Slippery Jack - an under-appreciated wild edible mushroom - 100% original - Part 2 - cleaning, cooking, preservingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #foraging8 years ago (edited)

Alright, I took sticky, slimy Slippery Jack home. Sure, he's wild, and that scares some folks. Other folks are acquainted with him, but don't think too much of him. I think he's decent - pretty good, even, once you get to know him.

SJ278a6a0.jpg

Here in Part 2, learn to clean up Slippery Jack, take him to dinner, and keep him in shape for more than a couple days. You can find Part 1 right here. That's where we got to meet Slippery Jack, Suillus luteus. We found out where he hangs out, and learned some helpful some details about his lifestyle. I hope you get to know Slippery Jack well. You may even want to introduce him to your friends and family!

SJ25c826d.jpg




Getting Slippery Jack Cleaned Up

When I get Slippery Jack home I have to clean him up - every time! And I need to get busy with it, pretty quick. If I wait more than a day, Slippery Jack ages before my very eyes. Certainly, I cut off the lower part of the stalk if I didn't do that outdoors, because that's where most of the dirt is - and insect larvae. If you are bothered by the mention of insects in food - please look away. They are a reality of some mushrooms and have to be dealt with.

SJ260d397.jpg

The Slippery Jacks with the yellow arrows are in perfect shape! But the red arrows point to visible bug damage that has to be addressed. If they are too damaged, I put them back outdoors by my pine trees, since that's where Slippery Jack likes to live.


If Slippery Jack's stalk is still solid, I will use it, too, but I peel it. Either way, I remove his stalk from his cap. Then I focus on his cap. Every time - every time - I peel his cap. That's important.

SJ2bd846.jpg

If he is older, his pores are going to be spongy, not firm. If that's the case, I remove them - mostly to check for bugs. If his pores are young and tight, I leave them on the cap.

SJ3c153d.jpg

These pores were still good enough to dehydrate and use in soup.


Then I do more assessment. If he in in prime condition, that's great! But if he has some larvae in his cap, I have to take action. I soak him in salt water for a few hours and then rinse him off well. I use about 1 Tablespoon of salt per cup of water. How much larvae is too much? That depends on your own personal squick tolerance level. That's not an official term, but you will know it, if Slippery Jack has crossed it.

SJ22fee91.jpg
SJ23f630f.jpg

These mushrooms have visible bug damage. But soaking them in salt water and rinsing them well, does get the insects out. The taste of the mushroom is just the same, but they aren't pretty enough to be "company quality", unless they are in a stir fry.




Have Dinner With Slippery Jack

Perfect Slippery Jacks

Now that Slippery Jack is all cleaned up and dressed nicely, what will we be having for dinner? It depends on how we are getting along. If I am hungry, I will cook him right away, in a skillet. If Slippery Jack is in good shape, I like using the caps whole. I did just that when I made my Slippery Jack Sandwich in one of the Steemit Culinary Challenges.

SJ24b5267.jpg


Damaged Slippery Jacks

If I soaked Slippery Jack in salt water to remove insects, then I'll only have smaller pieces to use. In either case, the key is to dry-saute the Slippery Jack, without any oil. Because he is slippery enough already - he needs a lot of moisture cooked out of him. That's means he will shrink up a lot, by the time he's cooked and ready to eat.

SJ28ab601.jpg

This isn't a pretty cooking picture, I know. But these salt-water soaked Slippery Jacks taste fine. I just ate them right out of the skillet!


Dehydrate Slippery Jacks

If Slippery Jack is in good shape, but I want to save him for later, I like to dehydrate him. I just slice him up, even with the pores on, if they are young and tight. I set the dehydrator somewhere between 105-115 degrees Fahrenheit. It takes a couple days to really get Slippery Jacks dried out. Sometimes, I also dry the older pores, if they are in good shape, too - not buggy or too soft.

