New Books Tuesday: April 24

in #news6 years ago

Many people know that Wednesday is New Comics day. Somewhat less known is the fact that Tuesday, in the US, is New Books day.



Weekly disclaimer: This weekly post highlights some of the books being published on any given week, usually in the science fiction and fantasy genres, both YA and books for adults. I am VERY likely to miss cool new books, so please feel free to tell me about them in the comments. Sometimes these will be books I've read a pre-publishing copy of, but most of the time, they will not. These are books I find notable, but I certainly don't read fast enough in English to be able to read all the cool books that come out every week.

After a couple of huge weeks of releases, the last Tuesday release day of April is considerably more sedate. Only 4 releases for my list, and one of those - the last one, natch - is actually coming out next Monday.

Time Was by Ian McDonald


Ian McDonald is a highly respect sf author whose work I never really got into for some reason. But this novella, about two men who fall in love during World War 2 and are cast adrift in time, looking for each other, after an experiment gone wrong, is certainly intriguing!

Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian


This is a debut epic YA fantasy with the smart princess of a conquered land and her war against the evil Kaiser who conquered it. The reviews make it seem somewhat unoriginal, but well executed. So I'd say this was for fans of the genre.


The Fandom by Anna Day


A group of cosplayer at comicon fall into the world of their favorite creation and must fix what's wrong with it so the plot can get back on course. This sounds like it's either super fun or super bad, and the reviews seem mixed.

I Met a Traveller in an Antique Land by Connie Willis


This Connie Willis novella, originally published in Asimov's Science Fiction magazine is an Ozymandias retelling with a blogger who accidentally finds the place where last copies of books are kept. The reviews of this one aren't enthused.

What are you looking forward to reading?

Related posts:

New Books Tuesday: April 17
New Books Tuesday: April 10
New Books Tuesday: April 3
New Books Tuesday: March 27
New Books Tuesday: March 20
New Books Tuesday: March 13
New Books Tuesday: March 6
New Books Tuesday: Feb 27
New Books Tuesday: Feb 20
No New Books Tuesday. Gonna Talk Harassment Instead
New Books Tuesday

steemsig.jpg

Sort:  

These are my favourite genres =) .. Though at the moment I'm going through a classics phase. Reading David Copperfield at the moment and loving it.

The book that most catches my eye here is the last one... Time travel can be either really bad or really good. The only time-travel book I've really loved was The Time Traveller's Wife. She somehow made the time-travel make sense! Closed loops! ;)

Time Was sounds really interesting! I don't have as much time to read as I would like to these days... 😕 I must add it to the list of stuff I will read when I have more time.

Awesome post, Time Was sounds interesting! I love the scifi theme to this...it’s the only section I really browse when I’m at the bookstore if I’m being honest, so this is a perfect series for me.

Well, I'm always the sff guy. It's one of my things! :)

@didic You have received a random upvote from @looktothefuture because this post did not use any bidbots.

If you use the the #nobidbot tag as one of your five tags on future posts, you may be selected for a random upvote from @transparencybot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63764.77
ETH 3430.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53