My Tiny Garden - Echeveria Agavoides and a bee.

in #gardening7 years ago

Seems that my blooming succulents attract bees.
One bee to be exact. This little furry and fatty one. She really enjoyed those Echeveria blooms. I was watching her every morning for about 2 or 3 weeks until the flowers dried up. Once she brought a friend, but I guess it didn't like it as much.

Echeveria agavoides flower macro bee.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/10, 1/1000, ISO400)

echeveria agavoides bee 2.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/10, 1/1000, ISO400)

Strange creature this one. It is more shy than the regular honey bee. It gets scared very easily so I couldn't get very close. Honey bees dont care about camera pointing at them.

echeveria agavoides flower bee.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/10, 1/1000, ISO400)

This one also flies a lot faster and can freeze in the air almost like a hummingbird :)
See?

bee at me.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/10, 1/2500, ISO400)

I also had Kalanchoe blooming at that time, but those weren't her favourite.
In the back you can see thick, green Gasteria leaves.

kalanchoe flowers bee succulents.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/10, 1/1250, ISO400)

Bee kalanchoe.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/10, 1/1250, ISO400)

Nice to have them around :) I don't get any pretty butterflies here, so I enjoy all the other creatures.

echeveria agavoides flowers.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/10, 1/1000, ISO400)

And she left...


Previously on My Tiny Garden


View all my posts
I only post my own photos.


Sort:  

the first picture is absolutely stunning!

Thank you :)

Very good photography.upvoted

Thank you very much :)

Such fabulous shots of the beautiful flowers and of course the bee,
WOW Catching it in mid air that is impressive

Have a great day

Catching her flying was kind of an accident. She was sitting on a flower and then few away while I pressed the button. She is really fast that way!
Thanks , you too JJ :)

Great series.

She's fatty because she is alone in all these flowers :) But look, she can fly! Nice capture :)

She STILL can fly! ;)
Thanks!

So fluffy! 😍

Yeaaaa pity she is not bigger... we could have a pet :)

What lovely little flowers and such great captures of the bees! Coming back for this!

Thank you! Pity she doesn't like other flowers... those are done blooming and the bee is gone too :(

Its getting sad here too Ewa. Brown from rain and almost all flowers are gone....😐

Awww at least you have some refreshing rain. Here it all dries up. Not my plants, because I water them. But all the wild areas... all dry and yellow.

Yes, hence all the fires in the south of Europe 😐

Yup :(
We have a fire station on my street and I hear them going out pretty often lately..

Working bee on the work! Wonderful work @ewkaw. Upvoted, resteemed, followed & DPS.

Please state clearly in the comments how would you like to be featured in the “Daily Photo Selection”: with a linked photo, or with link only without a photo. We are making a list of photographers who are ready to improve the visibility of their work through the DPS.

Thanks very much!

I'd love a linked photo :) Thanks!
(I think I got featured before in your selection post)

Good timing that catching the bee in the air...good work!!👍🏼🐝🐝

Thanks a lot! I was very lucky with that one :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61414.81
ETH 2984.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46