You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Alternative Weekend: Focus on ‘The Pixies’

in #music5 years ago

Nice selection. The stuff Black Francis wrote between Pixies 1 and Pixies 2 was in some cases quite brilliant, and in others quite dire. I bought his first solo album Frank Black before I bought any Pixies, and then went back to them, as I tend to be behind the zeitgeist by about 5 years. I don't think I'd heard that track from IndyCindy before - the latest album Head Carrier is really good.
Bowie's version of 'Cactus' is good.

Sort:  

The stuff Black Francis wrote between Pixies 1 and Pixies 2 was in some cases quite brilliant, and in others quite dire.

I don't know whether I should try, that sounds like hit and miss!

the latest album Head Carrier is really good.

I have yet to listen, the reviews I see were not too favourable. Will need to pick it up at some time.

I like 'Cactus' but it never seems to get going, is it just me?

Frank Black, Teenager of The Year, Dog in The Sand and Bluefinger are worth a listen. As is Petit Fours by Grand Duchy - a project with Violet Clark.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60609.50
ETH 3014.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90