New Books Tuesday: March 20

in #books6 years ago

Many people know that Wednesday is New Comics day. Somewhat less known is the fact that Tuesday, in the US, is New Books day.


Weekly disclaimer: This weekly post highlights some of the books being published on any given week, usually in the science fiction and fantasy genres, both YA and books for adults. I am VERY likely to miss cool new books, so please feel free to tell me about them in the comments. Sometimes these will be books I've read a pre-publishing copy of, but most of the time, they will not. These are books I find notable, but I certainly don't read fast enough in English to be able to read all the cool books that come out every week.

One novella, one novel, two anthologies, and lots of awesome in this week's New Books Tuesday. Let's do this!

Stone Mad: A Karen Memory Adventure by Elizabeth Bear

Karen Memory was one of my favorite novels of 2015, a weird west novel with murder and mystery and a wonderful protagonist. So the idea of a novella sequel is one that makes me super happy. I'll be reading this one real real soon.

Relics: The Folded Land by Tim Lebbon

I have read and liked some of Lebbon's short fiction, and this urban fantasy thriller seems very fun. And, yes, this is his second novel out this month. Dude is not a slacker.

The Devil and the Deep edited by Ellen Datlow

This anthology of aquatic horror is probably too scary for me, but hopefully I'll get a chance to read at least the Seanan McGuire and Alyssa Wong stories at some point. A case can definitely be made that Ellen Datlow is the most important short fiction editor of fantasy and horror in the last 35 years, so I'm always curious about whatever project she does.

The Best Science Fiction & Fantasy of the Year Volume 12

Until I edit my own, no Best Of anthology is ever going to hit my own taste 100 percent of the time. but the ToC for this one, edited by Jonathan Strahan, features some wonderful stories, including some you may remember from my Hugo Award ballot.

What are you looking forward to reading?

Related posts:

New Books Tuesday: March 6
New Books Tuesday: Feb 27
New Books Tuesday: Feb 20
No New Books Tuesday. Gonna Talk Harassment Instead
New Books Tuesday
New Books Tuesday: March 13

steemsig.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64097.37
ETH 3476.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53