Chocolate Dipped Frosting Filled Doughnuts - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Do you have any idea how many puns can be made about doughnuts?

Chocolate Glazed Cream Filled Doughnuts..jpg

There are at yeast more than you can overlook or glaze over. You probably doughnut even want to know! Ha, sorry but did I mention how for some reason my peeps have been in a punny mood recently? Especially Liv, I think she’s about to drive everyone crazy with the way she’s been cranking them out.

DSC_1255.jpg

I do a huge amount of cooking that’s not for the blog. In fact, I probably only share about 25% of the recipes I make because I always overthink things and that usually means that I decide my healthier creations are too boring for your time and notice. I am determining right now to make some extremely healthy things to share soon. If anyone has any ideas or cravings tell me in the comments because I’m always open to suggestions.

DSC_1286.jpg

Okay, let's get to the doughnuts because that’s why we’re all here, obviously. I mentioned sometime right before Mother’s Day that I was planning to make doughnuts for the occasion because they are probably my Mom’s ultimate weakness, and she’d tell you that herself.

DSC_1346.jpg

There is one of our doughnut stories that was unforgettable. First let me say that along with her resolve to find the best food around, my mom has this talent for finding those unassuming little places that no one else would try based on face-value and yet they always turn out to be amazing. When we first moved to Idaho there was this one place she heard about that we decided to try on one of our first nights here.

DSC_1306.jpg

We got there just minutes after they’d closed but she could see that there were still employees behind the counter, and more importantly that they had the next morning’s doughnuts ready. I don’t think those poor dudes or any of my family will forget my mom excitedly banging knocking on the window trying to get there attention or the terrified look they got when she did.

DSC_1310.jpg

Oh my goodness, I’m pretty sure they thought she was a psychotic woman about to start trying to break the window glass with the nearest trash cans or something. Hey, but it ended in her victory. She got dem doh-dohs and true to her talent they ended up being the best in town even after further investigations were done. Look, we take these matters seriously, okay? Doughnut quality is no laughing matter.

DSC_1353.jpg

With that being said, if you’ve ever wanted to try your hand at making your own then you have got to try this recipe because it’s been decided that they were the best I’ve ever made. Honestly, they aren’t very difficult and the rise time passes by pretty quickly when you’re busy making and doing “poison checks” on your filling. You know what I’m sayin’? I have complete faith that you can pull these off guys.

DSC_1351.jpg

Come on, you know your Monday needs this so bad!

DSC_1339.jpg

Chocolate Dipped Frosting Filled Doughnuts


Cook Time: 30 minutes
Total Time: 2 hours, 30 minutes
Yield: 16 - 18 doughnuts

Ingredients

1 cup warm milk (not hot)
1 tablespoon active dry yeast
1/2 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons butter, melted
4 1/2 - 5 cups all purpose flour
about 2 quarts of oil for frying

Chocolate Glaze:


1/4 cup whole milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons butter, melted
1/4 cup cocoa powder
2 1/2 cups powdered sugar

Buttercream Filling:


3 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, room temp
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons whole milk

Instructions

Doughnuts:


In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with beater attachment (or a large bowl), dissolve yeast in milk and allow to sit for about 5 minutes until bubbly. Beat in eggs and sugar, then butter and salt until combined. Add about 4 cups flour, one cup at a time, until your dough comes together and pull away from the sides. Now switch the attachment to a dough hook and add up to 1 cup more flour as need until the dough is smooth and resilient. Cover bowl with a damp towel or plastic wrap and place in warm place to rise until doubled in size. (Alternatively, you can refrigerate the dough overnight.)
When dough is ready, roll it out on a lightly floured surface into a layer about 1/2 inch thick. Use a circular cookie cutter with a diameter of about 3 inches (or you can use the mouth of an inverted cup) to cut out circles. Place the doughnuts on a tray and allow them to rise for 30 to 45 minutes.
After they've been rising for close to 25 minutes, heat oil to 350 degrees F (180 C) in a deep fryer or wide pot and line a plate with paper towels. Drop doughnuts, a few at a time, gently into oil and fry on each side for about 1 minute or until golden brown. Remove with a slotted spoon and place on prepared plate.

Chocolate Glaze:


Whisk all the ingredients together in a medium mixing bowl until completely smooth. Pour it into a shallow dish and dip the tops of doughnuts one by one and place on a parchment lined tray to dry. !Buttercream Filling:
Beat butter in a large mixing bowl fitted with whisk attachment until creamy. Add vanilla, salt, and powdered sugar one cup at a time. Add milk and beat until light and fluffy. Add a bit more milk or powdered sugar if needed for it to be a thick but pipe-able consistency.
Now fill a pastry bag fitted with a long narrow tip with the buttercream. Use a sharp skewer to poke holes into the sides of each doughnut then pipe the filling into holes to fill each one.
These are best served as soon as possible!

