My Father Built This House While I Was in CHINA!

in #life6 years ago


Hello Steem Blockchain!

I have not been back to Canada in 3 years! In that time, my father, brother and uncle were working so hard to build a brand new house on the property that I have been living in since I was 3 years old! Let me give you some back story:

My father moved to Canada when he was 23 years old. He didn't have much money and when my brother was born, they lived on top of a store in Toronto. But one thing I really love about my father is that he is continuously learning and educating himself. He was able to improve his life in Canada by improving himself and because of that he could purchase a bigger house later on. However, after I was born, my father decided to sell everything and have us move back to Syria. We stayed there for about 3 months and my father realized that it wasn't as good of a plan as he thought. We all thought we would live there permanently but due to him not being satisfied, we ended up moving back to Canada (which I think was a good decision!)

We lived in a small bungalow and that house has so many memories. One part of me was sad to see it demolished and another part of me was thrilled to finally be able to live in a big, modern home that we have all desired for many years. However, we weren't able to build here for many years due to bylaw restrictions but once we received all the permits, we were ready to go!

This house was a dream come true. We were able to build it how we wanted and many of the items installed in the house were from China. My father came to China to visit me and to purchase these items to have them shipped all the way to Canada. China has some fantastic stuff that you can't necessarily find back in Canada so we think our house has a really special appearance.
entrance.jpg

Entrance Area

What really stands out is our kitchen IMO. This whole set was built by my brother and all of the instructions were in Chinese, essentially making them useless for him hahah!
kitchen.jpg
Another difficult item to install were these Chinese paintings. These paintings are handmade and super heavy. I absolutely love the one hanging on the wall beside the staircase. It looks awesome coupled with the stone tiles placed around it. The one behind the TV is fantastic as well because it is so damn big. This was definitely not an easy task to install it on the wall as two separate pieces.
paintings.jpg
Another significant part of the house is the basement. We are able to rent our this part of the house to earn some extra income which is great. It helps a lot to have some form of residual income coming from such an endeavor.

That pretty much wraps this blog up. I am so proud of my dad for what he was able to accomplish. This was by no means an easy task and it took a lot of time and effort. Building this house took years to bring to fruition! You can see more of this house in the video I posted!

Thanks for reading & watching!


Check out my other posts!


Differences Between China and Australia According to My Chinese Student
The Difference Between Teachers in China and the West
What Kind of Imported Food Is Available in China?
MOUTHWATERING Food Of China's Ethnic Turkic Minority!
The MASSIVE Construction Boom in China!
Why I Left My Engineering Career To Be a Teacher in China!
Is Chinese Food Low Quality? Organic Farming in China
Why The Heck Did I Move to Communist China?
What's It Like For A Canadian Living in a Small City in China?


Kenan.png


Website: http://SimplyElated.com


Instagram: https://instagram.com/KenanQHD
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KenanQHD
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@kenanqhd
MeiPai: @柯南QHD
Weibo: @柯南QHD


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Such a cool video and I'm glad you got to go home to Canada for awhile and be with your family.

That attic access was awesome with the home gym up there.

Your dad reminds me of my grandpa. He was always working on stuff and building something.

Yeah dude, it is really nice to be back home for a bit and see everyone. I couldn't believe my dad built an attic like this with the remote controlled stairs haha.

This is what he has been doing lately. Ever since this house was being built, he has been spending a lot of time on it as opposed to working his normal job (which is still in construction).

A very intelligent decision on the part of your father, is an admirable and hardworking person who always aspire to better things and if I really succeed, what a beautiful house I have seen, every detail makes it special and unique really beautiful my friend @kenanqhd, I hope you spend some excellent family vacations

I am happy about you and your family, very interesting story and motivated as well. Life is not that easy but we have always to believe in the best. I am also half Algerian and half Russian and I lived in both countries. I really enjoy the video. Thanks. ☺

GREAT HOUSE!!
GREAT DAD!!!
The right gift to a "Chinese" son!
Congratulation to your dad, man!

That is a Chinese dream house for sure.

The location looks fairly rural, it must be quiet, something that would be difficult to get used to for urban dwellers.

Your family spared no expense, they thought of everything it seems.

I can only imagine how much different it must be from the old house.

Too rich for me, after living in China for so long, I now prefer minimalism.

Your Father looks like he won the lottery!

It was a dream come true that took many years. The location is not rural but this property was purchased many years ago so the land is bigger than most other properties in the city.

My father works very hard and it took a long time to get the required funding for this.

Heh, its a small city then, almost everything seems rural compared to big cities in China.

Hopefully the taxes are not too crazy, something that Canada, and the US are famous for.

Property taxes are one of the negative aspects of owning property in big cities in most western countries. (its becoming common in China as well, the catch is that you don't have any real ownership, as the land is leased for 50-75 years at a time)

Its quite the contrast from the typical lifestyle in China.

你们真的很爱中国元素呀👏,你在房子里面会不会有还在中国的错觉?哈哈哈~
电视机后的画中间为什么会有个白色竖杠??

没有错。 其实那是两张画在一起。

Wow congrats on the new home. Hopefully we will have ours too been renting since I was born and almost 3 decades still the same. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you very much

What a great story, my friend, that house is a dream, especially the kitchen I love, good holidays, I wish you

I love the stairs

Me too bro. Epic

I'm obsessed with interesting staircases...

Wow, that bench looking staircase looks really cool!

I like the slide lol. I wish I could do something like that in my house but my house is a ranch

Excelente post, me encanta esa casa, @kenanqnqhd.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60320.14
ETH 3373.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51