Started a Business With My Chinese HIGH SCHOOL Students!

in #life6 years ago


Hello Steem Blockchain!

Last year I had an idea where I wanted to show my students how to start a real business as easily as possible. Chinese students don't really get much hands-on experience and I am a Math, Science and Business teacher in China.

Since I like to get involved in various projects and create my own products, I wanted to show my students how they could do it too!

We went through the whole process of choosing a product to sell, contacting suppliers on Alibaba, getting samples made, discussing whether changes should be make and then making the final order. I made this proposal to my boss and he agreed to lend me money to fund this project. Once the products were made, we could sell them on our school campus and try to make a profit!

What did we end up choosing?

Memorial Coins!
20170520_180350.jpg

We wanted to primarily sell these coins to the grade 3 students that were graduating that year. These coins would serve as a souvenir for attending this high school. We submitted the pictures to the factory and they were able to make these coins for us. I even showed them how to find freelancers on fiverr.com to make our own personalized logo!

20170520_220436.jpg

Our class name became "666 International Class"! 666 in the West means the devil but in China, the number 6 means "awesome" or "cool" so don't get it twisted hahaha. After putting in the order, we made short videos as advertisements to post on Chinese social media so that our school would know about it. We also got someone online to make us a sign and print it out so we could stand it up and show everyone what we were selling. The product was a hit! We made about $400 in the first 2 days!

The students were so excited to sell these coins. They loved getting involved and selling it on their spare time. After 2 days we were able to break even and that was a big relief. It was at that moment I knew that I wasn't in debt to my boss anymore!
20170605_121250.jpg

The headquarters for our program found out about this and featured me in their online news article. It was cool to get that recognition and I was happy that I could teach my students real skills they need to be successful entrepreneurs in the world.

I highly encourage other teachers out there to try and do something similar. Give students a chance to actually do something that they need to use in real life instead of just teaching a textbook. Our business curriculum has a lot of terminology and it would be quite dry if we didn't do something like this to really make them realize what it feels like to start a business.

Thanks for reading & watching!


Check out my other posts!


Differences Between China and Australia According to My Chinese Student
The Difference Between Teachers in China and the West
What Kind of Imported Food Is Available in China?
MOUTHWATERING Food Of China's Ethnic Turkic Minority!
The MASSIVE Construction Boom in China!
Why I Left My Engineering Career To Be a Teacher in China!
Is Chinese Food Low Quality? Organic Farming in China
Why The Heck Did I Move to Communist China?
What's It Like For A Canadian Living in a Small City in China?


Kenan.png


Website: http://SimplyElated.com


Instagram: https://instagram.com/KenanQHD
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KenanQHD
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@kenanqhd
MeiPai: @柯南QHD
Weibo: @柯南QHD


Music provided by Epidemic Sound!
www.epidemicsound.com



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I am a Math, Science and Business teacher in China. << That's dope!!! Do you have a degree in that from Canada?

I used to be a teacher but would never teach in the US. I would consider it again though in another country.

I've been working for myself for 3 years but sometimes miss teaching. I was good at it and sometimes the kids were great.

I wish I didn't see this too late to upvote. This is the COOLEST EVER!!

I wish I had been in your class as a kid!!!!! I needed someone like you in my life to get me started on my entreprenurial journey sooner!

Oh well, no regrets. I freaking love this though. Love love love.

Thanks for the nice comment. I got my degree in Mechanical Engineering so I think it is close enough :)

Teaching in North America vs Asia is a big difference. I would rather teach in Asia than NA. There is more freedom and less bureaucracy. What was the most fulfilling was seeing them super excited to sell the coins we made. I was happy enough when we broke even, but the feeling of satisfaction you get when you see them passionate and excited about selling the coins felt really good.

有意思的项目,还是学生的时候都想尝试着赚钱,有你这样的老师很好玩呀~

哈哈 谢谢!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39