Alternative Weekend – Focus on Rush

in #music6 years ago

I have been posting most weekends using @detlev’s #metalweekend tag, but my main love of music is progressive and alternative music. Some of my posts have included these songs, but I feel they are not keeping with the spirit of metal.

I will continue to post article’s using #metalweekend occasionally but feel I have more to offer regarding these other genre’s that I am more familiar with.

c7ngqytvhd.jpg

Source

Introducing #alternativeweekend. Post an article that highlights THREE great songs that are either progressive or alternative and use the tag #alternativeweekend.

If you have a short story or something to offer regarding an opinion on your songs, then share it with us!


33xz0etc68.jpg

Yes, it's Monday but what the hell!

Should this be under the tag #metalweekend or #alternativeweekend? It could be either, as this band have some teeth and are quite heavy, but with songs lasting 20 minutes or so I would say progressive is more appropriate.

This HF20 fiasco should be over by the time you read this and everyone’s voting power or ‘mana’ should be back to normal levels again. Let the content flow I say.

When I was seventeen I walked into a record shop and bought an album, just because the cover looked ‘cool’.


7xd73vzq5s.jpg
Source

The album was ‘Hemispheres’ by Rush and unknowingly I had picked a gold nugget out from what could have been any of the others in the ‘progressive’ section. I didn’t even know what the word meant at that time.


33xz0etc68.jpg

Rush - La Villa Strangiato (Hemispheres – 1978)

Talk about virtuosity; that guitar, those drums, and that solo that starts around the 4 minute mark. This 9 minute plus instrumental is my pick from the album that probably introduced me to progressive rock.

How they had the stamina to play this live, I will never know. The following excerpt is from wikipedia and what it says does not surprise me

Lee said it took them around 40 takes to produce a take they were satisfied with. Peart said they spent more time recording "La Villa Strangiato" than they did recording Fly by Night (1975). He recalled the group spent four days and nights playing it repeatedly, playing while their hands were sore and their minds tired.

It’s no wonder that Steven Wilson hired the services of Alex Lifeson for the amazing guitar work on Deadwing and Anesthetize. This goes much further than the work he did for Porcupine Tree.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hemispheres_(Rush_album)


g9pv4ubd1t.png

Rush - Cygnus X-1 Book I: The Voyage (A Farewell to the Kings - 1977)

They did seem a little obsessed with rock space sagas during the 70’s. This one takes a little time to get going but considering its 10 minutes long it does have some cause. Space and greek gods, all good elements for good prog.

After acquiring ‘Hemispheres’, I systematically started going backwards through the Rush discography and this was the next one back in line.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A_Farewell_to_Kings


g9pv4ubd1t.png

Rush – 2012 (2012 - 1976)

So here we have a 20 minute monster, but honestly the THREE albums I have mentioned are the best Rush music you will ever hear. There are many other songs I could have picked from any of them.

I never had any problems getting to grips with any of these albums and I DO have problems getting attuned to new music.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2112_(album)

In the spirit of @detlev’s original idea, you need to remember one thing.


Pump up the volume, PLAY IT LOUD!


Guitar Image courtesy of http://www.freestockphotos.biz/stockphoto/16642


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

There is trouble in the Forest, there is trouble with the Trees.
For the Maples want more light, and the Oaks ignore their pleas.

Ha ha, fun post. Thanks!

The Trees was awesome and a B-side as I remember. How can something this good be a B-side?

No room left on the A side :)
I once had a single that wouldn't fit on a single, so we had to turn it at 33 rpm instead of 45.

We could rewrite that song.
There is trouble in the ocean, there is trouble in the seas.
For the Minnows need more Mana and the Whales ignore their pleas.

Good selection my friend. I think I found to add to my playlist for my next long ride. :) !

Well they are long enough, good for a long ride! The first one keep playing in my mind... ear worms.. :(

I seriously used to hate, I mean HATE Rush when I was in college. Thankfully now I can go back and appreciate them and just listen in awe at the skill they had as musicians. I don't know as though I would go so far as to call myself a fan, but I can definitely play some air guitar to them!

I used hate The Smiths in the 80's, but love them now. How we change as the times do..

Ah you are highlighting some fellow hosers! Loved Rush from back in the day and I still think All The World's A Stage is among the best live albums ever.

When I think Progressive, I think often of this.

Devin Townsend is so heavy and progressive and I probably love it so might because it is aggressive, complex and heavy guitars. You want a real adventure into the unknown, just keep the autoplay going and see where you end up.

Thanks for sharing the tunes brother!

This does sound pretty good, but will it get through the skull of slobberchops?

Not much does, but I will hunt it down and put in in the car on repeat. I am aware of Devin Townsend; its finding the tracks the gain an entrance is the key for me.

I am not enough of an aficionado to even have a favourite tune or be able to recommend the one that will do it. All I know is I get blown away whenever I hear another one, and can't really listen to it while working because I am constantly distracted and have to flip over to see what is going on. Also check out Strapping Young Lad for older and perhaps more hooks?

This one will give you the idea......his vocals at the end? Live no less. Man......

I love Spirit of the Radio, but apart from that I've never really got into Rush. The last track reminds me a bit of Yes. Haven't had time to listen to the rest.
OK, now I've listened to the first track. Love it!

Spirit of Radio was my introduction to the band. Are you a Yes fan? I find them hard to listen too, but eventually got into 'Close to the Edge' after many listens.

Really just Close to the Edge. I love it! I have a friend who says I really should listen to the Rick Wakeman album about King Arthur. Haven't quite got round to it yet!

It took countless plays to sink in, but did eventually.

Hi @slobberchops!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.639 which ranks you at #5313 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 387 contributions, your post is ranked at #96.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85