New Books Tuesday: March 13

in #books6 years ago

Many people know that Wednesday is New Comics day. Somewhat less known is the fact that Tuesday, in the US, is New Books day.


Weekly disclaimer: This weekly post highlights some of the books being published on any given week, usually in the science fiction and fantasy genres, both YA and books for adults. I am VERY likely to miss cool new books, so please feel free to tell me about them in the comments. Sometimes these will be books I've read a pre-publishing copy of, but most of the time, they will not. These are books I find notable, but I certainly don't read fast enough in English to be able to read all the cool books that come out every week.

This week doesn't have the volume of last week's list, but what it lacks in quantity, it more than makes up for in quality. I am very much here for all three of these books. Also, I'm gonna put this disclaimer here: The first two of these authors are friends of mine. The third has responded to me on twitter a couple of times. My admiration for their writing is entirely unrelated.

Impostor Syndrome by Mishell Baker

This is the third and final novel in the trilogy that began with Baker's debut, Borderline. Borderline in one of my absolute favorite books of this decade, and while book 2, Phantom Pains, started out a bit slow, it sure picked up the pace in the second half. Events of the second book have set this one up to be a bigger story in scope, which I am very curious about. The audio edition of this one is waiting for me, and will be the next book I read.

Gods, Monsters, and the Lucky Peach by Kelly Robson

Kelly continues the genre hopping that has been the hallmark of her young career, with a novella of time travel and and environmentalism that takes place in our future is racking up some nice reviews. Since bursting on the scene a few years ago, Robson's stories have been alternately funny, moving, scary, and always beautifully written and thought provoking.

The Merry Spinster: Tales of Everyday Horror by Mallory Ortberg

If you were a reader of the Ortberg co-founded website The Toast, chances are that you, like me, have been waiting for this book for some time. If not, well, I was going to link to one of Ortberg's best pieces in it, but the site is password protected for some reason, so whatever. This is a collection of dark fairy tale retellings. Which, yes, there's a lot of that. But this is the only one written by Ortberg, one of the smartest and funniest writers around.

What are you looking forward to reading?

Sort:  

I don't know if I can read this each week - my list of must read books will be too long! And one of these is a series?!? Thanks for the ideas :-)

You read books in English faster than I do.

I don't know when I'll actually read any of these, except for Impostor Syndrome, which I'll start today.

Impostor Syndrome looks fabulous! Thank you for such a wonderful recommendation list :D

I love this series with my whole entire heart.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64097.37
ETH 3476.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53