Steemit's Official Open Mic Judge @Verbal-D's Top 5 Entries For Week 70 (Original Blog)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)


Steemit Open Mic Week 70

My Top 5 In Order


As one of the 5 judges, and as an original artist also, I aim to represent the best original artists in this contest from our wonderful Steemit community. I am keeping my ears open for cover artists as well, don't worry but creating an original song is indeed impressive, especially if executed and performed well. Best of skill and performance to you all next week. This week was filled with so many wonderful artists, even amongst the high amount of entries, and there were still many talented performers who entered, so forgive me if I didn't list you, I definitely heard everyone's entries. Also, be sure to check out the other judges' top picks for the week, @krystle, @soundlegion, @passion-ground, and @luzcypher, who hosts the Open Mic Contest. See you next week! And don't forget to please vote for @Pfunk as witness, who is our biggest supporter and sponsor for this Open Mic Contest.


1. @joseacabrerav's "Me Va Mejor Original Song
Easily one of your best songs as I have previously stated as well as your best performance. This original has been a favourite of mine for awhile and I am so glad you got a whole band together to truly bring this wonderful masterpiece to life. The vibe and energy in the studio is inspiring and I can tell you were in the zone performing this one with mind, heart and soul. The positivity and soulfullness in this song is contagious and can definitely be played at many festive events to waken people's liveliness up. The visual presentation and sound quality enhanced this experience to the maximum. And I thank you for once again raising the standards for the open mic to make our judging process that much easier.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@joseacabrerav/steemit-openmic-semana-70-original-me-va-mejor-jose-cabrera


2. @danielsandoval's "Mi Consentida" By David Bustamante Cover Song
First off, you can sing extremely well. You are very poised and control your vocals with a soulful precision and do not shy away from creative expression with the range of this great cover. I had to give this entry a few listens just to appreciate the amount of passion and feeling you had infused with your performance. Your conviction really tied in well here and your skillfulpiano playing added a nice backdrop ambience. Thank you for sharing this entry and I look forward to hear what you perform next.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@danielsandoval/open-mic-week-70-mi-consentida-by-david-bustamante-cover


3. @gabrielamenesesg's "Atrapados" Original Song

You have some powerful moments in this performance for this week. I am so happy that you are showcasing an original. It is has some nice melodies and rhythmic structure to it and your heavy vibrato through the sweet sounds you create just make this a joy to listen to. You certainly are a passionate singer without a doubt and the way you approached this song with such confidence and intense emotion is what brought you to my top 5 spot. Thank you very much for sharing this gem with us all.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@gabrielamenesesg/steemit-open-mic-semana-70-atrapados-original


4. @benleemusic’s "What’s Good Is Good” Original Song
I really enjoyed the overall package this entry provided. From the sound quality, to the powerful positive message within your simplistic choice of effective lyricism, to the ear worm of a chorus, smooth-transitioning guitar playing, and a passionate performance to tie all of this together. Thank you for gifting us this nice and inspiring piece. Looking forward to your next one.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@benleemusic/steemit-open-mic-week-70-what-s-good-is-good-benleemusic-original-song


5. @mrbloom’s ”Slowed By Notes” Original Song
This is normally not my genre or area of expertise but I know a good songwriter when I hear one and you definitely have talent and skill. This was a very good entry and you are a natural at performing, plus it was a really nice original song that gives a feel good vibe and an easy going sound. Thanks for sharing and best of skill next time you enter, we look forward to it.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@mrbloom/steemit-open-mic-week-70-slowed-by-notes-original-song-darren-claxton




Honourable Mentions


My Top 7 In A Particular Order :)



2. @kayclarity’s "You’ll Be In My Heart" By Phil Collins Cover Song
https://steemit.com/openmic/@kayclarity/open-mic-week-70-phil-collins-cover



7. @edward-ong’s ”Wings” By Kotaro Oshio Cover Song
https://steemit.com/openmic/@edward-ong/steemit-open-mic-week-70-wings-kotaro-oshio


Thank you for viewing and reading this post in its entirety, I hope you enjoyed it for what it's worth.


All Gifs used from Giphy.com

Sort:  

Omg thank u so much, im so grateful for your words you're amazing ...i always think that nobody was going to like my voice and my music but steemit and open mic are making me more confident and omg thank u thank u.

You are welcome and I really enjoyed your entry you have a great voice don't stop singing please. This was a really good original song. I look forward to more from you the same level of passion and performance and more. Always push your limitations and grow :) Steem on. Best of skill and talent to you. Luck doesn't exist

making me more confident and omg

Hahaha I say something wrong? I speak spanish :c?beautiful cat btw

te nada. It's just reaction because ... OMG. You know?

Dear @verbal-d
I entered a from my perspective valid entry for week 70 just in time and it is on none of the See who played lists. Did you notice about it or was it missed and if, why? Luz does not have it on any of his lists and passion-ground wasn't aware of it too, I just want to know weather it is because of quality because then I will do pop-music instead;)
https://steemit.com/openmic/@senzenfrenz/steemit-openmic-week-70-franz-schuberts-winterreise-fruehlingstraum

Hey @senzenfrenz,

Thanks for the heads up. I will check it out. It was probably just wasn’t seen when Luz was putting his list together. This isn’t the first time this has happened. Sometimes the search engine glitches and entries can be missed because they don’t show when Luz searches the openmic tag. Your genre of choice doesn’t matter, the quality of your entries has always been acceptable so it must have just been a minor mistake. It can happen when there are so many entries that there are anywhere between 5-800 entries now that Luz has to track down and filter out.

Estoy feliz y pleno de que el esfuerzo y el trabajo de todas las personas que hicieron esto posible llegara a gustarles tanto, para mi fue algo increible la simple experiencia, agregandole este increible reconocimiento, que servira como motor inicial para todo lo que se viene, puedo decir que este es el año donde empezare mi sueño, que ya me estaba viviendo, hacia un target mas grande, sin palabras, mil gracias <3

Muchas gracias mi amigo! De nada

I'm copy/pasting my comment to the @luzcypher winner post:

@joseacabrerav is the stuff!
@verbal-d style Bonus Haiku (called Lesson from Previous Weeks):

Acoustic guitar
And a melancholy song
In a minor key

It seems I am having too much fun! I think I have to ditch my friends, grab an acoustic and find that place inside where I am crying. But then, @joseacabrerav makes a good case for not ditching my friends.

Thank you so much verbal-d
I appreciate this a lot... I'd be sharing a link to my week 72 entry in a couple of minutes... Please do well to check it out sire... You re blessed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41