First guided meditation using HeadSpace app / Review - D00k13 Digest #74

in #meditation6 years ago


This video is of my first experience using the HeadSpace guided meditation app suggested to me by @greencross, actually my first experience doing any real meditation. After words I give a quick review of what I thought of the experience and how it left me feeling. Check the video out and hey maybe try your first meditation along with me I recorded the whole thing!

First Meditation EVER

Day One Words of Advice

  • I have never really had an interest in trying to meditate till now. Struggling with wondering/random thoughts and keeping myself focused I decided to give it a go I mean it can't hurt right?
  • Just about everyone has suggested to me to try meditating, free my mind from the stress I feel on a daily basis
  • Decided to try a guided meditation as I really have no idea what it is all about in the first place

Thank You @greencross

Thank You @greencross

  • @greencross suggested this app to me while we were discussing what has helped him with his times of struggle
  • He also offered to give me his free month trial, the HeadSpace app has a free option which I am using now yet I am certain that the paid service will go much more in depth so I may take you up on this offer!
  • I am glad you were able to find this option and make use of it, thanks again for the refferal

HeadSpace App

  • Starting off with the free 10 day meditation basics for beginners, many packs available
  • Very nice looking and functioning app, reminds you to meditate daily at the times you set
  • Has a neat daily reminder feature giving you an alert with some words of wisdom to help you through your day
  • Many different options, Minis - super short exercises do it anytime your free in 1 to 3 mins, Singles - one off sessions to add some mindfulness to your day, Packs - themed for specific topics each session building off the previous, even a section for kids!
  • Keeps track of your time, sessions, average time, order, can even add buddies and will log it to your health information for reference with other applications
  • I Love the guys voice, very relaxing to listen to

Conclusion

Feeling Better?

  • I definitely noticed a increase in my focus upon completing my first session
  • Noticed while doing editing that my tone changed, maybe just mimicking the voice I was listening to but I think that is a good sight of its effectiveness on me
  • I will try it next time after my shower, more comfortable in my own skin, I became aware of how stiff I feel almost suddenly while I was meditating
  • Guided meditation is definitely a good way to start into it, at least until I can build my internal dialog into something I can meditate to

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!?!?

  • Do you meditate? Does it help?
  • Suggestions for me?

That's it @d00k13 Out

Previous Posts:
Synchronicity / Stress Relief / Soaking in Mother Nature - D00k13 Digest #73
Not to late for the @SteemMonster Party / Opening Boosters - D00k13 Digest #72
Gotta Get My Money's Worth, Skrew Brand Names - D00k13 Digest
How My Dad Moulded Me, Happy Father's Day - d00k13 Digest #70
2 Weeks Full Steem Ahead - d00k13 Digest #69
Health Concerns? Don't Procrastinate! - d00k13 Digest #68
Lesson Learned - d00k13 Digest #67
What It Means To Own A Rescue Dog - d00k13 Digest #66
Curation Script / Future Node / IPFS Node - d00k13 Digest #65
#OneLoveDTube Community Update ~ June 2, 2018
Are You HANGRY? SkipTheDishes ad my style [ DTube Exclusive Skit ]
Remember But Don't Dwell - d00k13 digest #64 [ the man I am today ]
Graves' disease - d00k13 Digest #63 [ My Despair ]
Positive Outlook Changes Lives - d00k13 Digest Vlog #62

Just Me Vaping

As a knower on the path of knowing to discover the known I reveal to you my findings, good and bad.

Follow @d00k13 if you wish to join my journey!
If you wish too help, Power please! Anything else will be converted.

Brutally Honest Always Beats a Liar.

Join the @OneLoveDTube Curation Trail Here

Join Us on Discord Server

onelovedtube.png
Logo Credit @Dnews

resteem.gif


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Oooh, I like that! We are pretty focused on finding and promoting interesting video on DTube, and this contribution stands out as exceptional. We regularly put together a list of our favorite videos and just stopped by to let you know that you're on OneLoveDTube Video Picks of the day!


You can view all of our picks from June 23 here: OneLoveDTube Picks

If you want to find out more about how we support and encourage creators on the platform, please join us on the OneLoveDTube discord server and help share the love!

Hells Yea!

I have used Headspace for over a year, although not as frequently as I would have liked too. I have around 13 hours in total of mediation cataloged, and from my experience I believe that Headspace is a fantastic app, especially if you're a beginner at mediation. The packs are unique yet structurally similar, and serve as a platform that allows you to comfortably build your own meditation techniques, mixing and matching what works for you.

Wow that’s a lot of time I’m only at 6 mins lol but has been very helpful for me starting off I had no idea what to expect!

I am seriously considering the subscription after I’m done the beginner lessons, you are right their packs look very enticing for me since I don’t like the same repedative things!

Great review, I’ve been wondering about this app and you’ve helped me decide to use it awhile. I’m also writing on meditations, feel free to check out my blog and followed list for some resources you might find interesting. Enjoy!

Thanks my friend I am glad you found my review helpful! I will definitely check you out when I get the chance. The app is quite easy to use, may give you some ideas with all the neat little features it has like the words of the day notifications just save the pic and use in you blog.

Stay strong!

I’ve been using headspace off and on for a while, the guys voice kinda got annoying for me for some reason. So I unsubscribed again recently and just try to meditate on my own to improve my focus.

Yeah I can imagine after a while his voice would become a little irritating it’s a good way to learn where to start though

@D00k13 great video. Everyone needs to learn how to relax and meditate. It really does wonders.

Yea it has been very rewarding so far, I just wish the effect were lasting... I guess that is where we get into brain chemistry and the constant feeling of spinning out of control wanting to scream!
Thanks for stopping in, glad you liked the video my friend 😊

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by d00k13 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I had to google that 😉
Thank you for stopping in I’m glad you enjoyed it 🤙

Congratulations @d00k13! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
You published 4 posts in one day

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Yeah man! Meditating is the shit. There will be days that you think you will not have time to do it, but just make the time for it and you will instantly see how you'll perform all the due tasks even more effectively. You'll have more time when you make time to meditate. It's like slowing time in the meditation process and after it.

Cheers

@greencross

Ps: I didn't watch the video tho, I couldn't make time for that :P lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58986.04
ETH 2580.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53