New Books Tuesday: March 6

in #books6 years ago

Many people know that Wednesday is New Comics day. Somewhat less known is the fact that Tuesday, in the US, is New Books day.

newbooks

Weekly disclaimer: This weekly post highlights some of the books being published on any given week, usually in the science fiction and fantasy genres, both YA and books for adults. I am VERY likely to miss cool new books, so please feel free to tell me about them in the comments. Sometimes these will be books I've read a pre-publishing copy of, but most of the time, they will not. These are books I find notable, but I certainly don't read fast enough in English to be able to read all the cool books that come out every week.

This is a big week for new books. I've had to whittle down the list to get it down to five, when many weeks I can't find five books to get excited about.

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

Debut author Adeyemi's novel is the first in a series, and probably the biggest and most hyped release of the week. As someone steeped in book twitter, and excitement for this one has palpable for months. This is a West African inspired YA epic fantasy that has garnered great reviews. It has been called dark, political, and relevant. And it is certainly on my to be read list. Plus, look at that cover! It is stunning!

Tricks for Free by Seanan McGuire

I have been looking forward to this one. This is the newest novel in the InCryptid series, and the second one about the youngest - and possibly most dangerous - of the three Price siblings, Antimony. The last book, Magic for Nothing, ended with Annie in quite a difficult situation, and this one is meant to resolve it. Circus, fantasy, monsters - human and otherwise - are all expected to play a part. My copy is in my audible app. Yay!

Good Guys by Steven Brust

I have... complicated feelings about Steve Brust. He's been a friend to me, but we have some fundamentals differences in views and opinion. But a new Brust book is always something I'm here for. This appears to be a standalone urban fantasy superhero novel, and would have sounded fun even in the hands of a less skilled author.

Blood of the Four by Christopher Golden and Tim Lebbon

This is a well reviewed standalone epic fantasy that is marketed to "fans of N.K. Jemisin and Brandon Sanderson." And that's... odd. Because apart from both writing fantasy with an epic scope, Jemisin and Sanderson are very different writers. Still, this looks intriguing.

The Hunger by Alma Katsu

This novel, a supernatural reimagining of the story of the Donner Party, one of the most infamous cannibalism incidents in history, is probably too scary for me. But for fans of the creepy, it definitely seems like something that could appeal.

What new book are you excited to pick up and read?


Related posts:
New Books Tuesday: Feb 27
New Books Tuesday: Feb 20
No New Books Tuesday. Gonna Talk Harassment Instead
New Books Tuesday

steemsig.jpg

Sort:  

Heyyooi meant to tell you about @sdkelly of whom is new and interested in writing about books creating community with them!

Interesting! Although, if I were to invest time in creating a books related thing on here, it would probably be science fiction and fantasy specific. I know my niche!

I told her that. She is interested in a lot of stuff! She also does music. Just wanted to make the connection.

Awesome. Thanks!

I'm still waiting for the final book in the Kingkiller Chronicle, hope it's coming soon. Would like to get my hands on Children of Blood and Bone, it sounds really good.

I'm also keen to read it!

I'm American and read voraciously, and had no idea Tuesday is New Books Day until I saw your post.

I work in publishing, and follow many, many authors and other publishing folks on twitter. It's hard to miss it when you're in it, but it's not branded like Wednesday is for comics.

I dream of a world where we go to book stores the same way we go to bars.
"Hey baby, can I buy you a best-seller?" LOL

319121_206560972744563_26516422_n.jpg

I am going to have to check out The Hunger. I've always been morbidly fascinated by The Donner Party.

Is there any other way to be fascinated by the Donner Party? :)

I could just not be fascinated at all, lol.

I did not know Wednesday, New Comics Day. Which you know through your post. I love to read stories. You gave the list of five books. Hopefully the books will be very good.

Awesome post. I love this idea for a weekly new books post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63764.77
ETH 3430.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53