The PROS and CONS of CHINESE FOOD!

in #life6 years ago


Hello Steem Blockchain!

If you are ever thinking of coming to China to visit or live long-term, then this is a really important post for you to read and digest.

In this post, I want to share with you my personal pros and cons of eating Chinese food!


PROS


1. Chinese food is very filling

The portion sizes in China are pretty big. I know in some countries like Japan, portion sizes are generally smaller than what a Western person might be used to. Chinese people love to eat. A lot.

The cost of a meal can be as little as $1.50 and that could fill you up really well. China uses a lot of vegetables, starch and meat in their food. All of these foods are filling and the portion sizes are very big for what you pay for. Chinese people will never let you leave the restaurant hungry!
curry.jpg

2. Chinese food has a wide range of flavours

Every province in China is known for its food in some way. Every province has its own specialty. If you like spicy food, Sichuan province is for you. If you like blander food that preserves the original taste of the ingredients, then Guangdong is for you. If you like food with a lot of meat and sauce, up here in the north is where it's at!

Not to mention, food in all provinces cover all the distinct flavours. There are plenty of spicy, sour, bitter and sweet food available for you to chow down on. I really like sour food. There is a dish called Suan Cai Yu (酸菜鱼) which translates to "sour vegetable fish" that I love to eat.
fish soup.jpg
It is a fish soup that primarily gets its sour flavour from a fermented cabbage found in the south. Theres also plenty of garlic and other spices that really makes this a satisfying dish.

Another excellent sour soup is Suan La Niu Rou (酸辣牛肉汤)which translates to "sour and spicy beef soup." This soup is frickin awesome.
sour beef noodle soup.jpg

3. Chinese food uses a wide range of ingredients

This country has so many vegetables and spices. You've also got so many variations of meat and seafood. A lot of countries focus on one food group and their cuisine is mainly based on that. In China, you've got countless dishes with chicken, pork, beef, lamb, seafood and a wide array of vegetables and spices. A lot of them have a flavour that is characteristic of Asian cuisine, but a lot of it tastes really good.
lotus root.jpg


CONS


1. Chinese food isn't that healthy

Most food in China is cooked in a wok. As a result, plentiful amount of cooking oil is used to cook various dishes. When you go to a Chinese supermarket, you can see the long aisles of nothing but big containers of cooking oil. For that reason, a lot of Chinese food (not 100%) is quite oily. At the same time, I also find a lot of dishes too salty. You can buy various pastes in the supermarket to give your food a certain flavour and most of them are loaded with salt and/or MSG. Same is true in restaurants.

Although Chinese food is really good, I don't like to eat it too often for this reason. I like to eat fresh and healthy food, but constantly eating food that was cooked in a lot of oil, or fried isn't that good for your health and digestion.
eggplants.jpg

2. Pork is frequently used in Chinese cooking

Now this might even be a pro for you, but personally speaking, I don't eat pork. A lot of dishes are cooked with pork in them, which makes various dishes inedible for me. Out of all the different kinds of meats used in Chinese food, I'd say pork is the most popular of them all. When eating in restaurants, I have to be aware of the dishes that contain pork in them. Usually, it's not difficult to avoid them, but sometimes I will look at the picture of a dish on the menu which doesn't appear to have pork in it and the name of the dish neither reveals that it does, but upon ordering it and arriving to my table, I only then realize that it has pork in it which is a major bummer.
intestines.jpg

Hope I educated you guys enough out there. Overall, Chinese food is quite good. If I had to rate Chinese food on a scale of 1-10, I'd say the average dish is probably around 7/10.

Thanks for reading & watching!


Check out my other posts!


Differences Between China and Australia According to My Chinese Student
The Difference Between Teachers in China and the West
What Kind of Imported Food Is Available in China?
MOUTHWATERING Food Of China's Ethnic Turkic Minority!
The MASSIVE Construction Boom in China!
Why I Left My Engineering Career To Be a Teacher in China!
Is Chinese Food Low Quality? Organic Farming in China
Why The Heck Did I Move to Communist China?
What's It Like For A Canadian Living in a Small City in China?


Kenan.png


Website: http://SimplyElated.com


Instagram: https://instagram.com/KenanQHD
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KenanQHD
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@kenanqhd
MeiPai: @柯南QHD
Weibo: @柯南QHD


Music provided by Epidemic Sound!
www.epidemicsound.com



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I haven't yet the chines food eaten in previous day but want to reach their and grave to participate

Hey buddy, absolutely loved this video, great content and props on the editing man your editing skills have gotten awesome.

I would have never guessed your family was from the middleeast. What part?

I used to work with an Egyptian guy and everyday he'd bring in lunch for me Koshari or Babbaganoosh or Kifta and all types of other stuff, making me hungry just talking about it.

We actually have a really good mediteranian place not sure if its Egyptian or Israeli but called Naf Naf Grill here in Chicago, really awesome food. It's actually pretty cool they started in this tiny little old building that used to be a taco bell and have grown to a ton of locations all over Chicaog and the suburbs.

Really enjoyed the video man good stuff

Thanks dude.

My father is from Syria and my mom is from Lebanon. Middle Eastern food is really good lol. Some restaurants don't cook it that well but some of them are really authentic and cook things properly. I have never found a restaurant that cooks falafel better than my father. It's his specialty.

Your making me hungry I think I'm gonna go get some middle eastern food tonight. The dentist my girlfriend works for is from syria, she was just saying the other day he had invited us over for dinner so looking forward to that.

Wow that's awesome. Let know know how it was.

For me the problem comes in with nearly everything having some form of seafood based something.... sauces and such that generally will be over looked may send me to the hospital

Posted using Partiko iOS

Are you allergic to all seafood?

Basically yea, I can eat freshwater fish but pretty well anything from the ocean is a no go.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow. So I guess Asian countries would be a tough time for you lol.

Yup I don’t have much of a plan for traveling anyways so it’s all good to me there I just hate having to be that annoying customer when ever I eat out anywhere... I have had places say we don’t have any seafood here but then I ask do you use any sauces with seafood and they usually don’t know having to go look at ingredients... yay salads

Posted using Partiko iOS

My thing is it is so hard to find non-carb based foods, at the moment I am trying to lose a bit of weight but just about every dish has rice/noodles as a base!

True. However, a lot of dishes serve the rice on the side so you could just omit it.

一般来说,没有明确说明得肉,几乎都是猪肉,一般鸡肉、鱼肉、羊肉、牛肉是会有说明的~比如“水煮牛肉”

是的。都有。

Congratulations @kenanqhd! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @kenanqhd! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!


Congratulations @kenanqhd!
You raised your level and are now a Dolphin!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I don't eat pork either!!!! My neighbor right now is Chinese...he says his mom cooks healthy but who knows. I wonder if it's different if you eat in a home vs. outside the house.

Still, I run into that pork problem a LOT in Asia.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57174.31
ETH 3071.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40