New Books Tuesday: June 19

in #news6 years ago

Many people know that Wednesday is New Comics day. Somewhat less known is the fact that Tuesday, in the US, is New Books day.


Weekly disclaimer: This weekly post highlights some of the books being published on any given week, usually in the science fiction and fantasy genres, both YA and books for adults. I am VERY likely to miss cool new books, so please feel free to tell me about them in the comments. Sometimes these will be books I've read a pre-publishing copy of, but most of the time, they will not. These are books I find notable, but I certainly don't read fast enough in English to be able to read all the cool books that come out every week.

This week has one big debut, and some more books of interest. Let's have a look!


Witchmark by C.L. Polk

I've been hearing amazing things about this debut novel since last year, but haven't had a chance to read it. Now that it's finally out, I plan to remedy that soon. It takes place in a world similar to our own in Edwardian England, but with a lot more magic. It is a story about life after a war, about a man who fled his family. It is also, I am told, delightfully queer.


The Skaar Invasion by Terry Brooks

I care neither for nor about Terry Brooks' Shannara series, but I know many do. So, for those who do, here you go, it's the second book in the current series.


The Grey Bastards by Jonathan French

It's evil orcs vs. somewhat less evil half-orcs... I guess? It looks super grimdark.


The Reign of the Departed by Greg Keyes

So this book looks super weird, which I appreciate. A teen's "cry for help" suicide attempt succeeds more than planned, and then he wakes up as a wood and metal being powered by magic? I dunno, friends.


The Robots of Gotham by Todd McAulty

This is, almost sadly, not about Batman fighting robots. It's about a future where much of the US has been conquered by fascist machines, and one Canadian may save it.


Tell the Machine Goodnight by Katie Williams

This is an interesting looking novel that seems to kinda be science fiction-y? It's a story about a mother who works as a "happiness technician," and her less than happy son.


Finally, I'll add one book that I fervently hope is neither science fiction nor fantasy.

Yes We (Still) Can by Dan Pfeiffer

Regular readers will know that I am a fan of Crooked Media's podcasts, and Pfeiffer was of foundational importance in creating that network. He was also a senior adviser to President Obama for most of his time in office, and has an intimate understanding of US and world politics. This book is about what happened in 2016, and how America can move forward.

What are you looking forward to reading?

Related posts:

New Books Tuesday: June 12
New Books Tuesday: June 5
New Books Tuesday: May 29
New Books Tuesday: May 22
New Books Tuesday: May 15
New Books Tuesday: May 8
New Books Tuesday: April 24
New Books Tuesday: April 17
New Books Tuesday: April 10
New Books Tuesday: April 3
New Books Tuesday: March 27
New Books Tuesday: March 20
New Books Tuesday: March 13
New Books Tuesday: March 6
New Books Tuesday: Feb 27
New Books Tuesday: Feb 20
No New Books Tuesday. Gonna Talk Harassment Instead
New Books Tuesday

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

steemsig.jpg

Sort:  

Wow – I must get my hands on Yes We (Still) Can. Sounds like a fascinating read!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61146.27
ETH 2924.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58