🎶 Open Mic Songwriters Week 2 - Theme: Lost and Found - My Top 5 Judges Selection 🎶

in #openmic7 years ago

Hey guys so sorry it's taken an extra day or so to get this one out this week, I am currently in the process of moving house, dealing with net issues and just general life - I hope things will get back on track when the move is done.

Now how is it only week two and we are being slammed with phenomenal quality entries?

Seriously people, the skill of some of you just simply blows me away - we are being thrown a massive amount of amazing high quality brilliant entries, these songs sound unbelieveable!

Some of the entries could literally be played on commercial radio, they literally appear and sound as if they are fully polished songs the entrants have been playing for years.

This week was insanely hard to choose, I have a feeling the competition is going to grow with each week as more and more - of these super talented musicians burst out with brilliant entries.

I can't wait to share my choices for this week, there really was some truly phenomenal entries and I just can't wait for everyone to hear them!

This week's top 5:

1st Place - @fitzgibbon - Lost and Found

Simply WOW, I'm not sure what to say here at first but that this song is amazing - your performance is brilliant and faultless, it is everything you want in a song!

So let's get down to the technical side of things, the lyric structure works so perfectly for this song - the chorus really brings the whole song together in just such a perfect and unique way.

The language used was complex enough to make the listener think of the songs meaning, most people could identify and relate to the sentiments expressed in this song - the songs chorus shapes the feel of the song, conveys the emotion intended in the lyrics and lets face it just bloody brilliant!

I absolutely love this song, on the first listen I could hear the promise of what was coming with the next moment of the song - you can feel the emotion not only in the lyric but in the melody chosen and how it was executed.

I love this song and found myself trying to sing along within the very first listen, you can't help but move to the music from the first notes - you both come together to so effortlessly, I have no idea how you did this in a week!

I am a big fan of not only this song, but also the two of you - you have both mastered your chosen instruments, vocals and guitar the performance was absolutely divine throughout.

I would have to admit my absolutely favorite part would have to be that chorus, the hook you have created is just that a hook and I can't get enough.

I have listened to this song at least 50 times, whilst trying to determine my top 5's but also while writing this review - I can't get enough of it and it never seems to fade with it's brilliance, each play is as enjoyable as the last.

A beautiful song with a beautiful sentiment that I think a lot of people will not only appreciate but share along with you, you make it all look so easy and effortless - but the skill in not only performing that song, but in creating it required me to place you first this week.

You covered the theme in a really unique and beautiful way, you took a theme I thought would be taken to a darker place and instead we ended up with light and beauty - the sweetness of finding that one person that understands you and in a sense makes you feel more complete with them by your side.

This song is just so fricken good, I feel as though I could ramble on about it for ages - but what I really want to do is give it another listen and sing along with those phenomenal vocals!

I think I special mentioned you last week, but this week you guys stepped it up big time - and what's even better you absolutely killed it, you owned that song in the most amazing way.

I am so glad we received your entry this week, besides truly enjoying it - you have showed the entrants that not only is this challenge still wide open, but that you two are major contenders overall!

Keep this amazing song writing up, if for no other reason than you have a fan that wants to hear more of this gold - or if you want to keep this challenge just that, a real challenge for entrants to win.


2nd Place - @lucybanks - Lost and Found

The first notes you play on the guitar set the tone and feel of the song perfectly, then your hauntingly beautiful vocals kick in - and again I find myself wondering how does she do it?

Your skills as a songwriter were already impressive, now with weekly themes you are stepping up and hitting it out of the park with a single swing - these songs are structured and arranged to perfection.

Again the language used is not only complex in nature, but only added to grow and influence the story you're telling - I like songs with a darker theme and I too tend to go there with all of my writing, I think it shows your ability to tap into emotions we all experience.

The theme is present in the most beautiful way, showing the journey to find a sense of self - learning who you are and what you believe and feel, it was very moving to say the least.

Your guitar playing is sublime, again a subtle addition to a perfectly balanced song - the music is there to highlight the lyrics and set the mood.

Now for my favorite aspect of most of your entries.. your vocals, I just can't express enough how much I love not only the tone and texture of your voice - but it's how you choose to use it, the emotion, the way you use deeper notes countered with higher ones to create a masterpiece!

You are a truly gifted musician, a brilliant songwriter and I just can't get enough, your entries are amazing and considering you had a week it's insane these songs sound radio ready!

I really can't wait to hear what you have for us next week, keep up the amazing entries - by the end of this challenge you're going to have even more amazing songs to add to your catalogue of originals.


