[RandomSteemit.com] New Steemit Tool! Automatically Go To A New Random Article!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I found SteemJS a couple of days ago and have been playing around with it seeing what it could do. I was thinking of ways I could change up how I interact with steemit a little since I have been finding myself "Bandwagon Voting" and relying on things like SteemUps to increase my curation rewards. I was thinking, how can I make steemit the Social Platform it was intended to be.... That is why I created randomsteemit.com! Now when you are bored at work and are tired of endlessly scrolling through the trending articles or your feed, just go to randomsteemit.com and it will give you a random, fresh article to check out! Currently when you navigate to this page it will countdown from 8 seconds and open up a new tab. I am aware that this DOES NOT work on mobile safari, and therefore as for now if you're on mobile safari (why?) you will need to click the "Open Here" link. I am working on a fix for this but the restrictions of mobile safari are more than most. If you have any issues with the site, please create an issue or let me know in the comments! You can find this project here, feel free to fork and clone (with credit :) ) / http://randomsteemit.com

Sort:  

Hey, make sure you call your random function for each click on the main page. If you keep clicking it, it pulls up the same article over and over for me.

Thanks for the catch! I never tested that out. If you refresh the page it will re-call it but I will try to put it on the button too.

Love it.
It should be a default option, native to steemit, like the "trending" or "active" sections.

It would show random articles posted between 3hours and 10 hours ago.

( @dan @ned ) steemit is more than welcome to use this as a link! Anything I can do to contribute to the community.

Absolutely LOVE this idea.

I think one of the biggest hurdles new users face is the overwhelm aka "where do I start?"

This is an EXCELLENT step in helping solve that problem.

Hope this takes off. :)

Thank you so much for the positive feedback!
Now if It can just get some attention it could potentially help a lot of people!

Doing everything I can.

In the meantime, just keep bringing value to the community. :)

Killer! Keep it up.

Thank you! More updates to come soon.

well... it is already pretty random on steem... lets be honest... lol

haha! well the articles may be random but how we find the articles we choose to look at is usually due to other people already upvoting or commenting or money its generated. Hopefully this will change that.

It is a really cool feature. Adding your site to my bookmarks!

Thank you for the support! I'm glad you like it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63425.40
ETH 3253.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88