Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'Tears for Fears'

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Alternative Weekend seems to have mutated to ‘Focus on’ in the last few weeks for me. The original ‘Alternative Weekend’ remains, so let’s just call this a ‘fork’ as we are blogging on a cryptocurrency platform and that word seems appropriate.

If you still want to use the tag #alternativeweekend and post songs by separate artists, then go right ahead and continue, but from now I will be writing exclusively using my ‘Focus on’ series.

c7ngqytvhd.jpg
Source

Please feel free to use the ‘Focus on’ style if you like. I’m always interested in music I have missed past and present.

If you have a short story or something to offer regarding an opinion on your songs, then share it with us!


33xz0etc68.jpg

‘Alternative’ is a very loose term in the context of this tag. I could not wholeheartedly write about Michael Jackson using this heading but some bands or artists produce material that is not what you expect from them. This is what I want to highlight to you, the reader.

I grew up in the 80’s and remember this band very well. They are most famous for their anthem’s ‘Shout’ and ‘Everybody wants to rule the world’, songs that I simply can’t listen too anymore as they have been grossly overplayed.

It is only the first two albums that I am conversant with which are The Hurting and Songs from the Big Chair, so if you know of any other great album tracks on the later ones, please send a comment to this article.


33xz0etc68.jpg

Tears for Fears - Watch me Bleed (The Hurting - 1983)

This week I put the two Tears for Fears albums in the car so I could listen to them again and remember the tunes. It’s been years since I heard them, but I remember that I liked ‘The Hurting’.

I didn’t want four songs from ‘Songs from the Big Chair’ and this is one of the best album tracks from their debut album.




33xz0etc68.jpg

Tears for Fears - Broken (Songs from the Big Chair - 1985)

This short song shows the rockier side of the band and contains some nice guitar work that gets me going.

Considering the band were at height during the ‘synth’ period they had more variety than most of their competition.

I do like how this song semi-transforms into one of their hits, ‘Head of Heels’ near the end. Is this an indication of a progressive theme?




33xz0etc68.jpg

Tears for Fears - Listen (Songs from the Big Chair - 1985)

What an ambient song this is. Full of sounds that you don’t hear the first time around. This album has a distinct sound throughout and it can be heard on this track more than most.

I wasn’t going to include this but it’s just such a unique song I couldn’t leave it off. If I can fault it, I think it goes on a little too long.




33xz0etc68.jpg

Tears for Fears - The Working Hour (Songs from the Big Chair - 1985)

I left the best until last. ‘Songs from the Big Chair’ is a great album, and full of memorable songs, but the second track is just sublime.

A mixture of saxophone and piano along with a strong vocal performance by Roland Orzabal still sends shivers down my legs when he sings that final part combined with the synth overlay.

Find out, find out, what this fear is about

Weighing in at 6 and a half minutes, this is not your friendly radio song, it’s a musical work of art.




33xz0etc68.jpg

I couldn’t find a complete documentary about the band covering their complete works, but here’s one ‘Songs from the Big Chair’. It’s looking old and dated and probably ripped from a VHS recording.

The 80's seems like yesterday to me, but it's a time that has long since passed us. 35 years since the debut album was released. In another 35 years, I will likely not be on planet earth any more.

How time passes us by. I hope some of the younger readers get something from listening to some of these.




33xz0etc68.jpg


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Sowing the Seeds of Love was a pretty solid song if not obviously kind of tailored for radio play. It never gained the popularity that their previous songs did though. I enjoy it however. I am still pretty okay with Everybody Wants to Rule the World, mostly because it reminds me of the movies that it was used in more than the actual song itself. Head over Heels will always stand out to me though. It was probably one of my favorite songs back during that time.

I love your selection @slobberchops, all of these songs are ‘new’ to me (well, except ‘Shout’ and ‘Everybody wants to rule the world’) . I grew up on the 90’s, and Tears for Fears did make a good hit with ‘Sowing the seeds of love’. I think they have a really distinctive sounds and tune, although, when I was a kid, I often mistaken them with another duo: Crowded House, i don’t know why...

I remember 'Sowing the seeds of love' single very well. They had a lengthy break and the single was good, but I tried listening to the album last week and the magic seemed to have gone, but I didn't listen to all of it. If there's anything really good on there, then let me know :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 315 (11/17/18)

These things just come back to haunt you from time to time! I actually like the sound of these guys.

Who knew? Tears for Fears is alternative? They were part of what helped me carry on in the Donna Summers era.

Thanks for a really good memory my friend.

I was more mainstream then and actually liked Donna Summer! I still do, mainstream was better then.

Was Sowing The Seeds of Love their biggest hit? The video certainly received plenty of air time for several years.

I didn't hear Mad World until after it had been covered.

I would say 'Rule the world' was their biggest hit. Then 'Run the world' came out as another variant 2 years later. A little too cheesy for me.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @slobberchops! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 30000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 35000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi, @slobberchops!

You just got a 11.43% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @slobberchops!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.083 which ranks you at #3308 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 34 places in the last three days (old rank 3342).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 196 contributions, your post is ranked at #38.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58447.77
ETH 3173.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43