Alternative Weekend: Focus on ‘Sonic Youth’steemCreated with Sketch.

in #music6 years ago

I have been posting most weekends using @detlev’s #metalweekend tag, but my main love of music is progressive and alternative music. Some of my posts have included these songs, but I feel they are not keeping with the spirit of metal.

I will continue to post article’s using #metalweekend occasionally but feel I have more to offer regarding these other genre’s that I am more familiar with.

c7ngqytvhd.jpg

Introducing #alternativeweekend. Post an article that highlights THREE great songs that are either progressive or alternative and use the tag #alternativeweekend or use the ‘Focus on’ series if you like. There are no rules, just make your own!

If you have a short story or something to offer regarding an opinion on your songs, then share it with us!


33xz0etc68.jpg

I don’t watch much TV, usually a little at night before I go to sleep. The amount of commercials that are blasted at us now is unreal and I tend to channel switch when whatever it is I am watching ends and they start.

Sometimes I’m not quick enough or I’m in a semi-trance before I realise its time to switch and hear things like ‘stolen music’ in some of them.

Commercials are always stealing parts of popular songs, but occasionaly they go for something more offbeat.

This commercial got my ear. Surely that isn't Sonic Youth? Their sound is quite unmistakable. Nobody but nobody sounds like this band.

This is the commercial in question advertising 'Marc Jacobs' perfume. Does that really fit this band that is so far from the mainsteam, it's practically out of sight?

The sound of those out of tune guitars provoked me to write this weeks 'Focus on' article. Prepare yourself for strange music and sounds.


33xz0etc68.jpg

Sonic Youth – Teenage Riot (Daydream Nation – 1988)

I only really gelled with a couple of the bands’ albums. They got much more mainstream after ‘Daydream Nation’ but even so I failed to gel with the later material.

You can hear that telltale guitar sound that is in the commercial quite clearly in ‘Teenage Riot’


g9pv4ubd1t.png

Sonic Youth - Schizophrenia (Sister – 1987)

Now, this is more like it. I initially found the ‘Sister' album extremely inaccessible and remember chatting to @trolleydave about it at the time.

He told me to check out the later material if I was having problems listening to the early albums. I didn’t, and persevered and it got through to me eventually.

Distorted guitars rule when they resonate with your brain! Listen to the end from around 3:40.


g9pv4ubd1t.png

Sonic Youth - Pipeline/Kill Time (Sister – 1987)

This one really gets trippy after a while. A few songs they did were like this, they just go off in another direction into complete madness.

Only for real fans or first-timers that are up in the skies somewhere.


g9pv4ubd1t.png

Sonic Youth - Beauty Lies in the Eye (Sister – 1987)

I can’t describe Kim Gordon, the bass player as a singer, more a talker. She did feature on the vocals of several songs on this and ‘Daydream Nation’, I love the eeriness and melancholy undertones of this particular track.

So that’s three out of four songs from the ‘Sister’ album. No prizes on which is my favourite then.


33xz0etc68.jpg

There’s no doubt that Sonic Youth are an acquired taste. I do love bands that are different than the mainstream and these guys are about as far out as it gets.



Other articles in the ‘Focus on’ series:

Alternative Weekend: Focus on ‘Talking Heads’
Alternative Weekend: Focus on ‘Blackfield’
Alternative Weekend: Focus on ‘Karnivool’
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'Tears for Fears'
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'The Cranberries'
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'Kate Bush'
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'The Smiths'
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'Radiohead'
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'Rush'


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

I quite like the last one, but to be honest I've never managed to "get" Sonic Youth. I've heard a few people raving about them over the years, and I think they became popular when I was travelling round the world in the mid-1990s. I admire the guitar work, but find it a bit depressing, full of 1980s angst and nihilism.

Thanks! That was good for a slow Saturday morning. I've heard some of the mid-later stuff of Sonic Youth and it's never really done it for me. Will check out the rest of Sister, though - excellent picks!
Have you heard the Judgement Night soundtrack? The Sonic Youth/Cypress Hill contribution is pretty good...

Have you heard the Judgement Night soundtrack? The Sonic Youth/Cypress Hill contribution is pretty good...

I haven't, but will surely have a listen! if you picked anything else good from their library let me know. It will save me hunting through their entire discography.

I think it is funny that a perfume commercial led you here because half the time I can't understand what those crazy fragrance commercials are trying to peddle. They are always so vague and ambiguous!

Every time the brakes squeel on my car, I call it my Sonic Youth guitar solo.

LOL, it could be quite similar in some cases!

Great band from my past.
Your post brings back some good memories!

Have a great weekend and enjoy a beer and the #BeerSaturday

I still have yet to see a @detlev 'Focus on' band post. C'mon... get with it!

I listened to a couple of the songs and then the add and yes it does sound very similar to me and could well be Sonic Youth

I have many, many, many Sonic Youth albums. Saw them in Washington DC a few times and once at Lalapalooza.

That is definitely a sonic youth tune at the beginning of that perfume commercial. Teenage Riot was a good album to me.
One of my favorite albums was the sound track... I forgot the name... oh no I’m gonna breakout the CD box. My back hurts just typing about it.

Sonic Youth was healthy exposure to dissonance for my younger ear’s training.

I think you were in a better position to write this than me! I only go off the bits I know, which in the case of SY is not so much.

Do you recognise the song from the commercial? I have googled it, and it is them.. but which song?

I think it’s the beginning of “Silver Rocket”... nope 😁 Teenage Riot:

Posted using Partiko iOS


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Some of their stuff was real far out mental, I liked some but not all. I did love Kim Gordon's voice in her strange spoken singing way

Yes, she does have a rather sexy spoken voice. Too bad there's so few of these 'ladies' about. Kim Deal from The Pixies is another, though she can sing.. and well too.

She's my favourite Kim! One of my favourite bands too

Well now, we are on a level. I love The Pixies and will be featuring them soon.

Woot woot!!! They are truly awesome. I renew the first time hearing that jagged discordant yet strangely melodic guitar and thinking it was the weirdest sound ever. And I was hooked! I was quite into metal at the time so it was quite a jump for me to like anything else

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57339.41
ETH 2522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31