The Daily Pick of Hidden Gems #1st month

in #life8 years ago

After one month the results have been amazing. The results:


Previous picks:
Pick 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17,18,19,20,21,22,23,24,25,26

Having a look back at all my daily pick of hidden gem posts. I noticed the huge improvement, not just in the format and layout but also in the content and quality of my posts and the featured posts.

The birth of the daily pick.


Gif credit

Quite literately it was a mistake. I had been chatting to my father about all these amazing posts that are hard to find and hardly get and reward for their hard work. Days later I had asked him if there was some way to tell or show people about these amazing posts.

That is where we stumbled upon the idea of the daily pick. My father works and doesn't have the time to look through posts. That is where I came in as I am 19 and was pretty much wasting my days away doing nothing constructive(as most my age) while waiting to get enrolled into varsity.

The start of the daily pick.


Image credit

Well the daily pick was started to get these posts noticed and at first(up until about pick #5) no one who voted for the pick actually took the time to go and read the posts I had in it...
I was ready to give up.

The layout was starting to mould into something better after each post. The content that i featured started to get better and better, but still no following on the featured posts. Everyone was great full for getting featured but nothing was happening.

The end of the daily pick(or so I thought)


Gif credit

Spam flooded steemit making it much harder to find posts and the time which it started taking to find post was just not worth it... I had given up. I was not going to go trough all that trouble again, to just see that the posts I love so dearly get $0.40... I went to bed early that night

Oh boy did I get a slap in the face the next morning. Bernie had upvoted all the posts I had in my daily pick. The excitement filled me, finally my effort has payed off!

The positive/negative of the daily pick


Image credit

Well there is opposition in all things and boy was I not ready for what was about to happen. Some people started to hate my daily pick(reason unknown at the time) where others loved it and thanked me for what I was doing. Others were so glad and excited about the fact that I would help them get their article noticed.

Well being happy about the fact that I can help people out, well you can guess the opposition to that as when I saw that it was helping some days and other days it wasn't at all. Make no mistake, I got really sad about that.

Conclusion


Gif credit

Between reading amazing posts everyday and all your lovely comments and support you have change my life and I want to thank everyone for all the support and help they have been in this work of mine. My life has changed because of you and one cant put that into words or put a price on it. The value of a changed life is priceless and I hope that we will all help each other to better each others lives. Keep going strong and never ever give up.

Sort:  

Don't mind any negative pushback. You're doing a great thing for the community, so just focus on that. Keep doing you're thing!

Yes in this community are very much negative people. :( But also motivating people too, like you @jedau keep going with such positive comments, the writers need it for insipration!

Oh wow @future24 thank you. I didn't know if anyone ever noticed, it's nice to be known for being inspiring, even if it's through my comments and not my posts. I just literally finished writing a post about my comments not getting any responses and then your response came along haha! I literally lol'd. Might have to take a few paragraphs out and modify some statements. I can't believe a response to my comment could be so gamechanging haha! I really appreciate the notice, you don't know how much it means :D

I love what you're doing, and hope we can cross-pollinate our projects!

I just launched the Lost Content Digest, where I dig up articles that missed their first payout. If an issue of my Digest features 5 articles, then each of those articles get a 5th of the SBD proceeds of my Digest.

Check out issue #2 here: https://steemit.com/lostcontent-digest/@biophil/lost-content-digest-2-all-proceeds-go-to-featured-authors

keep in contact with me if you want and i'll gladly do a weekly wrapup with some of the top creators (with special emphasis on blockchain service devs).

Sounds great. Are you on steemit.chat?

Always here for the people hell yeah @officalfuzzy

My name on steemit.chat is fuzzy. :)

what is your steemit.chat name?

I up-voted this early today, because I believe finding lost content is a good cause.

I've been working on a similar idea of summarizing content of authors with a lot of great stuff. This helps newcomers quickly see what someone is about and how they positively contribute to Steem.

One is @complexring who does much to benefit Steem. Just go to #complexring to see it.

Nice one Biophil - thanks for doing what you're doing!

I will be following you now after reading your post of helping find lost content. I think that's a great idea, so many good things on this site get over looked or lost In the overflow of information being posted. Or overlooked by whales who's only out for the few people they vote leaving the minnows lost in the seaweed

really great!

I thingk @dragonslayer109 is doing great work and upvote most/all of the selections. Thank you!

Again, great findings, thank you for sharing! Namaste :)

Thank you.

It will be better in the future.

  • Organizing the content on categories, not tags. When a newcomer will arrive he will choose his categories as points of interests and areas of expertise.

  • Also rethinking the distribution of rewards for authors/curators it will be a great step forward.

  • Personal projects like anti-spam, downvoting plagiarism, hidden gems will bring value to steemit.

Keep going strong and never ever give up.

Of course.

not quite sure what you mean by this?

steemit is in continuous development. It is desired to improve the user's experience so some work should be done in the rewards algorithm, organizing the info, etc.

that will be so much better :)

I am new here but I gonna have to follow your "Daily Gems" looks interesting!

You're doing a great job! Don't let the naysayers get to you! You are helping a lot of people out there. And we are all grateful for it! Keep rocking :)

thank you for all your support

Your GIF matches to my latest picture from my holidays lol

Thank you for the work bro

hahahaha nice lol

hey I don't have a proper pick today but the tool could be a lot of fun to use for some steemit users

Cool no worries, any help is greatly appreciated!

Can I nominate somone elses post to be included in your series? I read this first installment of a story the other day and really enjoyed it: https://steemit.com/writing/@me2/original-story-for-steemit-a-tale-of-life-weed-and-what-is-potentially-the-most-boring-game-on-earth-part-1

While I'm here, I wonder if you would consider this post of mine for inclusion? https://steemit.com/steemit/@freewill/is-steemit-good-for-you-how-this-website-has-changed-me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67477.32
ETH 3474.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69