SJ2091189.jpg
SJ217cc9f.jpg

I think the dehydrated Slippery Jacks are good in soup. I used them in my Sheep Sorrel Weed Soup in the most recent Steemit Culinary Challenge. They give a nice depth of flavor to a light soup, so I don't have to use chicken broth or a vegetable stock.

challenge84f2f7.jpg


Pickle Slippery Jacks

I also pickle Slippery Jacks. I made some refrigerator pickles with them this fall. I only had a few at the time and didn't need to preserve them for a long time. So I made refrigerator pickles using some leftover pickle juice. I just boiled the Slippery Jacks for 15 minutes. Then I covered them with them with pickle juice from a jar of pickled hop shoots that I had made this spring. I had eaten all the delicious pickled hop shoots, but saved the juice for an occasion just like this with the Slippery Jacks. After a couple weeks, those Slippery Jack pickles were great in a weed salad. They would be even better on a cracker with some cream cheese and parsley - like escargot!

SJ405bba.jpg
SJ5c77b3.jpg

I made the salad just yesterday, December 1. Clockwise from the upper left, the plants are chickweed, wild field mustard greens and flowers, wild arugula, and dandelion. With homegrown peppers and tomatoes added to the salad and homegrown Japanese persimmon for dessert.



What Do You Think?

Would you eat any of these Slippery Jack mushrooms? Do you eat other wild mushrooms? Are you interested in learning to eat wild mushrooms? What about other wild food? I really want to know!

I write about foraging because I believe that we can all have lives that are richer, more secure, more grounded, and more interesting by getting to know the plants and the land around us – in our yards, our parks, and our wilderness.

I would like Steemit to be the premier site for Foraging on the Internet! If you have any thoughts about foraging, or experiences to share, write a post and be sure to use the Foraging tag. And check out the @foraging-trail to see curated quality posts about foraging. Happy Foraging!



** Haphazard Homestead **

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead - photos and all!

I participate in Operation Translation. All my posts are available for translation under the rules listed on the linked post from @papa-pepper. Logo provided by @oepc85. Post goes 100% to Steem Power! Logo provided by @merej99

logosbc87c.md.jpg

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.47 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 02 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Great stuff! Yes I would eat them. Yes I am interested in foraging and would like to learn more about other wild food.

When I lived in Canada I spent some time every year living in the wilderness and going on survival trips. We ate berries, bull rush roots, fish, frog legs etc...

Some of my best memories were spent on long portaging canoe trips!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Glad to hear that you would take Slippery Jack to dinner, lol. It sounds like you know a lot of wild food already!

Your Canada trips sound like a great time! Canada has so much great wilderness, canoeing, and fishing! When I lived in Michigan, I made a lot of trips to Canada for canoeing, too, mostly in Ontario. It's easy to live on the fish in a lot of water there. What areas did you go to? I think @countryinspired has spent time in the Boundary Waters Area. Watch your step on those portages!

Great post @haphazard-hstead! I'm not much for eating mushrooms, but still find them fascinating and try to always stop to photograph them.

Thanks! Supposedly, these Slippery Jacks grow in your area, too, among the pines. So maybe next fall we will see some in your photos - that would be nice. You do have a lot of mushrooms to photograph in your area - or at least you are very good at finding them!

Very informative post! I try eating some wild mushrooms, I can't remember the name, and the flavor was to intense.

Definitely more intense. Here in Ticino where I live people are crazy about porcini. They are often eaten with polenta which dulls the intensity.

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Thanks! That's interesting about the taste of the mushrooms you ate. Some have a strong flavors and others are more mild. You might like the Slippery Jacks, because their taste is not so powerful. Do you like mushrooms from the grocery store? Some wild ones taste like those. Maybe you would like them. Thanks for commenting, too!

Wonderfull ! I picked and ate mushroom "steak" on the bread 2 or 3 times last weeks cooked in the fire. Tasty ;)

That sounds good! What kind of mushrooms were you eating? There are so many tasty ones to enjoy, aren't there! :D

Upvoted by @foraging-trail

Thank you for following and upvoting @foraging-trail
You can find out more about the Steemit Foraging community and guidelines for being upvoted by the @foraging-trail here and here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49