New Books Tuesday!

in #books6 years ago (edited)

Many people know that Wednesday is New Comics day. Somewhat less known is the fact that Tuesday, in the US, is New Books day.

newbooks.png

This weekly post will highlight some of the books being published on any given week, usually in the science fiction and fantasy genres, both YA and books for adults. I am VERY likely to miss cool new books, so please feel free to tell me about them in the comments. Sometimes these will be books I've read a pre-publishing copy of, but most of the time, they will not. These are books I find notable, but I certainly don't read fast enough in English to be able to read all the cool books that come out every week.

Jagannath by Karin Tidbeck

jagga.jpg

This is actually a re-issue of Tidbeck's short story collection, which she herself translated from the original Swedish. Tidbeck is a brilliant, unique writer who writes sharp, jagged prose. She is smart and incredibly inventive. I can pretty much guarantee you won't be spending your time reading her collection saying "oh, another one of those stories," no matter what constitutes "those" stories for you.

Blood Binds the Pack by Alex Wells

bloodpack.jpg

2017's Hunger Makes the Wolf was a terrific debut for Wells, a fun, smart adventure book that has been described as "Dune with space motorcycle gang witches." Which is an accurate description. This is the sequel, and I am very much looking forward to reading it.

Tempests & Slaughter by Tamora Pierce

tempests.jpg

I have never read any of YA Fantasy great Pierce's work, which is a gd disgrace, and not something I enjoy admitting. In my defense, none of them have been published in Hebrew, and there was no internet here when I was in the classic target audience. Still, this is an important book, the first in a new Pierce series, a prequel to her classic series The Immortals. I really should read some of her stuff, though.

The Belles by Dhonielle Clayton

belles.jpg

In the world of Orléans, Belles are women bred to "create beauty." In a world where people are born gray and damned, only a Belle can make a person beautiful. Camellia Beauregard is an ambitious young Belle who plans to be the favored, the Belle taken to the palace to serve the queen and her family. And then, well, you know, stuff happens! This is a YA novel that has been extremely anticipated. I do not like the cover, as I have a thing against photo realistic covers, but the book sounds great, and is definitely on my reading list.

So, what do you think? Any of those seem interesting? Looking forward to any other book being released today?

Related posts:
2017 Locus Recommended Reading List
My Current Locus Award ballot
Sorting Hat Chats

steemsig.jpg

Sort:  

Blood binds the pack!!!!!!!!🤗🤗😁🦄🦄🦄💎💎💜💜squeeeeee!!!!

Ooooh, you've read Hunger Makes the Wolf? SO good, right?

YAY for a new Tamora Pierce book!!!!!!! cartweels

Also, the description on the Alex Wells book is fantastic. Thanks for keeping me (somewhat) up to date in the publishing world! :)

I am here to add to people's TBRs and chew bubblegum. And I'm all out of bubblegum.

to many wonderful books but too little time to read :( i wonder how i was able to do it all way back in college and high school. i feel like i had been slacking off a lot and i easily get drained out. books books books

I feel that way too, and reading fiction books is literally part of my job.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64097.37
ETH 3476.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53