Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'The Cranberries'

in #music5 years ago (edited)

My late father had an inherent hatred of Irish people. ‘Not individually, but collectively’ he used to tell me. Where it came from I will never know now as I lost him many years ago.

What are my thoughts about the Irish race? I have met many and they have all been great. Consequently, I am the opposite of him, I LIKE Irish people.

c7ngqytvhd.jpg

The brings me to the indie band, ‘The Cranberries’. Dolores O'Riordan is as Irish as it comes. In many cases the accent tends to become hidden when one sings, but not in the case of this singer.

Sadly, like my father she has also now gone and I will now never be able to see in concert one of my favourite nineties bands.

Try I have; twice I have booked and paid for Cranberries concert tickets and twice they have cancelled and I have been refunded, the last time was only last year shortly before Dolores tragically died at the age of 46.

The band may be history but the music remains so let’s get on with it.


33xz0etc68.jpg


The Cranberries – Linger (Everybody Else Is Doing It, So Why Can't We? - 1993)

The debut album was a depressing one! I mean that in a positive way, the songs were dark and gloomy with topics about hatred, despair, loneliness, rejection and fear.

I am still undecided whether I prefer this to the next and more successful ‘No Need to Argue’ album. The album spawned a minor hit in the form of ‘Linger’ and it was a sorrowful ballad typical of its other counterpart songs on the album.

But it's just your attitude
It's tearing me apart
It's ruining every day

A long time ago I sent a tape to an ex of mine that included this song. It wasn’t intended to be a message but could be have been construed as one. Dolores sings about being manipulated and used by an ex-lover and my girlfriend at the time thought it was directed at her.

Not so, I was the innocent boyfriend sending her a tape of soppy ballads.


33xz0etc68.jpg


The Cranberries – Ridiculous Thoughts (No Need to Argue - 1994)

The pinnacle of the bands' success was the album that brought us the massive hit, ‘Zombie’.

Massive in America where I was living at the time, though the impact was not felt so much in the UK.

I’m not going to post this song as it’s been played to death and I’m here to show you songs you may not have heard previously.

This album is so full of great songs it’s hard to choose one. Like its predecessor it’s a very melancholy affair focusing on experiences by the singer and some political issues from the time. She must have had some bad times, that’s all I can say.

‘Ridiculous Thoughts’ is a more upbeat affair and a concert favourite, or should I say was.


33xz0etc68.jpg


The Cranberries – When You’re Gone (To the Faithful Departed – 1996)

The last good album in my mind was produced by Bruce Fairbairn, someone more akin to harder rock sounds. That came across in the album with the songs ‘Hollywood’ and ‘Salvation’ having more edge than usual.

In this period Dolores found love and it shows in some of the songs, the whole album being not so downbeat and depressing as the last two.

When You’re Gone’ was a single but largely ignored as the band were past their most famous time as this point. It’s a lovely song and more mainstream than what you would expect from them.


33xz0etc68.jpg

Three more albums were to come after ‘To the Faithful Departed’. I was disappointed with all of them, especially ‘Wake Up and Smell the Coffee’ which was very poor in my mind.

One thing I love is a good Rockumentary, particularly regarding artists and bands I know little about. You can learn so much in a short amount of time.

I found this grainy spanish subtitled one on YouTube that’s part of the MTV Rockumentary series. I'll be adding these to future 'Focus on' article's if I can find any of merit.

I have good memories about this band, particularly for first two albums. If you like moving emotional music that gets you singing in the car, you should give them a listen.


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Well. You almost always give me something in this column that surprises me. Today's surprise was how much I like the music.

That would be the first 3 tracks I've knowingly heard from the Cranberries. I certainly like these. Thanks for another look into the genre.

They kept me going when I was holed up in Mesa in 1995. Being such gloomy music didn't help me much, but I will always associate them with my 1.5 years in AZ.

That is really interesting that they weren't as popular over there as they were in the States. It must be the accent thing. Americans are always suckers for a good accent for whatever reason. I am guilty of it myself. When I used to work for a global corporation I had a lady leave a voicemail one time with the most delightful accent from the UK. I saved the voicemail for a while even after the issue was resolved, just so I could play it back. :)

Americans are always suckers for a good accent for whatever reason.

Yes, I got it all the time when living there. Some even tried to imitate my accent. Thats humans for you. Im not a Vulcan.. really..

I just love Dolores' voice, and Linger is my favourite Cranberries track - though I'm not hugely familiar with their music. I was preparing to travel round the world in 1994, so I heard Linger and Zombie, and then went into a contemporary music-free zone for a couple of years.

I rank 'The Cranberries' as one of my all-time favorite bands, and I was shattered when Dolores O'Riordan died earlier this year. They're one of a handful of bands where I can put on any album, even the later releases, and listen from start to finish. I've literally never heard a bad song from them at all.

What I have heard are different songs, written when the band members were in different places in their lives, and channeling new emotions, trying new things. And I love it all. Even when they don't quite stick the landing. Even when the experiment doesn't provide the results they were looking for. I still listen, and I still love. :)

Your a bigger fan than me! I was listening to 'Roses' last week but am just not getting it, besides the title track.

Bury the Hatchet was the last one I gelled with but I found it very patchy.

I can totally get that. It's very strange, my feelings about 'The Cranberries'. I have plenty of bands with songs, or even whole albums, that I adore. But even the bands or vocalists I love the most have plenty of 'off' tracks, ones that I skip when playing the disc in my car or ones with tracks I don't bother ripping to my MP3 player. 'Pearl Jam', 'Nirvana', 'Counting Crows', 'Better Than Ezra', 'Type O Negative' (I'm a product of the 90's, don't judge!)...I love them all, but each of them has songs or even whole albums that I can't stand.

'The Cranberries' are singular in this fashion. I'm far from some drooling fan or pretentious hipster (at least I don't think I am), and it's not something I even think about consciously. They're the only band with whose music I have that kind of relationship. They're the only band whose singles and EPs I collect, and one of my greatest musical treasures is a copy of 'Linger' signed by Dolores.

Something about their music just has that effect on me, for whatever reason. Do you have any bands for whom this is the case, or am I a giant nutter?

one of my greatest musical treasures is a copy of 'Linger' signed by
Dolores.

Ooh.. did she sign it for you or you got it somewhere?

Do you have any bands for whom this is the case, or am I a giant nutter?

Probably just one.. The Sundays.. an English band from around the same era.

I wish she'd signed it for me. I just found it in the wild, where the shop selling it clearly didn't know what they had and probably assumed the thing had previously belonged to a girl named "Dolores". Cost me a buck and some change in tax. :)

Ah yes, I can totally dig that vibe on "The Sundays". I love this one:

I know it was their big hit, but still, beautiful song and incredible singer in Harriet Wheeler. :)

It was their big hit but one of my least fave songs! They only did 3 albums and I was fortunate enough to see them live in 1997. I had the massive hots for Harriet.

She's absolutely lovely, no two ways about it. You saw them live? Damn...I'm jealous. Much like you've I tried and failed twice to see The Cranberries. Show was cancelled both times, with the most recent one being the US leg of their planned tour last year. :(

The Cranberries are a cool band.
I always thought the music video for Zombie was weird, haha.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 302 (11/04/18)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Slobberchops from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi @slobberchops!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.905 which ranks you at #4013 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 4009).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 257 contributions, your post is ranked at #50.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @slobberchops!

You just got a 15.97% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29