🎶 Open Mic Week 76 - My Top 5 Judges Selection 🎶

in #openmic6 years ago

Hey guys I'm back, sorry to have missed last week on you all but life just happens sometimes - so what can ya do?

Anyway's as things continue week by week, it never ceases to amaze me the sheer variety and mix of entries we get - Open Mic has provided me with such an amazing and unique opportunity, I just love this exposure to music I may have otherwise missed altogether.

The talent pool keeps growing in spite of earnings dropping, I am so delighted to see those of you who have stuck with us - it is such a joy to get to hear this amazing music each week, we'd be lost without you all (plus it's all about the music for us, so we always want to hear more).

This week I spent a large amount of time thinking about the different styles of music I get to hear, music from all over the world - covers and originals alike and it's truly an honour, I'm getting to live my life listening to brilliant music what more could I want?

Well rather than babble I will get on with this week's top 5 selection, I hope you all enjoy and know just how difficult it is to create a list of only 5 entrants to showcase - especially when so many are just phenomenal musicians.

So without delay, here is my top 5 selection from this week's Open Mic:

This week's top 5:

1st Place - @drewsmusic - See You Again

I was drawn to this song from the first notes played, then when I heard your voice I was hooked - what an amazing song and performance.

This goes to show you, don't need a song to be belted out to have pure emotion and meaning conveyed throughout - I absolutely loved every damned second of this song.

Just a nice different tune where the lyrics are given primary focus, your vocals just stole the show for me - the combination of the lyric and the melody are just perfection.

The composition worked beautifully and I couldn't imagine this song being played any different, I have listened to this entry many times now and on each listen through there is a new element which shines through to amaze me.

An absolutely beautiful song, with a stunning performance both with the vocal and piano - I really enjoyed every second and can't wait to hear more soon!


2nd Place - @ed-the-songster - Out of Touch

Just wow man, such an amazing song and entry - not to mention the haunting beautiful vocals, just loved this entry so damned much I just had to include it in my top selection.

The texture of your voice is just amazing, there is a gentleness to the feel of your vocals - they are thick, clear and yet so emotive and textured.

A really stunning song, a brilliant performance - your playing is divine, but I still can't get over those amazing vocals mate.

I just can't get enough of this and I am so stoked to have heard it in this weeks Open Mic, I so look forward to seeing what else you have hidden away for us in the future,


3rd Place - @melavie - Magic

Bam she goes and does it again, just wow lovely - when I think you can't amaze me any further you just go and smash it out of the park once more, this is for lack of a better word stunning!

Whenever I hear you play I know it's time to get ready to be blown away, but seriously is there an end to the sheer talent you exude?

This is just perfection hun, I can't stop listening to this song and singing along with you - the emotion you convey is next level every damn time.

I just don't know the words to properly convey to you the talent you have, the ability in which you perform music - you and music belong together and I for one am honoured to have been blessed by that beautiful voice once more.

Not sure I will ever get enough, but I'm selfish I always want to hear more - and each time I do I am never let down, I can't wait to hear more from you as always you stole my heart with this entry!


3.5 @bonniepiesse - The Way I Am

Holly shite peoples, we have another amazing voice in Open Mic!

What an absolutely amazing performance, your voice is so soft and gentle yet so emotive and controlled - just wow in every sense of the word.

Your playing is beautiful, but for me stunning vocals always steal the show and that's just what you did - just a sublime entry and performance.

You have an amazing gift so thank you for sharing it with us, I really look forward to hearing what else you have in store for us in the future.


4th Place - @honeymoon-1611 - I can't make you love me

Another vocalist that has been capturing my attention in recent weeks, I just love your vocal control - this performance was just divine lovely.

What a brilliant performance and just sublime vocal display, I love how you transitioned into accapella part way through - it takes serious skill to pull off a transition like that and you did it just beautifully.

I have become a fan of your performances and I really look forward to seeing what else you can do - keep it up, you have some amazing skills and I want to hear more!


4.5 @joseacabrerav - Criollisima

Oh mate you just have such a smooth sultry voice, I just love it so much - every single performance you amaze me!

I love the deep clear tone you have, the way you use your vocals during performances are just divine - your playing is always perfection, but it's your vocals that take me places.

If you are this talented this young, I can't wait to see just how amazing you will be with a few more years under your belt - you have an amazing gift and I can't thank you enough for sharing it with us each week, as always I look forward to more from you soon!


5th Place - @benleemusic - Lean Into It

Wow @benleemusic and @nathankaye you guys absolutely smashed it for me this week, I love the combinations of sounds - the way it all comes together is just such an amazing and unique sound and feel.

