Steemit Open Mic Week 62 - Lost and Found (Original Song)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

I was a little distracted from steeming by my round birthday last weekend. Which I celebrated with a lot of friends and family and music and laughter.
It was a night full of gratefulness for all the beautiful people who share the way with me.

IMG_5208.JPG

IMG_5252.JPG

When I saw the topic of the Songwriters challenge for the last week was "lost and found" I smiled because I already had written a song with that exact name last year. It was about polarities and how to find myself while I am torn between the poles of life. I wasn't entirely finished, so I rewrote a few sentences and put in a new refrain. But when it was done I somehow felt like I was cheating, just because more than half of the song was already there before we got the challenge.

So I started to write a new one. And I noticed that my association with the topic had suddenly changed. It became a story about love and how we always look for someone to complete ourselves. Usually my songs sometimes change over time until I'm satisfied with it and share it. This one is raw and I would actually not consider it finished by now. Also I was quite sick and my voice was not really intact. But I take this as an challenge for myself to step out of my comfort zone.

He met her at the lost and found
he was looking
for something he once believed in
She cleared her throught
he turned around
She told him
I got some faith I have been keeping
and I'd share with you my all
if you help me find my soul

He taught her how to sing out loud
and she began to see the meaning
While he was drowning in his doubts
she held him tight while he was weeping
He found new reason to believe
In the way she brought him peace

They made a vow
to trade safe ground for the clouds
and to never return
to lost and found

As soon as summer slipped away
he felt a part of him was fading
The longing for a brighter day
they covered underneath the waiting
for that secret hidden piece
so they would finally feel complete

And just when winter came along
it dawned on them they've been mistaken
in spring they dreamt of summer songs
until the fallen leafs did take them
and they had to realize
the source of emptiness inside

They broke their vow
when they finally hit the ground
and they got up
to return
to lost and found

~

Whats there left to say...
Thank you Steemians for sharing a part of my creative journey with me & for listening and appreciating! What a great community to be a part of!

<3

Sort:  

love that guitar case. so much life. great piece my friend

Yeah I love it too! What a great present. Thank you for listening and your words.

I got your entry in the main post. Beautiful performance once again. I think you really touched my soul just now, deeply. Thanks and praises.

Thanks and praises to you too luzypher. I'm happy our souls had a meeting.

This is stunningly beautiful, Melavie! The story of how it morphed and came to be is equally compelling. I loved it!

Thank you! I also think the process of how these songs come to life is a mysterious but also wondrous and magical thing.

this is so beautiful @melavie ... it tugs at the heart!

Thank you @meno for all the songs coming out of your challenge. You provided a great reason to keep writing just because I wanted to know if I can. I'm very grateful for that experience.

Upvoted and Resteemed by @music-trail
Join us in the steemtrail chat channel
Click here for Music-Trail guidelines

Your voice is incredible, and these lyrics are highly underrated. Hope to see you gain much more exposure on here. I want this song!!

Thanks a lot. Really happy to hear that! I wanna do some better recordings after my winter break this year.

Ya really well written tune here. Glad that you took the challenge to heart and wrote anew! props for that one ;)

I know all about the voice not being intact lol you still sounded great IMO

Yeah I'm glad too. This song was so easily written it seemed like it wanted to come to life. Thanks a lot for the appreciation! :)

Melanie, Alles gute nochmals

Danke dir!

Congratulations @melavie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05