My Tiny Garden - Hoya Carnosa VariegatasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago

Before I had my very first Hoya plant I heard that they are not the easiest plants. They grow slow and don't want to bloom. They don't like to be moved or repotted and generally picky creatures.

Now I have this one here and either way this variety is different, or I do something right, because she grows like a weed!

Hoya flower 5.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/7.11/160105mmISO160)

I received few little, unrooted cuttings about a year and a half ago and right now they must be at least 2 meters long! Must be, because I don't really know. It is all tangled together to keep it as compact as I can.
Now that is not a slow growing plant IMHO.

Hoya flower 7.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/81/200105mmISO100)

It also blooms like mad. From the early spring until late autumn. It constantly has some flowers open, new buds forming and so on. I had no idea that it can bloom from the same spot multiple times.

Look how cute and fuzzy they are :)

Hoya flower 4.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/7.11/160105mmISO140)

And let me tell you - in the evening.... around 10 pm it starts to smell like almonds mixed with cacao... so cool :D

Hoya flower 1.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/7.11/160105mmISO280)

I think it's the place I keep the pot in - east facing window with strong morning sun. I also keep the window open most of the year so she gets the cool winds and fresh air.
As for watering: I often forget to water her ;) She doesn't mind. I think she prefers to dry out properly than stay soggy. And she gets orchid food every 2-3 weeks when I feed my orchids and I have some left. Seems she likes that one too.

hoya buds 3.09.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/81/12555mmISO100)

The photo above shows where the buds are coming from. See the tiny little beeds? Those a future flowers. After they bloom and drop another little set like that pops.... and it all starts again.

Hoya buds 4.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/7.11/160105mmISO360)

Hoya red leaf.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/111/160105mmISO1600)


Previously on My Tiny Garden


View all my posts
I only post my own photos.


Sort:  

Beautifully photographed @ewkaw. I have so many hoya plants now ~ All from cuttings from a magnificent 'tree' that my mother grew from a cutting as well. They don't all flower, unfortunately. Think they need not too much sun or shade ~ But a little of both. 🦋

I have two different hoyas. And this one blooms like mad and the other one doesn't. They are in different spots and the one that doesn't bloom gets a lot less light. So maybe they do like some sun and bright light.
Try to put them somewhere else, maybe it will help :)

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond Please consider upvoting this comment as this project is supported only by your upvotes!

I love the fuzzy closeup!! Very nice captures!!

Thank you! Pity they are so small... otherwise I could pet them :)

You're welcome! Ha right!

Fabulous shots my friend. I cannot stop watch your post. Up and resteem :)

Awww thanks :D I am so excited when my plants bloom I shoot the from all the angles :p Crazy me!

What an awesome blooms. I know why they do not want to bloom... because when they do they pay for all the wait :)

I have another one that didn't bloom for me yet. She better be even better!

I love the pictures, especially the close up.

yes very detailed very nice and interesting

Thanks a lot :)

Thank you! :)

So cool the tiny ones! Great shots and beautiful flowers! Happy Sunday!

Happy Sunday Remko :)
Thanks! You want some? :p

The photos are absolutely beautiful. I'll try applying some orchid fertiliser to my hoya, maybe it will start blooming. Thanks for the tips

Let me know if it worked and fingers crossed :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by EwkaW from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66858.35
ETH 3088.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72