🎵 Steemit Open Mic Songwriters Challenge Week 2 - “Lost Until I Found you” (Original Song)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago

A song about being somebody to someone.

“Lost Until I Found You”

The Story

This is my second entry in the Steemit Open Mic Songwriters Challenge. This week's theme is "Lost and Found". As always, I thought of my family first as I worked on the song. I imagined what life was like before I found my family, before the kids arrived, before I met my wife... I remember the loneliness. I was a solitary person then, and even in my relationships I approached most connections with one foot in and one foot out. That all changed when I started to make space in my life for a family, and when it arrived I jumped in with both feet!

Lucky me–my life partner came to me with a 1-year-old, so we were a family right from the start! And now we're a family of five. They've given me the feeling of being home. And because I feel at home with them, I recognize how nomadic I truly was before them. Both literally and figuratively, I was bouncing from place to place, job to job, person to person. I think a lot of young men can relate with this, and maybe it's written in our DNA. Maybe it's the way the stars aligned us. Maybe it's a Scorpio thing. Or maybe I'm universalizing my own unique experience. In any case, I'm happy to be on the flip-side of this phenomenon now, landing in a place with the people I call "home."

I chose to record this song in the kids' bedroom, because of all the family photos on the wall. These images are some of my most cherished belongings, because of the memories they stir up. There's the story of a Christmas portrait when my dad set the camera on a timer and then tripped as he raced across the living room, and we waited and waited for the camera to snap its picture while I laughed on full blast! There's a picture of a camping trip with my mom, when I was a baby. There's a picture of my niece, and another one of my brother and his wife. Many more of my loved ones belong on this wall. Fortunately, I know a camera guy! ;)


The Lyrics

My heart remembers a winter when
I was colder than the snowmen
And the clouds refused to let the sun shine
Shadows dominated my mind

I was lost until I found you
I was a nomad without a home
Lost until I found you
I was a nobody with no one

My heart remembers a summer when
I was wilder than a forest fire
And the smoke refused to let the sun shine
Ashes dominated my mind

I was lost until I found you...

My heart remembers another sky
I was floating in the clouds featherlight
Drifting like a kite without a string
When I met you in the heights drifting with me

I was lost until I found you
I was a nomad without a home
Maybe I’m still lost but I found you
Now I’m somebody with someone


The Songwriters Challenge

As I've already mentioned, this song is prompted by the Steemit Open Mic Songwriters Challenge, co-created by @meno and @luzcypher. This challenge began last week, and I submitted a solid first song, in my opinion, called "Broken Mirror," and I even managed to recruit my wife to sing the chorus lines with me. I stand by this work as a very strong original song. I'm grateful for the invitation to create it, and the platform to share it, and the audience to hear it.

Gratefully,

@cabelindsay

Sort:  

Love it. Gave me some feels and was inspiring too. :) Thanks for sharing!

Rock on. Thank you so much for encouraging me through your commenting, upvoting, and resteeming!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Dear @qurator and @qustodian, is there a way for me to temporarily disable this bot? Thank you in advance for your support.

Easy upvote! Great job @cabelindsay- also digging the guitar-rambo bandanna!

Yep, warrior right here, armed with an axe (the classical kind). In addition to the Rambo bandanna, I also sport a proper Rambo knife, but only when I'm carving buffalo skulls (true story). Thank you!

Haha! well ok then! Noted!

:) Yeah, it's a strange share, I realize. I inherited the knife. It's the kind of knife you might find in a Crocodile Dundee movie. And the buffalo skulls mission was related to the Sun Dance ceremony, and so it was an appropriately wild experience.

ooh one of those "that's not a knife THIS is a knife", knives! Got it ;)

Great entry, Cabe! I am especially touched by your post explaining the inspiration from which you drew upon to create this entry for round-2. The children's happy voices at the end summed it all up quite nicely! Much love, brother!

Thank you brother. Such a pleasure being here, singing. Yeah, this round was funny because my kids were rowdy in the other room (which is fine), but then my wife came home and started banging and clanging stuff around. So I had to say "That's a wrap!" on take #10ish, and I might've needed an extra couple of takes to get it all ironed out, but it still felt good.

It felt so good to me too, man! Loved it!

I really appreciate it. And thank you for calling me "brother." That means a lot to me. I'm grateful to be in brotherhood with you, you know.

Means a lot to me too, Cabe... I feel you, man!

I love the positivity in your songs. You seem to be right where you want to be, and it's inspiring to those of us still searching.

Thank you for seeing that positivity in me–it's a practice for me. I do feel lucky to have found someone to journey with through life, after a long time searching for who I am and what kind of person I wanted to draw in. I do have waves of worries, for sure, and plenty of useless thoughts to wrangle out, and I can accept that for now. I'm glad to hear from you, my friend, and I trust you'll find what you're looking for.

You know what? There was something that helped me along the way that might be valuable for you. Someone inspired me by telling a story of the way he cleared out a dresser on the other side of the bed, for a future partner, and he set out an extra plate, and he made space for what he wanted. At one point, when I felt ready to attract the "home" and "family" I desired, I started creating space for it. And then some divine intervention took place that brought the people to fill the space.

Hugs and high-fives to you and whatever it is you're drawing in right this moment, like a magnet!

I love the flow of your song sir.,

Thank you, my friend. Feeling good about this one.

I feel like Im really starting to build a picture of you and how your life has been from your music posts. Its a cool way to get to know someone! Great job on this song x and big love to you and your family x :D

Thanks brother! Yeah, it's true - so much is revealed about a person through his/her songs and stories. I'm grateful to have a fair idea of who you are too, my friend, and I look forward to knowing more.

Catchy tune, I like it!! Steem on!!

Thank you, brother. Cheers to you and your #gratefulvibes!

This is great! Love the song, the lyrics and especially the inspiration behind it :)

Thank you very much. Hope you have a great day. And I'll look forward to more of your tunes!

Wow! Would you consider making some guitar playing tutorials on your blog? Your strumming and picking is mind-blowing!

Hey, thanks! I'm happy to share yeah. I'll work on that. I appreciate your idea and encouragement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45