REVERSE CULTURE SHOCK? - My Experience From CHINA to CANADA

in #life6 years ago


Hello Steem Blockchain!

Welcome to another one of my posts regarding my transition back to life in Canada after spending 4 years in China.

I've continuously been gone for 3 years and I want to share my experiences with reverse culture shock in Canada.
toronto greyscale.jpg

I was born and raised in Canada but spending a few years in China has definitely made me used to a certain lifestyle that I didn't have in Canada.

Diversity in Canada

One thing that stuck out was seeing many caucasian and non-Asian people in Canada. I've been gone for so long that seeing so many white people was shocking to me initially. It really did confuse my brain. I am so used to seeing hordes or Chinese people everywhere and now I felt like I was in a new world.
fantasy beach composite.jpg

Speaking English

Now that I am back in Canada, I don't need to worry about communicating in Chinese anymore! In China, people will feel very proud when a non-Chinese person speaks to them in Chinese. As a result, even saying simple things like "hello" and "thank you" in Chinese will cause Chinese people to say, "Wow! Your Chinese is so good!"

When I first came to China, I was flattered to hear this. But I gotta be honest: it starts to get annoying over time. I have been here for 4 years so hearing people praising me for saying something so simple does kinda annoy me now. I see where they are coming from, but from my perspective, I've heard it hundreds of times and the novelty starts to wear off.

I guess I just feel relieved that I can talk to people in my native language and I don't feel like an alien. It's good to take a break from people praising my language ability and just being about to have a normal conversation without feeling like an outsider.

kenan toronto.jpg

Since arriving, I have been adjusting more and more, but to be honest, I still do feel a little out of place in Canada. Seeing the diversity again takes some time to get used to.

Thanks for reading & watching!


Check out my other posts!


Differences Between China and Australia According to My Chinese Student
The Difference Between Teachers in China and the West
What Kind of Imported Food Is Available in China?
MOUTHWATERING Food Of China's Ethnic Turkic Minority!
The MASSIVE Construction Boom in China!
Why I Left My Engineering Career To Be a Teacher in China!
Is Chinese Food Low Quality? Organic Farming in China
Why The Heck Did I Move to Communist China?
What's It Like For A Canadian Living in a Small City in China?


Kenan.png


Website: http://SimplyElated.com


Instagram: https://instagram.com/KenanQHD
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KenanQHD
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@kenanqhd
MeiPai: @柯南QHD
Weibo: @柯南QHD


Music provided by Epidemic Sound!
www.epidemicsound.com



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

暑假快结束了,当你适应加拿大的时候,是不是又要来中国了,呵呵呵~原来赞美你中文好还会让你有反感啊,其实一般我们只是出于礼貌和没话找话说,哈哈哈~😂

对啊。 现在我想中国!

Haha thats funny about people praising your chinese for saying hi. Does your stomach get upset comming back eating differebt foods and stuff?

Posted using Partiko Android

Nah man, quite the opposite. The food in Canada is more sanitary so it is easier on the digestive system than in China.

Diversity shock lol your coining a new term... interesting perspective to be shocked of returning home... I would think it would be completely relieving but then again I have never left Canada myself.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It's weird man. You get used to a certain lifestyle if you live there for a while. That's how it was in China. I became accustomed to my Chinese lifestyle.

Hiii...

Great Post with Great Information.

Are you back for good or just visiting??

Posted using Partiko iOS

Just visiting

Ah got ya, I had the same last year going back to England. It seemed like so many overweight people after seeing most people stick thin lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

I remember walking into a supermarket and stopping in complete surprise and thinking “holy s**t look at all the foreigners” 😂😂😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah dude, too many foreigners!

Lol enjoy 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha thats funny about people praising your chinese for saying hi. Does your stomach get upset comming back eating differebt foods and stuff?

Posted using Partiko Android

I am currently experiencing the same thing in Australia lol.

Lol, it's weird isn't it?

Congratulations @kenanqhd! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @kenanqhd! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62623.56
ETH 3037.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70