Alternative Weekend: Focus on ‘The Pixies’steemCreated with Sketch.

in #music5 years ago (edited)

I have been posting most weekends using @detlev’s #metalweekend tag, but my main love of music is progressive and alternative music. Some of my posts have included these songs, but I feel they are not keeping with the spirit of metal.

I will continue to post article’s using #metalweekend occasionally but feel I have more to offer regarding these other genre’s that I am more familiar with.

c7ngqytvhd.jpg
Source

Introducing #alternativeweekend. Post an article that highlights THREE great songs that are either progressive or alternative and use the tag #alternativeweekend or use the ‘Focus on’ series if you like. There are no rules, just make your own!

If you have a short story or something to offer regarding an opinion on your songs, then share it with us!


33xz0etc68.jpg

The Pixies were a band I discovered much later than I should have. The grunge period of the early to middle 90’s has come and gone and I loved most of it. Nirvana, Pearl Jam and Alice in Chains were bands I was listened to a lot in the days.

Unknowingly to me at the time, The Pixies had a huge influence on the late Kurt Cobain and his band. Several years before the grunge scene emerged the radical album that is named ‘Surfer Rosa’ was unleashed on the world. Not many noticed, and fewer still in their home county of America.

It’s common information that Kurt admittedly tried to rip-off Surfer Rosa when creating Nevermind. While I find the albums oceans apart I do hear similarities in the styles of the bands in terms of the short tracks, maniacal screams and distorted feedback driven guitaring.

g01ykvx6gy.jpg

Source

What’s different about them is the mood. The Pixies were always upbeat, mirthful and mischievous much like their band name, whereas Nirvana were all serious, depressing and gloomy. Mind you I’m not taking anything away from Kurt’s band, I am a big fan too.

The Pixies are still touring but without original bass player Kim Deal. It was never a marriage made in heaven during their original stint with Kim and Charles (the lead vocalist) having power struggles that ultimately ended the first iteration of the band in 1993.

I have tried in vain to see The Pixies live as they do tour the UK. The tickets are gone in seconds, such is the following they still have here.

I never got to grips with the final album, Trompe le Monde before the reformation, so my picks will be from the earlier material.


33xz0etc68.jpg

The Pixies - Where is my Mind? (Surfer Rosa – 1988)

This song was featured in the Fight Club movie that featured Brad Pitt. Whilst I did watch it back in 1999 I didn’t pick up on probably the most famous song of the band.

Since then I have listened to it so much that I don’t want to hear it anymore. Still it needs to be included in any Pixies article.


g9pv4ubd1t.png

The Pixies - Dead (Doolittle – 1989)

The Surfer Rosa album was good but Doolittle takes the crown in my opinion. The amount of great songs on it speaks volumes of its quality and the online reviews testify this is their most popular album.

Humour was something always evident in Pixies songs. They were loud, brash and shouty but often made me smile.

I can’t omit a song that has lyrics such as:

Uriah hit the crapper, the crapper
Uriah hit the crapper, the crapper
Uriah hit the crapper, the crapper

That line still makes me laugh every time I hear it. Listen to that bass @verhp11!
Finding the studio version of this song is proving hard, so here's a live one from when they were young in 1989.


g9pv4ubd1t.png

The Pixies – Gouge Away (Doolittle – 1989)

It is a rare song that gets me from the first listen and I know it’s something special. Many Pixies songs are short, some less than 2 minutes which is a far cry from my usual tastes of progressive songs.

This one has it all, another great bassline which you can clearly hear, ripping guitars and Charles screaming down the microphone.

The video is not the real one for the song, just a visual overlay.


g9pv4ubd1t.png

The Pixies – Rock Music (Bossanova – 1990)

It took me a little longer to get into Bossanova. Its patchier that the previous albums but still contains some good listenable material.

When I heard this maniacal track, it reminded me of Tourette's by Nirvana. So that’s where Kurt got his inspiration from! It’s not quite the same but the theme most certainly is.

Screaming lyrics over a rhythmic guitar wall of sound is something you may not like on first listen.

Just like the Nirvana song, this is short and sweet and the similarities are startling.


g9pv4ubd1t.png

There are so many other songs I could have highlighted in this ‘Focus on’ review. It’s sad that Kim Deal was almost excluded from vocal duty post Doolittle as she added much to the songs.

The band are together again and touring as I mentioned but without Kim who bailed out several years back. I would imagine the old power struggles emerged again though I haven’t researched the reasons.


g9pv4ubd1t.png

The Pixies – What Goes Boom (Indy Cindy – 2014)

This is a throwback to their earlier material; some madness and some melodic harmonies mix well and contribute to a ‘long’ song of around three and a half minutes.

I know @meesterboom is a fan of this band, and may not have heard this later track. It kind of fits his persona well I think.

When attempting to crack ‘The Pixies sound’ many years ago I found a rockumentary on YouTube and watched it several times. It’s amazing how many artists sought inspiration from a band that I completely missed first time around.

David Bowie, Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood as well as others all have very positive things to say about The Pixies. It is well worth a watch but seems to have been removed. The full thing is named 'Gouge', and here's a small extract that is still present.

Sort:  

Hehe, I am quite familiar with Indy Cindy, I like what does boom, it's quite classic in some ways even a bit metally.

I am glad you had gouge away, it's my favourite track by miles! Trompe le Monde is a great album too, just takes a couple of listens before it clicks.

Top notch pixie'ing!

Thanks Mr Boom, Gouge is still one of my favourites, short and to the point like a lot of their songs were. I see they have a new album named Head Carrier, have you heard anything from it yet? I thought Indie Cindy was patchy, but still retained some earlier magic.

Jings, that one slipped by me entirely, I will have to investigate!!

I remember some songs of The Pixies and they reminds me the time I was a little bit younger than now! Thanks for all the info about them, it's always interesting to know more about songs and bands that we like ^_^

I didn't discover the Pixies until much later than I should have as well. Nice write up and you selected some great songs to highlight! Thanks for sharing!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 349 (12/23/18)

Now I have to listen to a few more pixie songs later on today. Great post and so cool music.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Kurt Cobain and his band.

I have read he took music from others. I still really enjoyed his singing.
I believe he was murdered for not wanting to do an album.

I love Kurt too, will do a Nirvana one sooner or later.

Nice selection. The stuff Black Francis wrote between Pixies 1 and Pixies 2 was in some cases quite brilliant, and in others quite dire. I bought his first solo album Frank Black before I bought any Pixies, and then went back to them, as I tend to be behind the zeitgeist by about 5 years. I don't think I'd heard that track from IndyCindy before - the latest album Head Carrier is really good.
Bowie's version of 'Cactus' is good.

The stuff Black Francis wrote between Pixies 1 and Pixies 2 was in some cases quite brilliant, and in others quite dire.

I don't know whether I should try, that sounds like hit and miss!

the latest album Head Carrier is really good.

I have yet to listen, the reviews I see were not too favourable. Will need to pick it up at some time.

I like 'Cactus' but it never seems to get going, is it just me?

Frank Black, Teenager of The Year, Dog in The Sand and Bluefinger are worth a listen. As is Petit Fours by Grand Duchy - a project with Violet Clark.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @slobberchops!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.280 which ranks you at #2619 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 14 places in the last three days (old rank 2633).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 195 contributions, your post is ranked at #14.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @slobberchops!

You just got a 8.5% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61986.23
ETH 3026.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75