OpenMic songwriters Challenge week 2 - 'Lost and Waiting'steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Its SNOWING in Norfolk! and Ive written a new song for this amazing songwriters competition by @luzcypher and @meno! Check out last weeks entries if you havn't already because the response was awesome!

This weeks theme was 'Lost and found'
Check it out, I hope you enjoy it!

So I didn't realise you could EDIT posts! Thank goodness for that. Now I've put the proper tags in and I can give you the lyrics to the song:

LYRICS:

(CH)
I am lost, lost, floating aimlessly around
Im lost and waiting to be found

(v1)
When I put my foot where the floor should be
Theres nothing ever there but the deep blue sea
My toes keep dreaming of the ground
Im lost and waiting to be found

(v2)
Somedays I think that I'll be saved
Carried home on a giant wave
But all they do is drag me down
Im lost and waiting to be found

(v3)
I met some other guy like me
He said if you're lost then you must be free
Right after that he went and drowned
Im lost and waiting to be found

(v4)
When I was young I used to tell
The bell boy not to ring his bell
Now how Id love to hear that sound
Im lost and waiting to be found

(v5)
I remember feeling scared
That One day I'd get trapped somewhere
What I'd give to have that now
Im lost and waiting to be found

Thanks for your support everyone! You're all amazing :D
x Basil

Sort:  

Haha, Beautifully done B.

This one has a more serious undertone, I still can't help but chuckle a bit through out bc of your natural hilariousness. Some of your musical choices get me smiling.

Overall well written tho! Good lyrics and the vocal work, actually seems pretty tough to pull off a the register switches.

thankyou JB! Im glad its still making you chuckle ;) I was quite pleased with the switches although I ALWAYS wish I had better natural pitch when Im trying to hit stuff like that. Still, it felt a hell of a lot easier than the broken mirror one, that was a nightmare! x

Broken mirror was just the harder theme imo too!

100% upvoted, too bad I don't have more SP.. keep rockin Basil!

This is great!
As a single person over 40, this very much resonates...
Your voice and the piano are so good together!

haha well, you did do a different post for it.. so . yeah... never mind.

you are awesome! upvoted you on this one too! you so deserve it (i have low voting power, sorry, but once i get it back up i will upvote you 100% , which is like.. 1 cent lol)

ahh! thanks soykat! Its your support that counts, not your cold hard steemcoinz! :) I will come and check out your entry at some point over the weekend when I get some tie to properly scroll through and see everybody! :) x

haha ok , awesome!

i do that too.. i can't possibly catch up with everybody everyday.. so what i do is a take like an hour or two whenever i get the chance to and start checking what al my steemit friends did .

Steem on!

Another good song for the writer's challenge!

AAARGGHHH!!! thats SO annoying, I just posted it without finishing! I didn't even do my tags yet.... OH :(

but you can still post them dude... can't you?

Basil... fantastic as always... btw you need to come join me on discord, im working on a new radio show, and you have to be one of my guests, or i will send ninjas to take you down. <3

haha. For sure dude! Please don't send the ninja's again! Im still recovering from the last time.... ;P

Followed the breadcrumbs from @tarotbyfergus post to your song. Lovely! Since I can no longer upvote this post I will do so on your latest one :)

thankyou so much! those breadcrumbs must have been pretty stale by the time you got back here.....Im surprised nothing had eaten them already! I hope you can find your way back out of the maze :) x

Stale breadcrumbs make good croutons :) Lovely eve to you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55041.56
ETH 2459.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18