the same hotel in Guayaquil where I was comfortable and work my tail off editing photos, socializing, and making posts, and plans for one full week....but I'm now leaning towards a bus to Mancora Peru...but I'll let you know when I'm 100%. But I'll feel so so so good!!! If I do leave for Peru with steem auto post loaded up for four days with another 25 posts in the bank!

Once back in Guayaquil I still have on my list of things to do is to go back into our steemit chat conversation and reach out to your other family members on steemit. I want to get in with the whole Gringa Crew! Can't believe how many of you there are! What a great big family you have! :)

Keep up the great work on your blog. You certainly are doing top quality food posts. I love them, everyone does! :)
I'll be in-touch. Dan

Good god. Now I'm salivating. This isn't good.

I couldn't click fast enough when I read "nutella" I love the stuff. Well I should say loved, I'm close to carb free now,but as I said before, that gives me even more reason to look at amazing photo posts like this, heaven!

I love hazelnuts, and I can still eat those. And Nutella is hazelnuts so that is my logic. I really love the moose cookie/biscuits too, so adorable.

When I did eat carbs I loved a sandwich, which is very American, Fluff, Nutella, and Peanut butter. Heavens. IT was like a s'more on toast.

Wonderful photos of course.

Carb free, my dad has tried that in the past and had success. He's talking about doing it again. He's always kind of followed Adkins, do you have any tips?

Thanks for the great commenting @donnadavisart

omg it seems tooo delciious! im on a diet and all i want is this cake now!! looks so moist and chocolately!

sorry about that, keep up the good work on your fitness regiment

You've outdone yourself on the desserts, @gringalicious! That's so gorgeous! It would be a best-seller in a dessert shop, easy! Where I live, there's a specialty dessert shop, The Sweet Life, that makes fancy cakes. It's always packed with people and they sell a lot for special events, too. Your moose cake would be a winner there -- if they see your cake, I bet they would make some right away. (Does that mean I should go there often, to check, lol?)

Every photo is great. My favorite is the one 4th from the bottom, where you are serving the cake. It does seem complicated to make. But the shortbread looks easy by itself. And the mousse, too. So thinking of it in pieces to make separately, seems not so intimidating.

I wonder what else you will make with your moose cookie cutters? :D

that's a great way to tackle this cake, one piece at a time, LOL

Thanks so much for the compliments on the photos. I have some more moose cookie cutter plans, stay tuned

Yay for the moose! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87