STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #5 : Wild Sheep Sorrel Weed Soup with assorted homegrown chili peppers - 100% original foraging and cooking!steemCreated with Sketch.

Wild sheep sorrel and dried Slippery Jack mushrooms go great with spicy homegrown chili peppers! Come see how!

challenge841b62.jpg

When I saw the description for Culinary Challenge 5, I wasn't sure what I would make. I am not a fan of super-hot peppers. But I usually grow a few spicy ones. This year, I had Anaheim and Hungarian Hot Wax peppers. And I still have a few slowly ripening after their last harvest at the end of October. I wanted to make a recipe that could use a wide range of peppers, from mild to super hot.

I wasn't sure what to make. Until I was walking around my yard and noticed a new patch of wild sheep sorrel. Then I knew exactly what I wanted to make. A wild Sheep Sorrel Soup, topped with sliced peppers. The sour flavor of the sheep sorrel goes great with heat from fresh peppers. And one recipe fits any heat preference, just by letting people choose which peppers to put on top of their soup -- as long as folks know which peppers are hot and which are not!

Step 1. Pick and and clean the sheep sorrel

I just noticed the Sheep Sorrel (Rumex acetosella) this week, coming up through some fallen maple leaves. I haven't seen it in my yard for a couple years. They must have gotten a start with our fall rains and now are spreading by their ground-level runners.

I like the sour, lemon taste of sheep sorrel leaves and the thin stalks. They both are tender and tasty. They will be good until the ground freezes. They will perk right up in early spring, too, and last until early summer.

Challenge27119d.jpg

I'm glad to see the little plants return, even though it is considered a troublesome invasive weed. According to the US Department of Agriculture's Plants Database, sheep sorrel is classified as a noxious weed in 46 out of the 50 states. So there's no need to worry about picking too much from one area.

I brought about 4 cups of leaves back to my kitchen. When I'm outdoors, I pick clean. So in the kitchen, it's easier to make sure that I don't have other plants I don't want. And I can pick out any poor quality leaves. On the left, you can see the distinctive shape of the little sheep sorrel leaves. Because they are small plants and we've had a lot of rain, these leaves can be dirty. So I rinsed them really well!

Challenge74b8e2.jpg


Step 2. Prep the garden produce and dried wild mushrooms

While I was outdoors, I dug up a bulb of a garden escape artist that has spread into many places in my yard - Elephant garlic. It's milder than other garlic, more like a leek. I cut up the last of my homegrown Akane apples from their early September harvest. And I added 2 small fingerling potatoes that grew as volunteers near my compost pile. The apple sweetens the sour taste of the sheep sorrel. And the potatoes thicken the soup just enough.

I also thinly sliced my assorted homegrown peppers. The yellow one is a Hungarian Hot Wax. I think it's hot - but it's in the range of a Jalapeno. Not a Ghost Pepper like @papa-pepper grows or the Scotch Bonnets that @rebeccaryan uses. The red one is the very last Anaheim I have left - a small one. They have a mild spiciness when they are red and fully mature. The green one is some bull-nose green pepper that isn't hot or spicy at all. But they are all 'chilis'.

Challenge4a552e.jpg

The preparation is easy - I just chop everything up. I mix in a few dried Slippery Jack mushrooms (Suillus luteus). They are the same mushrooms that I use in Culinary Challenge 2 to make my Slippery Jack Sandwich. The picture below shows the mushooms and my jars of dried ones. I'll make a post about foraging and preserving Slippery Jacks pretty soon. Any mushrooms would work for this soup, though. They add a depth of flavor, so I don't need any chicken broth or vegetable broth.

Challenge36c8a4.jpg


Step 3. Cook the soup

The cooking is easy. Saute everything except the sheep sorrel in olive oil. When the garlic is cooked through, cover it all with water. And bring it all to a boil.

Challenge5f16b6.jpg

Then add all the sheep sorrel. It cooks down fast. You can see how the sheep sorrel changes from a bright green to an unappetizing drab olive green. That's why it's good to make this into a creamy soup - it's a lot prettier. Let it boil until the potato and apple pieces are soft. Then put it in a blender. Blend on the highest setting until it's smooth. That's it! Easy!

Challenge6e8008.jpg


Step 4. Eat up!

Now pour the soup into a bowl and top it with the pepper slices. I put Brie cheese around the rim of the bowl -- the cheese doesn't float in the soup. But a nice way to eat this soup is to put the Brie cheese in the soup and let it get soft. The cheese offsets the heat of the peppers very nicely. And dairy products tie up the oxalic acid in the sheep sorrel, so it's not a concern.

Served with a nice Paso Robles wine, slices of homegrown Japanese persimmon, and homegrown English walnuts - this was a great dinner tonight. I wouldn't have made this without the culinary challenge, so thanks @meesterboom and @englishtchrivy for choosing the theme this week! And thanks, homestead, for taking care of me with such good food - weeds, mushrooms, and garden produce!

Challenge1f0ae1.jpg

This made two bowls of soup and I ate both of them! It was that good. I hope someday each of you get to eat sheep sorrel soup - with whatever level of chili pepper heat you like!