With a focus on the lyric, the music is the primary focus - the combinations of sounds is unusual and my mind is instantly drawn to the exotic feel of the music.

I am loving the collaborations of late and this one did not let me down in any way, just a sublime performance full of emotion, power and energy - a brilliant entry that had to be included in my top 5 this week, keep it guys and I so look forward to what else you have coming for us!


Honourable Mentions:

@camporr - I Put A Spell On You


As always it has been such a joy and privilege, to be able to listen to all the amazing music each week is the best excuse for work I have ever had!

You guys always make it such a sheer pleasure, with the insane talent on display at times it can be breathtaking to watch the magic unfold.

I can never fit in every entry that I truly enjoyed, so I hope you can find some enjoyment in my more refined list of entrants from this week - it really is the hardest decision each week, so please forgive me if you killed it and aren't showing in this list (it isn't a lack of talent, in fact it is the sheer number of talented entrants that make this so bloody hard).

Anyways until next week, thanks for all the amazing music - the Steemit Musicians radio show is on hiatus for this week, but we will be back next week with entrants from the judges top 5 selections!

I'd also like to remind everyone again that all top five nominations from this week, will feature in the Steemit Musicians live radio show on MSP-Waves next week.

A massive congratulations to all of those to be featured in the show, it is going to be great opportunity to get to further share the awesome entries we receive each week - I can't wait to hear the audience's feedback on our selections and your entries.

I hope you can all drop by and support those who made this week's lists, I'm sure they'd appreciate the support - not to mention if you join you get to help choose the weekly 20 SBD winning entry!


Please join us for Steemit Musicians this Sunday 12-1 UTC!

Time Zone Converter

You can listen live at the mspwaves website- http://mspwaves.com/home/listen
You can listen on twitch-

You can join broadcast hosts in a special chat room on the MSP Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/kNxM7T6
You can check out http://mspwaves.com/ for more information


MSP waves logo.gif

On the note of the community I thought I'd take a moment to mention that, over at the minnow support program on our discord chat room Peace Abundance and Liberty - the recently revitalised music room has been getting rather active lately.

As well as the recent burst of activity, we have also added a jukebox to the room - so now when you're chatting with people in the music room, you can choose and play music from youtube (this includes open mic entries, I may have already played a couple I really enjoyed).

So far I have seen a few open mic regulars hanging out and about on the PAL chat rooms, now we have a place where we can actively share music live with people were chatting with - this can help musicians in so many ways, not to mention it's just fun to hang out and chat over and about good tunes.

In addition to the new music room Peace Abundance and Liberty chat rooms have a lot to offer, you can access bots to vote on your posts, you can also meet and interact with over 5000 steemians in the channel - this can be a very useful resource to new steemians, but is also a fantastic place to meet and interact with like minded individuals on many different topics.

Again a big thanks to @soundlegion, @meno, @verbal-d and @passion-ground for all they do as judges, please remember to go and check out their top five selections each week and to @luzcypher and @pfunk thank you so much for making all of this possible - until next week.

Which was your favourite entry this week?

Like what you've read so far?
Check out my story

or follow me on twitter @krystlehaines
Please consider voting @ausbitbank for witness here

Sort:  

This is awesome! Glad I found it, will resteem. I'll be watching from now on.

Another week of fantastic selections @krystle !
And thanks so much for putting my collaboration with Ben Lee’s incredible song in your top 5, especially because of you’re recognition of it, even though it has a non-formulaic, unique music style and lyrically deep contemplations.
We’ll likely keep exploring and pushing the boundaries with the next collab we do.
Much gratitude for all the work you put in!
🙏🏽

Yes glad you liked our tune! Thanks for all your support xx

Thank you so much @krystle for your sweet write-up! I'm very honored you chose me for your 2nd place, especially considering all of the talent I've heard this week. What a great way to start my morning!

This was such an amazing week. So glad to see all the judges so far highlighting the many talents of our community. This will be a tough one to pick the winners :) Great list @krystle @bonniepiesse and @honeymoon-1611 are truly gifted singers for sure.

The quality keep getting better each and every time! So many kickass musicians on Steemit ✨

Oh lovely krystle. I cannot put into words how happy you made me with your words countless times already. I can't quite figure what it is about my music that makes you write these things but I thank you honestly for all the tears of joy I cried because of you. I can feel you believe in me and that's what makes me believe in myself more. Your support is such a gift. Much love!!! ❣️

Vote exchange site https://mysteemup.club. Check apps (mysteemup.club) https://steemconnect.com/apps/

I think they are deserving, thanks for sharing their user name

I know it has to be getting really tough for the judges and I thought your list this week was so spot on. Thank you for your time and energy ;9)

Its so nice great post i like it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51