OpenMic Songwriters Challenge Week 2 - Lost and Found

in #openmic7 years ago

Hey guys,

I've just finished recording my track for the second week of the Songwriters Challenge and I have to say, I found it a little harder this week.

For some reason, I find it really quite easy to write dark songs (I must be a fairly morbid person) however, this time I've tried to be little more optimistic and turn my lyrics into something nice.

My song is about how I felt lost before I gained confidence in my singing. It took years and years before I felt able to put a song out there for people around me to see. I still find it hard and have only ever shared a song on facebook once, but the more support I've been getting, especially from Steemit, the easier it has been to keep pushing myself. And that is where Lost and Found comes in to play.

For many years, I’d been wandering
Round somewhere I thought I’d been
And all I’d see were the same old scary faces
There was no set path for me to take
A million miles for me to make
And I’d still end up in the never ending places

But I tried to stay clear
Despite my growing fear
And I held myself so strong
The dark starts to disappear
And my voice is what you hear
As I push the tune I had all along

Stepping up to the challenge is brave
And I listened to advice they gave
And now I’m ready to find myself once again
Now I see a better version of me
Someone I always wanted to be
And I love to feel myself grow from way back then

Now I stear clear
And have no growing fear
And always hold myself so strong
The dark has disappeared
And my voice is all you hear
As I can happily sing you my song

Lost and found
A feeling I no longer surround
Lost and found
And finally hear my sound

I always stay clear
And I have no more fear
I’ve never been a person so strong
The light is all I see
It is all I want to be
And now I’ve found where I belong

I hope you all enjoy and I look forward to listening to everyone else's entries!

X

Sort:  

I love this song, and the bittersweet feeling it has. Your voice is so good.
I found it hard this week too, also because I wanted to do something different.

Thank you @geenaizzy! I'm off to go find what you've done so I'll leave you a comment once I've listened! It was hard but we do need a challenge every now and then to test us!

Amazing!! bravo! i loved it! ♥

i found it harder too this week haha!
You find it easier to write darker songs because darker feelings are what inspire you and what moves you the most. I think i know that because it is the same way for me.

i am better now at writing happy songs, however there was a time where i would only be able to write about the bad stuff. But it is only why because i get much more affected by those type of feelings, and also , i guess i am some sort of a gloomy soul haha.

I could listen to your voice all day!

Ah that's lovely @tarotbyfergus!
Thank you!

beautiful, that is funny I also do not really like to share my songs on facebook, why do we feel like that?

Haha I don't know. I'm okay with random people around the world listening but just can't send it out to all my facebook friends!

Excellent work @lucybanks

Quite nice, Lucy!

Facebook doesn't deserve your songs. :)

ahhh thank you @chrisroberts! Haha

cool song and great performance :) you have such a great voice. And it's original! Definitely a lot of potential - keep them coming :)

Thank you very much @raci, that means a lot to me!

Sweet and nice song, congrats!

Very nice! I like your voice, and the song is expressive and well written.

Thank you very much @amberyooper!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43