Ingredient List: Sheep sorrel, Slippery Jack mushrooms, elephant garlic bulb and young leaves, apple, fingerling potatoes, assorted fresh chili peppers, Brie cheese. As usual, I got so involved in my soup, I forgot to put my Steemit note beside it. But at least I remembered when I was done. (So I have put my name of each image, like the rules require.)


What Do You Think?

Do you ever use Sheep Sorrel? How about French Sorrel from the garden? Do you ever use Slippery Jack mushrooms? How about other wild mushrooms? Would you try this soup if I served it to you? I want to hear from you!

I write about foraging because I believe that we can all have lives that are richer, more secure, more grounded, and more interesting by getting to know the plants and the land around us – in our yards, our parks, and our wilderness.

I would like Steemit to be the premier site for Foraging on the Internet! If you have any thoughts about foraging, or experiences to share, write a post and be sure to use the Foraging tag. And check out the @foraging-trail to see curated quality posts about foraging. Happy Foraging!



** Haphazard Homestead **

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead - photos and all!

I participate in Operation Translation. All my posts are available for translation under the rules listed on the linked post from @papa-pepper. Logo provided by @oepc85. Post goes 100% to Steem Power! Logo provided by @merej99

logosbc87c.md.jpg

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $18.09 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

In this post you can clearly see when someone has love or a deep passion for what they are doing! Very good and beautifull post @haphazard-hstead.
PS: Today (28.11.2016) I see 238 votes and 0.6 payout? My goodness...not even 1 dollar... I voted 100% hope that can help...
If not...for sure you will win the prize in the contest and I wish you all the good luck!

Thanks for the kinds words, @cynetyc. I do like to eat weeds, haha. Vote count and payout are not always closely related. I'd rather than lots of votes and little money, than a few votes and little money, haha. Maybe all those great people voting will have their voted be worth more in the future. And at least I got a great dinner out of the challenge! Enjoy all your beautiful peppers! :D

nice recipe! upvoted and followed ;)

Thanks! I'm glad the challenge prompted me to make this. I will do it again! :D

Looks really good ! If I can find the ingredients as ive never heard of sheep sorrel or any kind of sorrel before , I will try it out ! I love soup ! Thanks for shareing and also upvoteing and commenting on my blog ! Good Luck to you ! Steem on ! ♨🌶🍎

Sheep sorrel is an invasive weed that was brought over long ago by European settlers. It's so common, it's a noxious weed in 46 of the 50 US states. I bet it's all over southern BC, too. You can't buy it, but you can pick all you want for free.

Ok thanks ! ♨👍

If you find any, I'd really like to hear your taste review in a post! :D

I love your recipes and this soup looks amazing - drooling as I was reading
great presentation

Thanks! This turned out to be such a nice soup. The Brie cheese really goes well with the peppers and the sheep sorrel.

Upvoted by @foraging-trail

Thank you for following and upvoting @foraging-trail
You can find out more about the Steemit Foraging community and guidelines for being upvoted by the @foraging-trail here and here.

This soup must be good, I also prefer to saute the vegetables in olive oil before adding water, it gets more flavored! :) ! I noticed that you referred to the invasive status of Rumex acetosella in the USA. Good luck on the challenge, upvoted!

Thanks! I'm a fan of "Exotics Eradication Through Utilization" or EETU. I just need one more word at the end that starts with a 'P' and then it would be: EET UP! lol. I like eating weeds, because it's OK to pick as much as we want. native plants take a lot more consideration of how much is OK to harvest, and where we are. In my city parks, nobody is upset when someone is harvesting an exotic invasive plant!

Could it be "Exotics Eradication Through Utilization Project" ?!

Yay! That's great! Let it be known on the Steemit blockchain that @liliana.duarte completed the acronym, lol, for EET UP! Exotics Eradication Through Utilization Project. I better write a foraging articles pretty soon. :D

That's great!! If you write about this, make sure that you'll advise people to be aware of the foraging methods. it's important that when someone is collecting an invasive species, that it doesn't contribute to more propagation!

That is a whole topic itself! There can be such arguments about people wanting to spread some invasive species, because they are good for food. As they say, "Don't get me started!" People around here have spread Japanese Knotweed and wild fennel, especially - ugh. I like to eat them both, but that doesn't mean I want it all over the place. I went on a tour of the Sacramento Delta in California and the state agencies there are fighting people that want to spread the Chinese Mitten Crab, because some people eat it. ugh. Thanks for the idea!

You focused on one of my main preoccupations with utilization of invasive species, in food, energy or whatever. There will be always someone who wants to make a profit with it...and that is very difficult to change. The only way, in my opinion, is first to get people aware of the problem, as much as possible, and have faith that their conscious will work!

That sounds like a good approach. Awareness is the first step, for sure!

yummy ... upvoted

Thanks! Sheep sorrel is a plant worth knowing. It's good in a lot of ways.

Reading the recipe now looks really amazing

It was delicious! Even the bottom of the second bowl!

@haphazard-hstead wow - that's new I didn't know anything about the wild sheep sorrel thanks for the info !
Good luck!

I wonder if you have sheep sorrel by you? It's a worldwide weed, I think. It likes acid soil best. Let us all know if you find any! : )

@haphazard maybe - will check when it's summer again !

Check in the springtime. By summer, they will be flowering or going to seed. Get them while they are tender and most tasty! :D

@haphazard-hstead - ah - thanks for the tip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.86
ETH 3531.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53