Alternative Weekend: Focus on ‘Nirvana'

in #music5 years ago

I have been posting most weekends using @detlev’s #metalweekend tag, but my main love of music is progressive and alternative music. Some of my posts have included these songs, but I feel they are not keeping with the spirit of metal.

I will continue to post article’s using #metalweekend occasionally but feel I have more to offer regarding these other genres that I am more familiar with.

c7ngqytvhd.jpg
Source

Introducing #alternativeweekend. Post an article that highlights THREE great songs that are either progressive or alternative and use the tag #alternativeweekend or use the ‘Focus on’ series if you like. There are no rules, just make your own!

If you have a short story or something to offer regarding an opinion on your songs, then share it with us!


33xz0etc68.jpg

My alternative writings have often been about bands that are obscure and unheard of. That is not to say I dislike the more popular but still alternative ones.

Take Nirvana, the prodigy band of the grunge era. I was a big fan and in 1992 had not heard of the Pixies, the supposed legacy they were born from.

Nevermind, like most people was my introduction to the band and ‘Smells like Teen Spirit’ the song.

I had my own home at the time and MTV was a permanent channel I watched in the background while doing other things.

image.png
Source

Even teenage girls were getting drawn to Nirvana and their wild antics. My girlfriend at the time was a woman 13 years my senior with a daughter of 13 years.

She asked me if her daughter could borrow my ‘Never Mind’ CD, and was shocked that she wanted too.

I have since gone down the back catalogue of this band and will dig out some of the weirder alternative stuff that I prefer to the overplayed ‘Smells like Teen Spirit'.


33xz0etc68.jpg

Nirvana – Paper Cuts (Bleach – 1989)

Nirvana was a truly alternative band if you ignore Never Mind. Listen to Paper Cuts and tell me otherwise.

It’s obvious they were miming in this video clip but at least it’s something to watch!

I always think of the game Diablo when I listen to the first thirty seconds of this song. Its got that same Gothic resonance that the game’s music contained.


33xz0etc68.jpg

Nirvana – Come as You Are (Never Mind – 1991)

I had to include something from this album, and though I can't say I dislike it I have simply overplayed it. I remember April 5th, 1994 and hearing about Kurt Cobain's apparent suicide on the news.

I was driving around Tempe, AZ at the time looking for work, and the next thing I did was start chain listening to In Utero in my borrowed truck. Some things you never forget.

Come as You Are was played to death on MTV Europe. That baseline of theirs always sticks with me; brooding, miserable and depressing but very listenable.


33xz0etc68.jpg

Nirvana – Serve the Servants (In Utero – 1993)

After the huge success of Never Mind, the next offering sent Nirvana back to their ‘weird stuff' again, but not completely. The analogy I use was something I remember reading years ago and it was by their own admission.

Serve the Servants I feel could have happily lived on Nevermind, and was a track they often played at gigs. It is also the first track on In Utero and is one of the more accessible songs.


33xz0etc68.jpg

Nirvana – Milk It (In Utero – 1993)

This is one of my personal favourites and is a great example of the Cobain ‘scream’. He had a great one and some songs really brought it to life.

They used the tried and tested, loud-quiet-loud-quiet recipe to good effect in this wild song. If anyone hadn’t guessed by now, In Utero is my favourite Nirvana album.


33xz0etc68.jpg

The Legacy

It’s been said so many times but I was genuinely upset when I listened to the radio that day in my truck on hearing the news.

Their roots had been taken from The Pixies but they had their own style and it was something to behold. I miss this band and would wish them and Kurt back.


33xz0etc68.jpg



Other articles in the ‘Focus on’ series:
Focus on ‘Anathema'
Focus on ‘Genesis’ - The Collins Years Part One // Focus on ‘Genesis’ - The Collins Years Part Two
Focus on ‘Genesis’ - The Gabriel Years // Focus on ‘The Pixies’
Focus on ‘Sonic Youth’ // Focus on ‘Talking Heads’
Focus on ‘Blackfield’ // Focus on ‘Karnivool’
Focus on 'Tears for Fears' // Focus on 'The Cranberries'
Focus on 'Kate Bush' // Focus on 'The Smiths'
Focus on 'Radiohead' // Focus on 'Rush'


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

They really did have some great songs beyond what was played over and over on the radio. It is also interesting to note the "boost" they got after doing the Unplugged session. I am surprised you didn't have "The Man Who Sold The World" cover on here. Nice post!

I never really fancy metal as it hurts my ears most of the time. But I used to have a team leader who cannot live without it.
He will come into the office, pops on his headphones, and starts his work.
That's his zen time on the roll moment when he works

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 410 (02/24/19)

I guess next must be Pearl Jam 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

I was never a big fan besides the'Ten' album, so probably could not cover them with the justice they deserve.

I'm a huge progressive rock fan!

Good to hear. It was due this type of music that I made a connection with @steevc on Steemit. I was considering stopping this series as I get little feedback but there's still some more bands I want to cover first. I hope you aware of Steven Wilson if you love prog. He's keeping the genre alive!

Steve Hackett.. fantastic.. I'm sure he played The Musical Box when I saw him at Gateshead in 2016, as well as the crowd puller 'Firth of Fifth'.

I envy you if you haven't heard any of Wilson's' music or his former band Porcupine Tree. You are in for a feast.

Hi @slobberchops!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.353 which ranks you at #2440 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 242 contributions, your post is ranked at #38.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @slobberchops!

You just got a 8.16% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57889.17
ETH 3155.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42