Are You Interested in Eating Wild Mushrooms? Check Out These Unique Haphazard Homestead Posts!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

I like to forage and eat wild mushrooms. Do you? Would you like to? Here's a guide to 12 posts about eating wild mushrooms that I have put on the Steemit blockchain. I'm going to be posting a lot more about eating wild mushrooms, too. So I thought it would be good to do a quick recap of what I've already posted about foraging wild mushrooms. Every one of them is based on real, personal experience.

That is a mushroom forager, there in the background! Notice the stance and intent focus on the ground.


Why Forage Wild Mushrooms?

It amazes me how a fungus grows, sight unseen most of the year. Some of them might be living in a tiny place, like a single pine cone. Others may cover acres or hectares! Then, when conditions are just right, they produce mushrooms to reproduce. Those mushrooms are like fruits from trees. While some of them are deadly to eat, others are delicious! They are all interesting!

I am interested in knowing why you are interested in wild mushrooms, too! Let me know with a comment!


Mushroom Foraging Tips

For eating wild mushrooms, it's important to make sure each one is the right kind. Using local common names can create dangerous confusion because the same name can be used for different mushrooms. So it's important to use scientific names, which are the same all over the world. That's one way that @galbetro in Central America, @yteras in Europe, and any of us interested in wild mushrooms, anywhere in the world, can be sure we're talking about the same thing. For this post, I'm putting the scientific names at the end. I've tried to do that in my other posts about foraging, too.

There are other tips that can make foraging for mushrooms easier or more successful. I'll be writing more of these. But here's one that's useful for anyone in the United States. So many people watch the Superbowl, whether they are football fans or not. That creates an opportunity for some good mushroom hunting -- here's the scoop, that I learned from some great mushroom foragers:


Slippery Jack Mushrooms

So many folks look down on Slippery Jack mushrooms, simply because they are slimy! But when it comes to Slippery Jack, my saying is, "If he is young and solid, he is worth taking home to enjoy, in a variety of ways".

These Slippery Jacks are in great shape to take home and cook up!

Enjoy these posts about Slippery Jack mushrooms!


Insidious Gomphidius Mushrooms

The Insidious Gomphidius is not the prettiest of mushrooms. So it's not likely to show up at any local market that sells wild mushrooms. And it's not a common mushroom for people to be eating, or talking about eating.

One of my contributions to the Steemit blockchain that I am most proud of, is my post showing how to identify and cook the Insidious Gomphidius. It is the only post on the entire Internet that shows how to cook this mushroom. If you can find someone else that has shown how to eat this mushroom, let me know! I would like to see that!

My post on the Insidious Gomphidius:

OK, so this isn't the most charismatic mushroom. But it has it's own slimy charm. It cooks up completely black -- great for a Goth dinner!


Shaggy Parasol Mushrooms

Shaggy Parasols are one of my favorite mushrooms. The first ones I ever found was in a park in southern California. I was wandering around an unfamiliar neighborhood, taking a break from a rugby tournament after-party. I found a batch of Shaggy Parasols, but didn't have anything to carry them in. So I rummaged through a trash bin and found a paper sack. I brought a grocery sack loaded full of wild mushrooms back to the party and then back home. Folks at the party poked a lot of fun my way, but that was A-OK by me. I had a lot of good eating! :D

Here are my posts that show how I used Shaggy Parasols that came up in my yard last year. I'll write another post about how to identify this mushroom, too. But these posts all show pictures of Shaggy Parasols in their natural habitat, with identification and harvesting tips.

Young Shaggy Parasol mushrooms. When they fully open, they can be a lot bigger than this!


Hedgehog Mushrooms

It would be hard to get Hedgehog mushrooms confused with any other wild mushrooms. Where there's one, there's usually more. So it's easy to collect enough to enjoy for a meal. Hedgehog mushrooms are a solid little things, easy to cook. And they taste great! Hedgehog mushrooms often show up in local markets that carry wild-harvested mushrooms, too. So even if you don't find them in the wild, you may be able to forage some off the market shelves, but you will have to pay for them!

