The Fir-Cone Mushroom: A Harbinger of Many Good Things to Come. Let the Haphazard Homestead Posts Appear Like Mushrooms in the Autumn!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

The tiny Fir-Cone Mushroom (Strobilurus trullisatus) is a good indicator that the fall mushroom season is starting. The "word in the woods" here in the Pacific Northwest is that these little mushrooms lead the first flush of Chanterelles by about two weeks. I'm going to use my recent find of these Fir-Cone mushrooms in a similar way, but with a compressed timeline. I'm saying that today is start of me being more consistent about posting and connecting here on Steemit.

x Fir-Cone Mushroom 1.jpg
Such a cool little mushroom. It occurs only on old cones - mostly old Douglas-Fir cones, but sometimes on old Spruce or Pine cones.


I've been so impressed by folks who post every day here on Steemit! I've barely managed one post a week for 2 months now, and I was completely absent for another month before that! I want that to change that - in the direction of more posts. The first step is making my intention known. Now for next part, getting busy with it!

I want to thank @quinneaker for the push. He's been encouraging me to post consistently - and to not be so anonymous. I'll be working on that last part, too! ; )


In the meantime, here are some other views of these great little Strobilurus trullisatus. They are only one of over 1000 species of fungus that are associated with Douglas-fir trees. Heck, there are over 1000 species that are associated with just the roots of Douglas-fir trees![1] Just the roots!

I'm glad I planted some Douglas-fir trees in my yard. I'm looking forward to seeing new mushrooms appear near them as the years go by. In the meantime, here are some Fir-Cone mushrooms that I've been seeing out in the nearby forests.

x Fir-Cone Mushroom 3.jpg
In a dark forest shaded by lots of Douglas-fir trees, these little clumps of mushrooms stand out.

x Fir-Cone Mushroom 4.jpg
With a closer look, it's clear they are growing from a single cone.

x Fir-Cone Mushroom 1.jpg
They are such a beautiful little mushroom.

x Fir-Cone Mushroom 2.jpg
Their whole existence is in that little Douglas-fir cone! They are consuming that cone, breaking own the cone for nutrients. Eventually, both the cone and the mushrooms become part of the forest floor again.

x Fir-Cone Mushroom 7.jpg
Douglas-fir trees can grow over 300 feet tall. Lots of them are more than 100 feet tall. That's such an incredible difference in size from the little Fir-Cone mushroom!

x Fir-Cone Mushroom 5.jpg
I'm looking forward to posting more in November - at least one post every day! I hope you will enjoy my posts, too, and leave plenty of comments. It will be like a happy party of little Fir-Cone mushrooms here on Steemit!


What Do You Think?

Getting to know mushrooms is a great way to slow down and appreciate the complexity of nature. There is a lot going on out there!

  • Have you been noticing any fall mushrooms around you?
  • Do you forage for wild edible mushrooms?
  • Have you ever seen the Fir-Cone Mushroom?
  • What's your favorite mushroom?

I really do want to know!


Plant List

  • Fir-Cone mushroom (Strobilurus trullisatus)
  • Douglas-fir tree (Pseudotsuga menziesii)
  • Chanterelle mushrooms (Cantharellus spp.)

[1] Aurora, D., 1986. Mushrooms Demystified. Ten Speed Press. Berkeley, CA.


Haphazard Homestead

foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead!
My YouTube channel: Haphazard Homestead

Sort:  

Oh my, those are so delicate! I've never heard of this particular type, but as you said, there are so many that it's no wonder some get lost in the crowd.

The only mushroom hunting I've done was with my great-uncle. He had a few locations squirreled away that were basically wild morel farms. We'd come back with grocery bags full. Fun memories!

Good luck with the coming mushroom season and with the goal for increasing your presence here. I always enjoy seeing what you're up to!

Thanks, @aunt-deb! So cool that your great-uncle shared his morel patches with you! It's amazing how many there can be -- grocery bags full! That's abundance! I'm glad you got in on that and those memories have to be so special. Here's to the mushrooms and great great-uncles! :D

I sure wish I remembered where those patches are, if they're still there. It was west-central Indiana, near Turkey Run State Park. That area is still largely rural, so they might still be undisturbed. It's nice to think someone else is now enjoying them.

It sure would be nice to know where that was! The biggest American Persimmon tree I've ever seen, with the biggest persimmon fruits ever, is in Indiana just east of Indianapolis, in the parking lot of a Catfish & BBQ Diner, lol. There is so much incredible abundance out there - I almost get overwhelmed thinking about it sometimes. I sure wish people could enjoy it all.

Ah! Those little mushies are so cute! Wish I had room for some fir trees in my own yard but the suburbs don't always give you much room for more trees!
I'm jumping back on the daily posting bandwagon too! I find the best way to do it... or the way that used to work best for me when I was making the time to post all the time is to spend a few hours writing up 7 posts for the whole week and then you just have to spend 10 min a day posting those. I usually use word, save them, and then copy and past what I have prewritten for the week. Really helps with time management.

Good luck on your daily posting, too! That's a great strategy for being consistent. I will definitely try that!

I for one am happy to see you back. I always enjoy your posts and this one on the little mushrooms is just to cool.

Thanks so much, @sunscape! Little mushrooms need attention, too, lol.

Fascinating fungi and great photos. It's spring down here in Tasmania so not a lot of fungi about at the moment.

Glad you enjoyed my little fir-cone mushrooms! Mushrooms are so dependent on the seasons and the weather, that's for sure! Enjoy your spring and all that it brings. Nature is amazing!

Very cute tiny white mushrooms! It’s great that you found them among nice nature! Really tall Douglas-fir trees! Interesting!

Glad to hear that you’ll write one post a day! Great news! ;)

Thanks, @tangmo! Douglas-fir trees can be enormous! They are the third tallest trees in the world, after the Coastal Redwoods in California, and a Eucalyptus in Tasmania. A forest of the really tall ones is amazing to be in! And so many plants, fungi, and creatures rely on these trees. I hope I can keep up with the posts -- so far so good! ; )

With my great pleasure! WOW! Amazing tree! It's great to know about that! You are so lucky to live among the nice nature like this!

Yeah! Keep up with your posts! That's really great! ;)

I'll post more big trees, sooner or later. They are something else!

That'll be great! I look forward to your posts with much interest! ;)

Hey my friend, what a pleasure reading that you are planning to write on a daily basis! I really hope to see that as your posts are so much informative and you are such a great steemian!
I know you can do it!

Thanks, @progressivechef! So far, so good -- 4 days now, lol. I'm still behind in comments, though. I think that will always be the case!

Thanks @haphazard-hstead for bringing some autumn into my life. Sometimes I miss the seasons so much... but not complaining here though. Love the tropical lifestyle too ;) Have a beautiful day!

haha -- While you are sipping on your wonderful smoothies from fresh tropical fruits, you won't be missing autumn or winter too much! ; )

Lol. True. although I love the autumn colors and miss snowboarding... but we can't have it all... hehe.

Hi! friend i'm here and I read your post, it's really good information and thanks for share with us....

From my experience, I can tell you that chocolate just enhances the taste of magic mushrooms. Therefore, you can make this product yourself at home. I can share with you a link to the best quality magic mushrooms https://www.shroomhead.net/product/dino-eggs-magic-mushrooms/ . And you can buy chocolate at any store. Thus, you will have excellent savings and the desired effect of good mood.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61744.65
ETH 2678.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59