Alternative Weekend: Focus on ‘Opeth'

in #music6 years ago (edited)

I have been posting most weekends using @detlev’s #metalweekend tag, but my main love of music is progressive and alternative music. Some of my posts have included these songs, but I feel they are not keeping with the spirit of metal.

I will continue to post article’s using #metalweekend occasionally but feel I have more to offer regarding these other genres that I am more familiar with.

c7ngqytvhd.jpg
Source

Introducing #alternativeweekend. Post an article that highlights THREE great songs that are either progressive or alternative and use the tag #alternativeweekend or use the ‘Focus on’ series if you like. There are no rules, just make your own!

If you have a short story or something to offer regarding an opinion on your songs, then share it with us!


33xz0etc68.jpg

Not those noisy growlers again’, I hear you say! I have written about this band several times before and they are undoubtedly the noisiest loudest band I can say I truly like.

Alternative Weekend has turned into just that lately, but Opeth is a progressive band for sure. The length of the songs gives it away and TEN minutes is quite normal.

While I find their music deliciously dark, gothic and varied to the point that there is little repetition in a single song, it does makes for harder listening.

A verse, chorus song can give you several chances to catch on to something recognizable, such as a riff or a lyric. When listening to an Opeth song, in some instances you may only hear a section of a track just once. This means more listens before it sinks into your brain and you register it as good or otherwise.

Opeth_at_013_Tilburg_2016_(2).jpg
Source

While this may be fine for those who ‘hear' songs quickly, it's very bad for me who seems to take many listens before I hear what my ears are registering.

While the growling may put many off, the harmonies and clean singing parts of Mikael Åkerfeldt are diverse and those ‘horrible’ bits fit well with certain sections of the music.

Listen to the music is what I would advise, tolerate the growls initially and you will hear a plethora of wonderful melodies and harmonies mixed in with some of the heaviest metal sounds I can personally tolerate.


33xz0etc68.jpg

Opeth – Hessian Peel (Watershed – 2008)

I'm still discovering new gems from this band and Hessian Peel is probably my latest one. At over 11 minutes this is a song of two distinct parts, the first 5-6 minutes I could happily let my grandmother listen to, and if you're vaguely interested in this band then give this a try.

The second half is much heavier but no less in terms of quality from the first part. This is very progressive material and I still hear new things 15 listens later. Music for the mind and the thinker.


33xz0etc68.jpg

Opeth – Ghost of Perdition (Ghost Reveries – 2005)

When an album gets critical acclaim and is not the usual pop drivel I sometimes take an interest.

In 2014, TeamRock put Ghost Reveries at #46 on their "Top 100 Greatest Prog Albums Of All Time" list commenting that "this was a partial concept album, with Satanism as its theme.

So, we have another TEN-minute song which doesn’t do itself much favours for the first two and a half minutes. But wait, what are those lovely choral sounds and that piercing guitar just a little later.

If you can’t stand those guttural sounds, then I invite you to start this one at 2:30 and let me know what you think.

After many plays, I regard ‘Ghost of Perdition' as one of my favourite songs of the band and often sing along to it in the car. I must try and not listen too often for fear of it getting into my head just a little too much.


33xz0etc68.jpg

Opeth – The Drapery Falls (Blackwater Park – 2001)

Blackwater Park was my introduction to the noisiest of noisy bands and so hold a special place for me. My initial thoughts on hearing this song were that the intro is so heavy and yet so melodic at the same time.

The song has fewer growls than normal but is not one for your grandma's ears. The last vocal has some vocals from Steven Wilson, who produced this album, and you can hear the influence.


33xz0etc68.jpg

Some of my friends who love alternative music loathe this band or is it that they simply don't understand them. This is some of the most complex music I have ever subjected my ears too and is not 'just 'noisy rubbish' as first impressions can give.


14-06-08_RiP_Opeth_Mikael_Åkerfeldt_1.JPG
Source

Don’t be put off by the intense heaviness of it all; there’s a lot going on in there and more diversity than I have heard from probably any other band.

If you claim to be a prog-lover there is something in here that will resonate with you. Just give it a chance and you will hear it.


33xz0etc68.jpg

Opeth – Burden (Watershed – 2008)

Just to show you they can create something that can be more easily ingested, I will leave you with one of the greatest but unheard-of heavy power ballads I have ever witnessed.

There is an official video that I will post as well as the full version. The problem with these edit's is that they cut out so much of the good material such as the piano intro which is unmissable!


Burden (Full Version)


Burden (Edited Version)



Other articles in the ‘Focus on’ series:

Focus on ‘The Sisters of Mercy'
Focus on ‘The Sundays' // Focus on ‘Muse'
Focus on ‘Nirvana' // Focus on ‘Anathema'
Focus on ‘Genesis’ - The Collins Years Part One // Focus on ‘Genesis’ - The Collins Years Part Two
Focus on ‘Genesis’ - The Gabriel Years // Focus on ‘The Pixies’
Focus on ‘Sonic Youth’ // Focus on ‘Talking Heads’
Focus on ‘Blackfield’ // Focus on ‘Karnivool’
Focus on 'Tears for Fears' // Focus on 'The Cranberries'
Focus on 'Kate Bush' // Focus on 'The Smiths'
Focus on 'Radiohead' // Focus on 'Rush'


Guitar Image courtesy of http://www.freestockphotos.biz/stockphoto/16642


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

I guess for the most part i listen to main stream music even be it from the 70s 70s and 80;s but I do enjoy these posts of yours to listen to some alternative sounds and I must say so far I am liking most of what I hear

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 443 (03/30/19)

Opeth are an incredibly loud live band, literally taken my breath away whenever I’ve managed to catch them!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I haven't yet, they never seem to come to the North, but I will attend any gig's that come in the Manchester area for sure!

Ah I see, didn’t realise they didn’t come North much. My experiences of them have only been festival ones, usually ones I’m filming at down south or midlands.
Hope you get to see them soon, you sound like a big fan who would fully appreciate a show!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am, but am surprised that I am. Noisy growls is not usually my thing, but as I wrote there's a lot more to them than that. You just need to listen a lot and then you hear it.

It's no wonder Steven Wilson.. who am I a huge fan of, is also a fan and interested enough to produce one of their albums.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Slobberchops from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi @slobberchops!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.436 which ranks you at #2219 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 200 contributions, your post is ranked at #38.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @slobberchops!

You just got a 6.8% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

You got a 6.37% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @slobberchops! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64052.62
ETH 2530.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65