Should You Live in China Long Term??

in #life6 years ago


hello steem blockchain - pink and green theme.png

I haven't posted a video blog in a while! With the whole HF20 going on and all, it wasn't a good time to be posting content and at the same time, I took a trip to Xi'an, China which was awesome!

I have lived in China for 4 years and am now going on my 5th year! This country has been amazing and there have been a lot of ups and downs.
purple gradient arrow - down right.png
crowd.jpg
long arrow - middle to left.png

What are some reasons to live in China?

gradient picture left to right.png

green check mark.png Low cost of living!

green check mark.png Lots of business opportunities!

green check mark.png Very lively and vibrant (especially at night!)

What is Inconvenient About China?

gradient picture right to left.png

red X.png You always feel like an alien!

red X.png No good long term visas!

red X.png Food safety and pollution

In my video, I go into more detail about each of these points so I highly recommend checking the video out.

If China would remain this way in the future, my opinion is that China would not be a good place to live in long term. Mostly because of the visa situation. It is really inconvenient to constantly apply for work visas every single year in order to stay in China. Since China's population is so huge and they have a strong national identity on what it means to be Chinese, I don't think allowing foreigners to immigrate to China is high on their list of priorities. They always want to give their own people the upper hand.

Pollution and food safety can have negative long term health consequences. Infertility is quite high in China and that can definitely be concerning.

Don't get it twisted though, I think China is so much fun to live in. I really had a great time here it's just that I think it is difficult to really settle down here. You never feel like you own anything here and because you are only secure for up to a year here, they can revoke your visa, deport you or anything else if they don't want you in their country anymore. That seems like a rather unstable life to live as opposed to having a passport and being able to live in a country for years.

Thanks for reading & watching!

recent posts header - pink and green theme.png


If a Chinese Girl Tells You This, You Are in The FRIEND ZONE!
The PROS and CONS of CHINESE FOOD!
Started a Business With My Chinese HIGH SCHOOL Students!
RETURNING BACK TO CHINA! [TORONTO TO BEIJING]
REVERSE CULTURE SHOCK? - My Experience From CHINA to CANADA
CHINA vs CANADA - PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION!
One DISTURBING Thing About Chinese Social Media!
Visiting My Old University After Leaving CHINA!
My Father Built This House While I Was in CHINA!


Kenan.png

social media header - pink and green theme.png


Website: http://SimplyElated.com


Instagram: https://instagram.com/KenanQHD
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KenanQHD
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@kenanqhd
MeiPai: @柯南QHD
Weibo: @柯南QHD


Music provided by Epidemic Sound!
www.epidemicsound.com



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

也可能是签证的问题,我们会比较意外能说流利中文的外国人吧,虽然在上海已经蛮常见了,我感觉外国人(母语非中文)的人中文说的比我英文说的好~(玩笑:要不你们都学中文吧,我就不用学英文了,哈哈哈~)
最为在中国当老师的你,我很像知道你对于中国教育和国外教育的一些想法~
这个视频是你暑假回国期间录制的?

对。视频的带多数是我在加拿大录的。
感觉中国的教育像我们外国大学的方法。老师一直讲,学生就听。对我来说,中国学生比我们更累。你们也尊重老师比我们更多。在我祖国有学生跟老师吵架了。我美国朋友们都说美国学生打老师也骂他们。
在你的国家必须学习整天。没有时间玩也没有时间学习知识渊博。加拿大和美国的纪律比较差。

Everything I have heard about China is in line with what you are saying about it. Based on all that I wouldn't want to try to live there. Everytime I go to a city I think to myself, "could I live here?" Most of the time the answer is no. But in some cities in the United States, Canada, and Sydney Australia I would feel at home.

I would probably feel like an alien in China like you mentioned.

China is super fun to live in. It actually isn't as bad as the Western media makes it out to be but it is difficult to get settled in for many years if the visa situation stays as is. Feeling like an alien has its positives because you stand out and it's easier to approach women lol. But other than that, it can get annoying when you are constantly treated like an outsider. Like when people say, "Wow! You can use chopsticks!" and I have been here for over 4 years...

The USA, Canada and Australia are all very similar. Unfortunately I haven't really been to the USA (except for Buffalo, NY when I was young) nor Australia. A lot of people are telling me that Australia is full of Chinese people these days hahaha

Yeah there is a big Chinese influence in Australia. I want to go up to Canada some more. for the most part I have only explored Western Canada around Banff and Jasper.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57382.38
ETH 3075.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39