3rd Place - @luisferchav - Lost and found

From the first strum of the guitar a knew this was going to be something I would love, the guitar continues then the vocals drop in to simply amaze!

When you hit the chorus I was a little shocked I didn't expect the tone down, but man did I love it - there's a harmonic minor nature to the tone of your voice threaded throughout the song.

This week's theme is clearly influenced throughout the lyric, the language is complex and aides to further the story perfectly.

I absolutely loved the music you've composed here, it's subtle and only enhances the song and vocals - rather than overwhelming the listener, with too much noise to focus on the subtle complexities.

I absolutely love your vocal choices throughout this song, your high notes are amazing - the overall vocal choices create a beautiful haunting sad tone for the song, that just made me feel.

A truly great entry, I can't wait to hear more from you for this challenge!


4th Place - @chaifm - Lost and found

A beautiful entry with a unique and creative sound, the take on this week's theme was beautiful and the results were amazing.

You're chosen structure works perfectly, soft subtle guitar accompanied by emotion filled lyrics - the melody suites not only the song style, but your vocal features with precision.

The language used tells the listener a story, but the texture and tone of your voice couple it amazingly - I love your voice and the choices you have made with this entry.

The guitar creates a sadness and sets the tone, your vocals and specifically the melody - show the hope shining through, even with the sadder tone there is an element of hope.

I really love this entry and I'm so sorry you missed the first week of the challenge, I would have loved to hear what you would have created for us!


5th Place - @melavie - Lost and Found

The guitar takes the back seat and vocals are the focus and I just love it, you have an amazing voice and the lyric coupled with the melody rely on that over the guitar accompaniment.

The lyric and the melody are the focus and work so well together, you have created a truly beautiful song - which perfectly encapsulates this week's theme.

Your skill in songwriting is clear and the emotion you draw into your music speaks to people listening, they can feel what you feel - that's an amazing gift you've got there.

This entry is really brilliant and I really enjoyed it so much, I can't wait to hear what you will create for us next week!


Honourable Mentions:

@senzenfrenz - Lost and found


This week was amazing, as you just heard - I am simply gobsmacked at the level of work we are seeing and hearing, you should all be stoked with your effort I know we are!

I can't wait to hear what you all give us next week, keep at it I know it can be stressful at times with a deadline - but just look at the brilliance we are getting, you guys can clearly do this.

I would like to thank @meno for having this brilliant idea, bringing the team together and of course providing this amazing prize - mate your an absolute legend and a brilliant musician, love what you do.

As well of course the amazing OG of Open Mic @luzcypher without you none of this would be possible, so thanks for all you do.

And to my fellow judge @passion-ground, you have a great energy and bring so much to round out our little group - keep doing what you're doing man.

On that note I will leave you for now, so until next week guys have a good one.

Which was your favourite entry this week?

Like what you've read so far?
Check out my story

or follow me on twitter @krystlehaines
Please consider voting @ausbitbank for witness here

Sort:  

This is but one of many Top-5 lists put forth by you, Krystle - but it exemplifies so perfectly just how much you care, and just how much this music means to you – and by extension – what it means to all of us.

What outstanding picks, mentions, and most importantly, “words.” Your words express so much, and you most certainly have another fine talent in your ability to engagingly convey your thoughts and emotions so effectively through your written words. You never cease to amaze me @krystle

Humbled by your kind words here. That's a bit overwhelming. Such a pity my little sis just couldn't find the time this week (I did prepare the lyrics for a new song about always being welcome home), so for entry #3 I did something completely different with the wife and kids.

I forwarded all your kinds words to my sis, tho. Let's hope we manage this time!

thank you krystle :)

wow great mam @krystle., they deserved it I know its not easy to choose top 5 for me they're all good except me.,hehehe but thank you so much for the mention. God Bless You.

قم بمتابعة افضل صفحه (عربيه اخبار) عرب وهذا يشجعنا لتقديم الافضل Follow the best Arab (Arab news) page and this…

Thanks a lot for your words! I Love this challenge!

Thank you so much @krystle!!!
This makes me really happy, whenever someone enjoys a song of mine
there's no feeling like it, and you kind words let me know it connected, which is pretty much the reason I make music.

I hope you like my next entry as well, It's gonna be a little different.

:D

I'm really grateful you and the other judges post your top 5's - I've been away for a few weeks and it's nice to have the highlights of what I missed so easily accessible. Major shout out to @fitzgibbon for that KILLER song. That belongs on a major record.

Also, I clicked 'check out my story' expecting it to be some back story about who you are - nope! I love a good fantasy story now and then so you better believe I'm gonna read a few chapters next time I have some free time :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58617.29
ETH 3164.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44