Here's my post on Hedgehog Mushrooms:

Hedgehogs are fun to find. Seeing those little teeth under the mushroom cap is always exciting!


Lobster Mushrooms

Lobster are easy to identify, too, with their bright orange-red color, unique crusty surface texture, and bright white interior. They are strange, with one fungus parasitizing another! But they are delicious! Wild lobster mushrooms show up in markets -- @offoodandart recently found some at a local market and enjoyed them!

Here are my posts about Lobster mushrooms:

Lobster mushrooms can look odd, but they are good eating!


What's Coming Up?

Here are some other wild mushrooms I've been eating, that I'll be making posts about, too. If there's one here that you are especially interested in, let me know and I'll put it at the top of my list!

Upcoming Wild Edible Mushroom Posts:

  • Agaricus campestris, a tasty meadow mushroom
  • A big yellow, shaggy-stalked mushroom, Floccularia albolanaripes
  • The Lion's Mane, Hericium erinaceus
  • Oyster Mushrooms, Pleurotus ostreatus
  • Chanterelles, Cantharellus spp.
  • More on the Shaggy Parasol, Chlorophyllum brunneum
  • The Cat, Catathelasma ventricosa
  • Turkey Tails, nature's chewing gum
  • Aminita muscaria, a mushroom that can be tasty or toxic, depending on how you handle it!

And some surprises. Perhaps a bolete or two, some bracket fungus, and even some not so edible mushrooms, too. There are fun things to do with wild mushrooms besides eating them. Will I dye my hair with a mushroom? We'll see!


What Do You Think?

Getting to know mushrooms is a great way to slow down and appreciate the complexity of nature. There is a lot going on out there!

  • Have you been noticing any fall mushrooms around you?
  • Do you forage for wild edible mushrooms?
  • What's your favorite mushroom?

I really do want to know!

I eat a lot of wild plants and show you how, because I believe that we can all have lives that are richer, more secure, more grounded, and more interesting by getting to know the plants and the land around us – in our yards, our parks, and our wild places.

I would like Steemit to be the premier site for Foraging on the Internet! If you have any thoughts about foraging, or experiences to share, write a post and be sure to use the Foraging tag. And check out the @foraging-trail to see curated quality posts about foraging. Happy Foraging!


Mushrooms List

  • Slippery Jacks - Suillus luteus
  • Insidous Gomphidius - Gomphidius oregonensis
  • Shagggy Parasol - Cholorphyllum rachodes and C. brunneum
  • Hedgehog mushrooms - Hydenum repandum and H. rufescens
  • Lobster mushrooms - Hypomyces lactifluorum

Haphazard Homestead

foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead!
My YouTube channel: Haphazard Homestead

Sort:  

Dear what great source and richest information you are sharing with us, in my first time here in steemit i wrotte a poor recipe about a mushroom that growing here in a specific tree the local name of it is guachipilin Diphysa americana, in this tree grew a mushroom caller tenquique its scientific name is
Pseudofistulina Radicata
I found this beautiful specimen in a roots of this tree, during july and september i was collecting, but the tree was destroying in 2016 and i was could not collect anymore but as a foraging interested i was buy 8 young trees of guachipilin and planted this in our land, we hope in some years get again this great mushroom
Here the photos of my recipe and foraging i hope enjoy the photos
https://steemit.com/food/@galberto/tenquiques-la-trufa-salvadorena
Best regard @galberto
Happy weekend, and foraging :)

Thanks for linking back to your post, @galberto! That is such a great post! In the book, Mushrooms of the Southeastern United States, by Alan Bessette, they say this mushroom is not edible. They don't say it's toxic, but just inedible. I think they don't know what you and your people know from their traditional foraging. Thank you so much for sharing your experience. It helps us all to learn. I hope I can find this mushroom someday, in the southeast US!

And I hope your planting of trees brings the mushrooms to you! That's how I have gotten some great mushrooms in my yard, too! I planted White Pines (Pinus strobus) and Douglas-fir (Pseudotsuga menziesii) and got the Slippery Jacks and Insidious Gomphidius. Happy foraging!

