Day 509: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: pound cake

in #freewritepoetry5 years ago

IMG_20190313_085041872.jpg

I love math.
I really do.
Pythagorus and I
would have been fast friends
glory-be-to-math types
had he been one of the many Greeks I have met.

I love the patterns, equivalencies, inside out sameness of disparate entities.
I love the hallucinogenic nestings of the coincidences
I see the value in finding these patterns,
these balancing acts, these perfections

there are so few perfections!

I've also been a professional baker
and understand that it would be much easier to remember a recipe
if the amounts were all the same.

But I tried to make a pound cake
with equal amounts of butter, sugar and flour,
the definition of a pound cake
and I gotta tell ya
it wasn't pretty.


This is my entry for @mariannewest freewrite challenge: https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-509-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-pound-cake

Note to self: 5:30 launch to full stop finish. It was really fun to write.


Image is mine of a detail of a painting by Chris Randolph, director of the Living Museum in Pomona NY.

Sort:  

you have a nice entry also, I found it entertaining to read.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh thank you!

Love how you went from math to baking!!

There's no telling what a freewrite is going to do. Thank you and the freewritehouse for all the attention!

Excellent #freewrite @owasco. Uncle Bruni likes the flow. 🎂

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you Uncle! I'm loving writing these little stories.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54523.93
ETH 2291.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35