Alternative Weekend: Focus on ‘Kate Bush’

in #music6 years ago

I have been posting most weekends using @detlev’s #metalweekend tag, but my main love of music is progressive and alternative music. Some of my posts have included these songs, but I feel they are not keeping with the spirit of metal.

I will continue to post article’s using #metalweekend occasionally but feel I have more to offer regarding these other genre’s that I am more familiar with.

c7ngqytvhd.jpg

Source

Introducing #alternativeweekend. Post an article that highlights THREE great songs that are either progressive or alternative and use the tag #alternativeweekend.

If you have a short story or something to offer regarding an opinion on your songs, then share it with us!


33xz0etc68.jpg

Try as I might I couldn’t find any recent live footage of Kate Bush at the concerts she performed. Surely somebody snuck in some AV equipment and got something?

All I heard was that she didn’t perform her hits, that it was a theatrical experience and she’s fat. Considering she’s older than me the latter point could well be expected.

So yes I have been a fan since Wuthering Heights, and there’s no doubt in my mind that Kate is considered alternative. I did connect with 'The Kick Inside' quite well but other than that, the singles have been my main forte.

I do admire artists who write all their own material, lyrics and music is better. Kate fits the description admirably.


33xz0etc68.jpg

Kate Bush – The Sensual World (The Sensual World - 1989)

This is one of my favourite tunes and it was a single so you may have heard it before. At least there’s something to watch. She always manages to get something a little unique into her music.

I will be listening to this album all week in the car to try and get a grip with the other songs.


33xz0etc68.jpg

Kate Bush – The Dreaming (The Dreaming - 1982)

An album I bought on release was The Dreaming and what a weird one it was. Full of strange sounds and fake Australian accents.

OK, it wasn’t a bad impersonation, and I didn’t really gel with the album but the title track did resonate with me.


33xz0etc68.jpg

Kate Bush – Wow (Lionheart 1979)

The start of this song is a little creepy. To think it was 1979 when this was released, almost half a century ago now? She wasn’t all Wuthering Heights, but Lionheart was not The Kick Inside.

I read somewhere that the album was rushed and demands were put on her to replicate the initial success.

Do you see now that she got the idea of the big opening and closing eyes from Ian Anderson of Jethro Tull? Look at this still from ‘The Witches Promise’ and then watch the video.

s100biz2cc.jpg
Source


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Gonna be honest here, I'm definitely not a fan of Kate Bush, I don't know why. I can objectively say that she's a good musician, but it just doesn't really jive with me personally.

My girlfriend really likes her though.

Aye, she's not for everyone. It seems there's little middle ground.. you like or you don't.. :)

I tried again with this post, no change... :P
Oh well, we can't have exact matching taste in music, the absolute majority of the music you post I do enjoy!

LOL, no need to try.. we are what we are... all different!

@slobberchops Kate Bush - The Sensual World is also my favourite song 🎸🎸🎤🎤

Yeah it's one of the good ones :)

I remember these songs when they came out, people either loved or hate them,I personally loved them

I used to be a huge Kate Bush fan, and I loved The Kick Inside. I'd forgotten about The Sensual World - I love it, and her dress! But The Dreaming - oh dear! I think she must have been trying to be a bit "punky" or something. That video makes me think of Pamela Stephenson imitating her!
I like Cloudbusting and December Will be Magic. She was so theatrical. It's a shame she stopped doing live performances.

That video makes me think of Pamela Stephenson imitating her!

Haha... not much of The Dreaming gelled with me besides the title track. She always tried new things though, a sign of a great artist.

Very true.

Hi, @slobberchops!

You just got a 22.03% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @slobberchops!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.900 which ranks you at #4134 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 18 places in the last three days (old rank 4152).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 210 contributions, your post is ranked at #13.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Slobberchops from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Bro, what is that new profile picture lol, Where's the sweaty man at?

Posted using Partiko Android

Well... that is the real me.. believe it or not, as SF3 comes closer I need to impact reality on everyone's expectations.

Yeah I figured that! I was just always impressed by the sweaty guy , haha:)

It's cool though to put a face on the writer

Very nice. Reminds me a lot of Florence and the Machine. Like I feel like they might draw a lot of inspiration from Kate Bush. Not necessarily the style, but if you have seen Florence... perform live, it is all very theatric like some of this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58447.77
ETH 3173.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43