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast-4.jpg

For more great food ideas, please do not forget to look at my other recent food posts

  1. Sweet and Spicy Honey Bourbon Chicken
  2. Strawberries+Cream Fudge Brownie Trifle
  3. Tropical Bay Breakfast Jars (Vegan)
  4. Veggies + Lemongrass Wild Rice Stuffed Peppers - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT
  5. National Nutella Day Chocolate Mousse Moose Cake
  6. Chocolate Minty Swirl Brownies with a Secre
  7. 4-Ingredient Peanut Butter Chocolate Cereal Bars
  8. Floral White Vanilla Birthday Cake
  9. Spicy Cajun Shrimp Crunchy Tacos
  10. Easy Vanilla Marshmallow Milkshakes

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

DSC_1305.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

My Current Stats: 60,662 Steem Power | 10,890 Followers | 26,700 Posts

Sort:  

Great post
Simple but looks delicious
Well done .. Thanks for the recipe

thanks for commenting @slimanepro, I am glad you think it looks delicious

It look so delicious. my mouth is filled with water after seeing it and literally it's not fake..great job.

thanks so much for the comment @introvert-dime

Oehh! Delicious!!

Oh wow, those look crazy GOOOOOD

thanks so much @dougkarr! I hear some of the best donuts are in New York, what say you?

The only match I can think of for the amazing looking ones you just busted out, is the fabulous Donut Plant in the Lower East Side.
16AD59F0-4880-4492-A1B6-88AFEA76B4F3.jpeg

You're killing me girl!! These were my all-time favorite donut back in my hometown! There was this little run-down strip mall and the shop itself was tiny! Rollen's Donuts! There were a couple small tables and maybe 4-5 chairs total, but most of their business was to-go anyway.

I used to go there with my parents when I was a little girl. Then as I got older and moved away and eventually moved back, I'd forgotten about it. Fast forward a wedding and couple of babies later and we were driving by when my husband mentioned how much his family had loved going to Rollen's. We had heard it had been sold, and were not expecting much when we stopped in. The young woman behind the counter was so friendly and told us that when she bought the place the recipes were sold to her as well! Oh and the product did not disappoint!! Just like I remembered.

Now here's the tragedy... Out of my 4 kids, we have one with those crazy allergies and with all the substitutions and crazy mad scientist type baking I've pulled off, donuts just haven't worked out for me yet. When you have to avoid wheat, eggs, dairy, corn, soy & a few others, donuts are just not happening.

Fortunately, I've been working on her allergy friendly scone recipe and am even working on a muffin recipe that is supposed to taste like a maple glazed donut, so we'll see where that leads us.

In the meanwhile, thanks for the trip down memory lane. Those pictures are so good I can practically taste them right now. Mmm...

I am so glad I was able to inspire good memories. Thanks so much for telling me.

I am off to San Diego in the morning and I return on Sunday. I will try to let you know what I am making for the meetup next Monday.

Wow greit👍

I just got back from vacation @gringalicious, and it was an indulgent food trip. I had so many pastries and sweets I swore I was over it all, until I saw this! Absolutely decadent! Also, we are forever on the same blogging schedule. Night owl Steemians! :P

Wow, what a compliment, thanks @kommienezuspadt! That's very sweet of you. Haha, not only are we on the same blogging schedule but we must be on the same wavelength because I'm actually leaving for a vacation in the morning.

I can smell the sweet ofthe toast, so nice @gringgalicious, you are so great ! thanks for sharing .

Teach me how to make it, maybe I can learn from you, it looks great

Lucky people on trips. I love pastries and blue corn chips.

I like the bread let alone toast the outside aroma can thank Kasih @gringalicious posting hopefully useful for me.

Lucky people on trips. I love pastries and blue corn chips.

those look so awesome!!

you are always so kind and supportive, thanks so much @freerunner

You nailed this one, it's over the top!!

I need to make them again soon, I think @noboxes!

It's so good that you have a big family to share all your cooking with. 75% more of what you make doesn't even make it to your blog! Wow!

I have a very small family and quite frankly have lived alone or with a girlfriend for my entire adult life. I love to cook but in the past have found myself having more food on hand than can be eaten. So good you don't have that problem, and you can stay busy having fun in the kitchen and get the satisfaction of seeing all your family enjoying your food.

For me that is always the best part, making other's happy as they are "wowed" by how good my cooking is! I'm sure your family is constantly smiling at the diner table.

You are doing so well here and in your kitchen! Saw this post on the sndbox list. Keep up the great work! -Dan

thanks so much Dan for all of your support! Where is the next expedition going to be?

You are so welcome Gringa! I believe I'll be heading south in less than a week to Mancora Peru.

Great you made me hungry
@letssmile

thanks so much for commenting @letssmile

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64122.04
ETH 2745.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66