Dear it is amazing that you value my informacion,for me is the best gift, is that our information be usesful for someone, i love that you have trees planted for grow mushroom,
I review the list of trees that could give us the better mushrooms for planted its like guachipilin and pinus.
always i think some mushrooms are more valuable than the other fruits or wood in the trees, i review the details of the book that you say, and i hope to learn all about the endible mushroom.
Thank you for the beautiful information about how to identify a lot of mushroom.
Thank you for the extra information
Best regard @galberto

That insidious mushroom isn't going too win any beauty contests lol ugly little thing. :)

haha -- once it's cleaned up, it looks a little better. Maybe all that slime and goo is good protection from keeping people from eating it! I can see through its disguise! ; )

It would stop me from touching it lol :)

haha -- wait until you see one of its relatives that I found this fall. It's nickname is the Slimy Spike-cap. It's slimy and its spike is crazy long. In person, they are hard not to touch, they are so interesting.

So many mushrooms, wonder why they are slimey :)

I have no idea. There are a lot of big slugs out here, too. And they are sure slimy. And the newts are slimy, too. Maybe it's like a raincoat, to keep from getting soaked in all the rain that's here - over 2 meters a year, easily.

I don't like slime, ewww but do enjoy mushrooms :)

This is incredible. I’m always fascinated by mushrooms I see out on the trails and even in my own yard but because I haven’t taken time to figure out what’s what. Now with your identification tips and recipes I have a head start (and a great one at that) toward being less afraid and more involved in nature and foraging! Resteemed!

There are so many incredible mushrooms out there, edible or not. Some are great for other things, like dyeing fabric. Getting to know the ones in your own yard, and other places you go often, is a good start. Some mushrooms are a lot easier to learn about than others. But they all make us want more rain, lol. I'm putting together a lot more nature and foraging content, with more organization. So I hope that will help you, too! Thanks for the resteem!

I LOVE MUSHROOMS!
But I'm terrified of foraging for them but with a little luck I'm going to be in my new house in a couple of weeks and hubby and I are planning our garden. Guess what I plan on including? Some shiitake and maybe portabella mushrooms. YUM!

How exciting that you're moving to a new house. That sounds like a lot of effort! But so cool that you will be able to have a garden. You should have plenty of humidity to grow shiitake logs in Florida! It would be neat to grow portabellas, too! I'm too haphazard, so I have to look for mushrooms that take care of themselves, lol. Thanks for commenting in the midst of your NaNoWriMo writing!

With my luck, I'd probably try foraging the mushrooms that kill people. LOL I'd rather not test fate in such a way. There is something to be said about having creative space. I don't have that here but I know that moving to a new place will make all the difference in the world. I'll be scrolling through your blogs for helpful tips and delicious recipes.

I'm glad you will have more space, including a creative space. You'll make good use of it for something!

Interesting information about various mushrooms! They are all beautiful among wonderful nature!

I think I can find the Hedgehogs in the supermarket here and I really love them when they are in the hot soup!

Good job! I look forward to your posts how you cook these mushrooms with much interest! ;)

That's so cool that you have Hedgehogs in your market! That's a great thing about Steemit for me -- finding out what other people eat in other parts of the world, especially the wild things, or fresh from a garden, or off of the local trees.

Yes, I absolutely agree with you. That's a great thing about Steemit for me, too! ;)

😱 ...Big thank you for this!

Glad you enjoyed my mushrooms! ; )

good morning my dear friend
your post is very nice and very valuable
and its very halpfull for a health

@haphazard,
I'm taking down my hat to show respect to you - that's an amazing petite library of mushroom foraging posts. I will be studying each one in the next few days. You teached me something about formatting posts with this post too! Anyways, I think we're overlapping on a lot of topics, so I suggest to check out my humble blog. Love my new friend, @freegardens!

Excellent post, I invite you to visit my blog

Who would have ever thought you could brush a lobsters teeth? Great look at some of your classics. Thanks for putting it out in retrospective. You are a true fungophile. Have a nice Sunday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61450.33
ETH 2982.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60