Fudgy Sweet Potato Nutella Brownies - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

Fudgy Sweet Potato Nutella Brownies (Vegan+GF)-6.jpg

Is there a more perfect treat than brownies? I don’t think so. Of course, I’m super indecisive so if I had to choose between brownies and, say, chocolate chip cookies or ice cream, I’d probably fail. So I made homemade nutella recently and omg, yum! When you’re a recipe creator though, sometimes you end up with a lot of extras from testing and that’s what happened here. In these cases my philosophy is always to make lemonade out of lemons.

Fudgy Sweet Potato Nutella Brownies (Vegan+GF)-2.jpg

Also, I’m contemplating how I have ever lived without a blender. I mean, obviously brownies aren’t the most essential thing to life (Haha, depending on who you ask 😉 ). It’s just, I think I’ve used my blender multiple times every single day this week and many of my recent recipes use one.

Fudgy Sweet Potato Nutella Brownies (Vegan+GF)-5.jpg

Because these are made in the blender they come together so fast and easy. I mean, all you do is throw it all in, press go, and then you’re done. What I also really liked about these is that they are flourless and therefore grain free. You do add a little bit of arrowroot starch to help keep these thick, but other than that it’s all about the potato.

If you’re not able to make homemade nutella you can find many good brands to buy. I would recommend one that contains fewer ingredients than the name brand though. I know Justin’s makes a chocolate hazelnut butter.

Fudgy Sweet Potato Nutella Brownies (Vegan+GF)-4.jpg

Now if you don’t have a blender and you still want to make these, no worries. You can definitely smash up the sweet potato with a fork and stir everything together. If you do that though, be sure to get it very well mashed to avoid any chunks in the brownies. Alright, I think that covers everything so it’s time to get baking.

Fudgy Sweet Potato Nutella Brownies (Vegan+GF)-3.jpg

Fudgy Sweet Potato Nutella Brownies (V+GF)


Prep Time: 10 minutes
Cook Time: 45 minutes
Total Time: 55 minutes
Yield: about 9 brownies

A decadent treat made with an unexpected ingredient that will surprise everyone. They're easy to make, gluten free, and vegan!

Ingredients

1 medium sweet potato, baked and peeled
1/2 cup homemade nutella or a store-bought brand of chocolate hazelnut butter (vegan if needed)
1/4 cup sucanat (organic cane sugar)or raw sugar
1/3 cup cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon baking powder
2 tablespoons arrowroot starch (or cornstarch)
5-6 tablespoons mini chocolate chips (vegan if needed)

Instructions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 C) and lightly grease an 8x8 inch or similar sized pan. I used (10 1/2" x 7 3/4" pyrex pan).
Combine the sweet potato and nutella in a blander or food processor and blend until smooth. Add the sucanat, cocoa, salt, baking powder, arrowroot, and vanilla, and blend until completely combined. Add about 3 tablespoons of mini chocolate chips and pulse once.
Scrape the mixture into pan and spread evenly with a spatula. Sprinkle on a few more tablespoons chocolate chips and bake for 35- 40 minutes until the top begins to look dry and a toothpick comes out clean. Cool completely before cutting and serving.
Store in an air-tight container at room temperature for up to 2 days or in the fridge for up to a week.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. 25-Minute Thai Peanut Soba Noodle Salad
  2. Energizing Ginger Berry Maca Smoothie
  3. BBQ Jackfruit Tacos + Kale Corn Slaw
  4. Granola Crusted Cashew Cream Tart
  5. Crunchy Breakfast Granola

Also, I've been starting to vlog in case you missed it.
  1. Vlog #4 Grocery Shopping with Gringalicious at Trader Joe's
  2. Hiking to Snow Creek Falls + I Hit 17k Followers!
  3. Vlog #3: Looking for a New Gym + Meet My Baby
  4. Vlog #2 Rock Climbing With @hotrod, @fullofhope, and @whiteknight20 + What I ate Today

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

Fudgy Sweet Potato Nutella Brownies (Vegan+GF)-1.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

I love how you photograph food. :)

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote & Resteem the latest dropahead Curation Reports!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from @dropahead: Are you a curator? Join our team! v1

Wow A good solution .This was a great post lady. Thank you for sharing.

Chocolate and healthy, home made nutella!
Wow WOW!!!!
Sorry No words. Thoughts and throat are tied up- courtesy the pics in this post.

Liked Voted and Resteemed

How much time do you spend every day cooking?

@kuklamasha Haha, it totally depends. I used to cook all day long but now I tend to mix it up. Some days it's a few hours and others I may not cook at all. 😀

I see, but it sounds like a full time job =)

I love my homemade Nutella too ;) So I understand your love for it very well.
Great pictures and a inspiring recipe!
Thanks for sharing =)

Best regards out of the van
Sarah

When I look at these pictures, I become hungry

I just love your recipes and posts, I will tryout this recipes for sure it looks very delicious

You make me suffering here looking those yummy brownies behind my pc screen. Girl i'm going to visit you someday and steal all your delicious food from your kitchen window, beware LOL.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58617.29
ETH 3164.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44