My Tiny Garden - Gasteria [6 photos]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

This is the oldest plant I have on my balcony. I got it planted a few months after we moved in few years ago and it is till with me.
What is more I already managed to split it and gave away many single plants. Hope they all do well :)

Gasteria flower 1.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/22, 1/160, 105mm, ISO400)

This succulent is native to South Africa - that's why it handles the summer heat so well even if I forget to water it. It is actually better if I forget. It will manage with no water. But too much water will make it rot and die. Just perfect :)
The only thing I have to do is to make sure it doesn't drown during the winter rains.

Gasteria flower.jpg
Lumix DMC-FZ8 (f/5.6, 1/320, 6mm, ISO100)

Look at the leaves. They very thick, stiff and with pretty sharp edges. They will scratch your legs if you are not careful ;). They remind of a crocodile skin.

Gasteria gracilis leaf macro.jpg
Lumix DMC-FZ8 (f/3.2, 1/100, 6mm, ISO100)

Flowers are rather small, maybe 2 cm in length but they is so many of them! They grow on those very long stems and can bloom for weeks.

Gasteria flower macro 2.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/14, 1/640, 105mm, ISO400)

Gasteria flower light.jpg
Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105 (f/14, 1/1000, 105mm, ISO400)

And here is the part of the balcony where it grows. The sunniest and hottest corner.

gasteria balcony view .jpg
Lumix DMC-FZ8 (f/5.6, 1/250, 6mm, ISO100)

I am not sure of the proper name for this one. It could be Gasteria Carinata in case you want to google it.


Previously on My Tiny Garden


View all my posts
I only post my own photos.


Sort:  

Wow... Nice place You doing great @ewkaw keep it up

Thanks a lot :)

Great...do also check my organic garden tips... 😋

I love these! Wonderful peachy colour toned so beautifully into green with such graceful lines... The leaves are amazing - are those seeds? Love the backlit ones too! :)

Seeds? Where? :D

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Beautiful flowers, you got green fingers :)

Thank you, I guess I do :)

So pretty!! I have a lot of agaves and aloe plants in my yard. The flowers remind me of the aloes.

Thank you! Yeaaa they are very alike :)
I like agaves too, but they are too big for balcony.

yes. I have to chop them back on a regular basis. Or harvest the babies. They die after they bloom.

It is such a pity they do that. Just like Aeoniums. Though they have pretty flowers I wish they didn't bloom. Growing big for years and the die off is such a waste :p

or you can look it as nature figuring out how to support the next generation. Plant dies - becomes compost that feeds the next one coming up :)

That is probably how it supposed to be. Produce flowers, seeds and feed the new plants. But I want to have big plant in pot :p

The babies keep coming! They get big too :)

Beautiful flowers and amazing capture @ewkaw!

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59244.49
ETH 2977.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77