My Tiny Garden - King orchid.

in #gardening7 years ago

Dendrobium Nobile Comet King 'Akatsuki' to be precise :)

Dendrobium Comet King Akatsuki 3.jpg
Lumix DMC-FZ8 (f/2.8, 1/60, 6mm, ISO100)

I got it in winter a year and half ago and it was a battle since. It was on sale in a supermarket. It almost finished blooming (it was just those few flowers that I photographed) and there was only one plant left. I had to get it - if you saw those very big, pink flowers with amazing floral fragrance you would too.
But since it was in a shop for a while it wasn't in the best shape - nobody cares for them there.

Dendrobium Comet King Akatsuki 4.jpg
Lumix DMC-FZ8 (f/2.8, 1/80, 6mm, ISO100)

So what happened? Well.. it bloomed for a little bit longer and then it started to grow new canes - all good it seems, but whenever a new one grew it was dying off. With no new canes the plant would die soon. After months I managed to get five little keikis(those are young orchid shoots) and planted them separately. They survived the next winter... and grew more this year.

Dendrobium Comet King Akatsuki 1.jpg
Lumix DMC-FZ8 (f/2.8, 1/80, 6mm, ISO100)

dendrobium nobile comet king akatsuki.jpg
Lumix DMC-FZ8 (f/2.8, 1/100, 6mm, ISO100)

All seem good and on the right path right now. Now I have 4 plants (1 went to my sister already) and maybe in 2 years I will see some blooms again. With a bit of luck (but it is a very big maybe) next year. But I wouldn't count on that one.

Dendrobium Comet King Akatsuki 2.jpg
Lumix DMC-FZ8 (f/2.8, 1/60, 6mm, ISO100)

I am just happy he is fine now.


My other orchids:


View all my posts
I only post my own photos.


Sort:  

It seems your tiny garden host an immense amount of beauty :)

Aww thanks :)
I need a bigger balcony and windows!

I wish you get one!

Hopefully one day :)

Hai I want to share about wild orchids in coffee farm. If you interest please check here https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@gayocoffeefarm/wild-orchids

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66603.07
ETH 3335.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70