Puffy Snowball Holiday Cookies [ butterballs ] - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

I love that cookies so conveniently make wonderful gifts because it’s basically a win win situation all the way around. I’m sharing one of the classics. These devious little puffs of deliciousness operate under multiple aliases but my crazy clan has always called them butterballs. You may know them as snowballs, Mexican wedding cookies, Russian tea cakes, or Italian wedding cookies, but me, I can’t seem to call them anything else. To me they’ll always be butterballs.

DSC_0510.jpg

Okay, obviously everybody and their great-aunt Ruth has a recipe for these cookies but I just really felt like I should have mine on the blog. Something about the holidays makes me want everything to be as traditional as possible and for my family, butterballs are a must this time of year. Almost every Christmas cookie tray I can remember had these included in the mix.

DSC_0503.jpg

Years ago when we moved to Chile we spent a summer in this itty bitty little cabin and our landlord and neighbor, Carlos, was an older gentlemen that had the sweetest presence you can imagine. The type of man that makes everyone feel like they’re his kids or grandkids and he knows the answer to any question you might throw his way. Words like sagely and wise seem to fit in describing him. What’s funny is that he’s pretty short, I think I may be taller than he is, so it has what my nerdy self likes to call a “Yoda effect”.

DSC_0588.jpg

Long story short (even though it’s pretty much too late), my reason for trying to describe this friend is to explain to you that he loved these….a lot. Even with his years of wisdom, he would giggle like a schoolboy whenever I brought ”Those leetle white kooo-keys” . That’s why, even though everyone has seen these plenty of times, I’m still going to share my recipe with you guys and you’ll just have to deal with it.

DSC_0561.jpg

This is a total sidenote: I asked my little sis to be my cookie holding model and I thought the pics turned out really cute. She’s usually my go-to when I want a personal touch because she loves to help me.

DSC_0570.jpg

And if you aren’t getting into the holiday mood yet then I don’t know what I’m going to have to do to beat these. Hey, and if you already have a recipe for these then let this just be a reminder that it’s time to start baking some Christmas cookies!

DSC_0538.jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent.

Oh, and don't forget to follow me on all your favorite social media channels!

Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Instagram

Recipe available upon request to the first Steemian friend who says today's words : "LET IT SNOW"

Want some other recipes to try? Here's my most recent food posts!

1.Rosemary Garlic Roast Beef + Sauteed Mushrooms

2.Homemade 3 Musketeers Chocolate Candies

3.Fully Loaded Mexican Style Twice Baked Potato Skins

4.Brownie Chocolate Chip Cookie Meringue Pie

5.Molten Lava Chocolate Chunk Streusel Coffee Cake

  1. CHOCOLATE COVERED CARAMELS

7.Christmas Gift Idea: How to Make Your Own Hot Cocoa Mix

8.Edible Shot Glasses!!! Snickerdoodle Cookies & Milk Cups w/ Chocolate

9.Chocolate Ginger-Man Cheesecakes in a Jar

10.Coffee & Soy Marinated Steak French Dip Sandwiches

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

DSC_0495.jpg

Sort:  

I really loved your snow ball cookies.....looks delicious
love the girl holding it..such cute.

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment on my post @robertsekhose

AND

STEEM ON!!

Mmmmm thanks for sharing your awesome butterball cookies with us ! I would definitely love your famous recipe for them @gringalicious ! " Let It Snow !" upped an resteemed !!😋😋😋🎁🎅🎄🎀

Happy Holidays and thank you @momskitchen !

Ingredients

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup finely chopped pecans
about 1 cup powdered sugar for rolling
Instructions

Preheat oven to 350ºF (180ºC). Beat butter until creamy then add powdered sugar, salt, vanilla, and flour and mix well. Mix in pecans until well combined then roll dough into 1 inch balls and place them about 1-inch apart on a parchment lined baking tray.
Bake for 12 to 15 minutes or until very lightly browned. Remove from oven and let them cool for 3 to 4 minutes then roll each one in powdered sugar while warm. Set aside and allow them to cool, then roll in powdered sugar again.

Oh wow ! Thanks @gringalicious for the extra surprise of a nice up vote , and of course your Butterball recipe , mmmmm there's chopped pecans added sounds so yummy ! I will be saving this recipe in my Docs and hopefully making them soon !! I just purchased my Zamboni Gingerbread kit today so I better get at making that Tomorrow while I have a chance ! Haha !😋😋😋🎁🎅🎄🎀

You are awesome

images01.jpg

Those look yummy and I'm sure your family and friends will have fun eating them!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment on my post @goodvibrations

AND

STEEM ON!!

Hi my dear! These cookies looks like Moroccan ghriba, same same, very delicious cakes and those my favorite cookies with the Moroccan mint tea.

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment on my post @creativewoman.

Moroccan ghriba, interesting

AND

STEEM ON!!

They look so delicious! I wish I had one in my hand right now :D

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment on my post @askaran

AND

STEEM ON!!

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Delegate/donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: Bye bye 25+ and 50+! Welcome 20+ 40+ and 60+!

I am curious how will they taste. I think I will recreate them for my nieces and nephews visiting my parents' house for Christmas. I will bring them this suprise. Thanks for inspiration!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment on my post @instagoodfood

AND

STEEM ON!!

Fantastic Photos, the clarity is amazing! Very nice post here, Thanks.

Yummy recipe looks beautiful....I love your camera pictures are so realistic ....thank you for sharing...

Hey @maryahoc. If you like my current camera, then just wait till next week after Santa comes

Cookies look good but the photography looks great, unbelievable clear and detailed! Nice work.

Wow, very sweet of you @kp138!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02