Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #04 : Grilled Squash Blossoms Stuffed with Wild Lobster MushroomssteemCreated with Sketch.

A little bit of wild forest, a little bit of cultivated garden - all in grilled squash blossoms! So delicious!

squash lobster 3.jpg


A Forest Lobster

Where to start for making a dish from this week's special ingredient - courgettes, aka summer squash? In the forest! I was hiking along the Oregon coast. And what do I find? This:

I got all excited for the Steemit Iron Chef contest! I want to put that in a squash blossom! It's a Lobster Mushroom!

I'm writing a post about how to identify and cook this great wild forest mushroom, for @papa-pepper's "Steemit How-To King" contest. Not because I think I can beat the incredible @papa-pepper in How-To posts for Steemit. But because the Lobster mushroom is such an interesting fungus. Actually, it's one fungus parasitizing another, but the Steemit Iron Chef contest is no place for that sort of talk, lol!

If you want to know how I can tell these are Lobster Mushrooms, I just posted a YouTube video all about it. It's 10 minutes long and shows how to identify these forest-dwelling Lobsters, step by step through an identification key.


Squash Blossoms

Late summer and early autumn are a great time to use squash blossoms, because rain, cold, and mildew on the plants could put a stop to the crop any time. And we've all eaten a lot of zucchini by now, so missing out on one more squash doesn't seem like much of a sacrifice.

If you focus on the male blossoms, though, anytime in the summer is fine for harvesting squash blossoms. I look for the flowers that have only a straight stem at their base. Not a swollen section that will become the squash.

squash lobster 5.jpg
Flowers from courgettes, or summer squash, can be large. On the right, the top flowers are male flowers. Picking some doesn't affect the squash crop at all. The lower flower is a female flower. I pick the blossom and the developing zucchini.

Early in the summer, the first flowers that open on a squash plant are male flowers. They open days before female flowers have even started developing. So spring is a good time for eating squash blossoms, too.

For this dish, though, I used both the male and female flowers. For the female flower, I harvested the flower and the baby squash at its base. These are striped romanesco zucchini. They have been such productive plants this summer!


Stuffing and Grilling

I like simple cooking that focuses on only a few ingredients. This only has a few -- the squash blossoms, lobster mushrooms, and wild chives. With olive oil to sautee the chopped ingredients, butter for grilling the squash blossoms, and a splash of good soy sauce at the end. That's it!

I sauteed the chives, a chopped zucchini that had already shed its flower, a chopped squash flower, and most of the lobster mushrooms. I had already sauteed the lobsters earlier, to ensure they were cooked enough. I kept some larger pieces of the cooked lobsters for the plate, too.

I stuffed the blossoms with the sauteed mix and grilled them slowly, turning them gently. I used a parsley stem to tie the larger blossom. It's a delicate operation grilling these blossoms!

squash lobster 6.jpg
There aren't many ingredients, but they are fresh! And for some reason, I like the idea of having the squash blossoms stuffed with more blossoms and squash.


Grilled Squash Blossoms Stuffed With Wild Lobster Mushrooms

Here's the result. I added some blue Borage flowers and 4 little "Candyland" cherry tomatoes. This is probably the fanciest I'll get in putting together a plate of food, lol. I cut the baby zucchini in half so you could see what the stuffing looked like inside the squash blossom.

This is one of the tastiest things I've eaten recently! I had a Fort George Quick Wit wheat beer with this small plate. It's a light, floral beer that perfectly matches the flavors of the mushrooms and squash.

squash lobster 8.jpg

squash lobster 7.jpg

squash lobster 4.jpg


What Do You Think?

  • Do you like squash flowers?
  • Do you forage for wild mushrooms?
  • Have you ever eaten squash flowers or Lobster mushrooms?
  • Would you eat my grilled stuffed squash flowers with the Lobster mushrooms?

I eat a lot of wild plants and show you how, because I believe that we can all have lives that are richer, more secure, more grounded, and more interesting by getting to know the plants and the land around us – in our yards, our parks, and our wilderness.

I would like Steemit to be the premier site for Foraging on the Internet! If you have any thoughts about foraging, or experiences to share, write a post and be sure to use the Foraging tag. And check out the @foraging-trail to see curated quality posts about foraging. Happy Foraging!

Thanks @progressivechef for creating the Steemit Iron Chef contest series. I haven't been able to be on Steemit much lately, but I can't miss the contest series or I would miss out on my 1 point! ;D


Plant List

Lobster mushroom - Hypomyces lactoflourum
Wild chives - Allium schoeneprasum
Zucchini - Cucurbita pepo -
Borage - Borago officinalis - flowers


Haphazard Homestead

foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead!
My YouTube channel: Haphazard Homestead

Sort:  

That lobster mushroom looks awesome! I've never even heard of those before. Crazy how many kinds of edible fungi there are.

This is a little off topic but do you ever cook with microgreens? Which ones are your favorite? I'm starting a microgreens farm and looking for a chefs input.

I"m no chef. Just somebody that eats every day, several times a day, lol. And I like to garden and forage wild food. I like all the microgreens. My favorites? Sunflowers, pea shoots, kale, chard, amaranth, wild field mustard, miners lettuce. Good luck with your microgreens farm! That's quite an undertaking! Here's to 100% germination and no mildew! ; )

I love the way you cook! I love learning about wild and cultivated edibles from you too! This dish is a home run! Lobster mushroom stuffed in a zucchini blossom! You know what great food is!

Thanks! It was fun finding the lobsters. And I like to eat flowers. Squash blossoms are so fun -- they are fragile and substantial at the same time.

Love that lobster mushroom @haphazard-hstead! I see it sometimes at our local market. I'll pick some up next time I see them.

Thanks! They are crisp inside if they are fresh. They do keep awhile, if they've been picked before forest bugs get in them. They are a good wild mushroom and always fun to find. They are a nice meaty mushroom! Enjoy the ones from your market!

Thanks, I will. When I do, I'll let you know. :)

must be very tasty, I have never cooked it.

Squash blossoms and lobster mushrooms taste good together!

The zucchini flowers it is a great source for cooking, this year was the first time that i cooked it with my parents and my conclusion it is very delicious, i guess with mushroom it would be very good, thank you i will try to make with the portobello mushroom.

Lovely dish and very informative post love learning about the wild plants...

Never heard of lobster mushrooms , until now..... the only thing I've ever I've ever picked wild were fiddle heads and blackcaps both were delicious . ....thanks for opening my eyes to what's out there!!

Interesting dish! I would love to try it! I especially like the squash blossoms with the bright yellow color! The Lobster Mushroom looks great!

Good luck for the contest! ;)

I love squash flowers my friend! I have a special recipe for them, ok i'll give you a small brief of it : I blend chicken breast with mushroom, salt, pepper, truffle oil, truffle, little cream and olive oil. It's half chicken half mushroom- button mushrooms works well.
Then I stuff the flowers with this mix. Cooked in steam and served with a mushroom sauce! Just amazing!
When my father was still here, i remember him bringing fresh mushrooms for us, it was mainly after thunderstorms have passed. The mushrooms were like eggs, but can't find these nowadays!
I will happily try your dish out, as that lobster mushroom intrigues me a lot! I would love to know the taste!
Wonderful entry again...with those lovely flowers for the charm!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63196.13
ETH 3385.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45