New Books Tuesday: Feb 27

in #books6 years ago (edited)

Many people know that Wednesday is New Comics day. Somewhat less known is the fact that Tuesday, in the US, is New Books day.

newbooks

Weekly disclaimer: This weekly post highlights some of the books being published on any given week, usually in the science fiction and fantasy genres, both YA and books for adults. I am VERY likely to miss cool new books, so please feel free to tell me about them in the comments. Sometimes these will be books I've read a pre-publishing copy of, but most of the time, they will not. These are books I find notable, but I certainly don't read fast enough in English to be able to read all the cool books that come out every week.

Tess of the Road by Rachel Hartman
tess.png

Set in the same world as her breakout Seraphina novels and stories, this is a new story for Hartman, the story of a young woman who leaves the hidebound kingdom she was raised in, pretending to be a boy, and partnering up with a dragon. This YA novel sounds like a delight, and I am definitely here for it.

The Tangled Lands by Paolo Bacigalupi & Tobias Buckell
tangles.png

This book collects esteemed authors Bacigalupi and Buckell's stories set in a city whose magic has been poisoned and can no longer be used safely, where the people rise up against corruption and pollution. This is a highly relevant and timely work by two excellent authors.

The Serpent’s Secret by Sayantani Dasgupta
serpent.png

This is the first novel in new YA series "Kiranmala and the Kingdom Beyond," and it seems delightful. 12 year old Kiranmala is a young Desi American in New Jersey who is drawn into a world of inter-dimensional demon fighting. And if that sounds awesome to you, I agree.

The Traitor’s Game by Jennifer A. Nielsen
traitorsgame.png

This is a big, highly promoted debut of a new YA series about a young noble, returning from exile, who is kidnapped by a group of rebels who want to use her for their purposes. This looks like a fun adventure, with some romance with one of the rebels.

What new book are you excited to pick up and read?


Related posts:
New Books Tuesday: Feb 20
No New Books Tuesday. Gonna Talk Harassment Instead
New Books Tuesday

steemsig.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you for your post. :) I have voted for you: 🎁! To call me just write @contentvoter in a comment.

More books! I need a long plane ride to read a bunch. :)

Is that likely to happen soon?

yup - going to Japan!

Ah I really need some new authors to read. My bookshelf is pretty predicatable...Koontz, King, herbert etc... I think I will try one of these! Thank you :)

Or look at the post for my latest contest and pick one of those and possibly get some sweet, sweet SBD!

oooo sounds interesting! I am heading there right now!

Nielsen! I liked her Ascendance Trilogy, I'd definitely take a look at her new book :) The others also look like intersting reads.
Thanks for featuring these new books! More books to read, the merrier.

It's a good batch this week.

Still knee-deep in All the Birds in the Sky but Tess of the Road gives me the chills! I may pick that one up soon.

You have totally pulled me out of a multi-year reading trend of only classics and historical fiction works. I'm getting back to my YA and fantasy roots with your recommendations. 🤓

I'm so glad to hear that! Both that you're reading AtBitS and that you're coming back to read genre books!

Although I am still stuck in House of Leaves... once I finish that, I can truly move on. 😂 Apparently, I'm also still stuck as Ladies of Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64189.84
ETH 2796.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65